Protector: When David Cameron unveils a mysterious drone

A Reaper MQ-9 Remotely Piloted Air System (RPAS) prepares for takeoff in Afghanistan / Photographer: Corporal Steve Follows RAF Image 45152585.jpg from www.defenceimages.mod.ukOctober 3, 2015, in an interview with the Telegraph, the British Prime Minister announced the replacement of the 10 Reaper drones by twenty new drones. An effort which aims to support the struggle of the Western forces against the forces of ISIS both in Syria and in Iraq where the RAF drones are currently engaged. Stupor, David Cameron refers to the purchase of 20 drone ‘Protector’, a completely unknown device of military specialists…

Protector, the drone unknown to all until the “Prime minister” speaks

The United Kingdom conducted a project of development of a competitor the American Reaper into the biggest secret drone? Interview with David Cameron at the Telegraph has left specialists in expectation. What drone British Prime Minister spoke there when he announced the replacement of the 10 Reaper of the RAF by this Protector. Person has knowledge of a program of development of a drone of type MALE (medium Altitude / long Endurance) such as the Reaper at BAE Systems or Thales.

A Royal Air Force Reaper UAV (Unmanned Aerial Vehicle) from 39 Squadron, makes its approach to Kandahar Airfield, Afghanistan following a mission. Photographer: Sgt Corinne Buxton RAF Image 45152092.jpg from www.defenceimages.mod.uk

A Reaper of RAF deployed in Afghanistan (Photo: Sgt Corinne Buxton RAF/ www.defenceimages.mod.uk)

The always very knowledgeable Jane’s evoked the possibility of a version anglicized the Hermes 900 of the Israeli Elbit Systems, like Thales had anglicized the smallest Hermes 450 to Watchkeeper, the army of his Majesty tactical drone. However, the new was surprising, at the time where the France and the Spain are growing in strength on the American Reaper.

We know more about this mysterious ‘Protector’ who will in fact be a more modern version of the General Atomics Reaper. The RAF has for the time being of the version Block 1 of the Reaper. The Americans have already renovated their Reaper to Block 5 standard, the french could benefit from this update in 2017. The United Kingdom will therefore remain faithful to the American Reaper. Yet to know if the English will opt for this new version Block 5 or the Predator B, version still improved the Reaper but also certified the Reaper which would facilitate its flights over European airspace. It will be available until 2019. Predator, Protector, David Cameron has made his choice!
Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“MoD reveals Reaper derivative will be chosen for Protector”, FlightGlobal, October 7, 2015

“‘Protector’ UAV fleet to replace RAF Reapers”, FlightGlobal, October 5, 2015

“UK to double top-end UAV fleet with new ‘Protector’ platform”, Jane’s, October 4, 2015

“David Cameron promises to ‘beef up’ the SAS to take the fight to Isil”, The Telegraph, October 3, 2015

“General Atomics Readies Drone for European Skies”, Dod Buzz, June 25, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Non classé and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Protector : Quand David Cameron se prend les pieds dans le drone

A Reaper MQ-9 Remotely Piloted Air System (RPAS) prepares for takeoff in Afghanistan / Photographer: Corporal Steve Follows RAF Image 45152585.jpg from www.defenceimages.mod.ukLe 3 octobre 2015, lors d’une interview au Telegraph, le premier ministre britannique annonçait le remplacement des 10 drones Reaper par vingt nouveaux drones. Un effort qui vise à soutenir la lutte des forces occidentales contre les forces d’ISIS tant en Syrie qu’en Irak où sont actuellement engagés les drones de la RAF. Stupeur, David Cameron évoque l’achat de 20 drone « Protector », un appareil encore totalement inconnu des spécialistes militaires…

Protector, le drone inconnu de tous jusqu’à ce que le « Prime Minister » n’en parle

Le Royaume-Uni a-t-il mené un projet de développement d’un drone concurrent au Reaper américain dans le plus grand secret ? L’interview de David Cameron au Telegraph a laissé les spécialistes dans l’expectative. De quel drone le premier ministre britannique parlait-t-il quand il annonçait le remplacement des 10 Reaper de la RAF par ce Protector. Personne n’a connaissance d’un programme de développement d’un drone de type MALE (Moyenne Altitude / Longue Endurance) tel que le Reaper chez BAE Systems ou Thales.

A Royal Air Force Reaper UAV (Unmanned Aerial Vehicle) from 39 Squadron, makes its approach to Kandahar Airfield, Afghanistan following a mission. Photographer: Sgt Corinne Buxton RAF Image 45152092.jpg from www.defenceimages.mod.uk

Un Reaper de la RAF déployé en Afganisthan (Photo: Sgt Corinne Buxton RAF/ www.defenceimages.mod.uk)

Le toujours très informé Jane’s évoquait même la possibilité d’une version anglicisée de l’Hermes 900 de l’israélien Elbit Systems, tout comme Thales avait anglicisé le plus petit Hermes 450 pour en faire le Watchkeeper, le drone tactique de l’armée de terre de sa majesté. Néanmoins, la nouvelle avait de quoi surprendre, à l’heure où la France et l’Espagne montent en puissance sur le Reaper américain.

On en sait néanmoins plus sur ce mystérieux « Protector » qui ne sera en fait qu’une version plus moderne du Reaper de General Atomics. La RAF ne dispose pour l’heure de de la version Block 1 du Reaper. Les américains ont déjà rénovés leurs Reaper au standard Block 5, les français pourraient bénéficier de cette mise à jour en 2017. Le Royaume-Uni va donc rester fidèle au Reaper américain. Reste encore à savoir si les anglais opteront pour cette nouvelle version Block 5 ou le Predator B, version encore améliorée du Reaper mais aussi certifiée du Reaper qui faciliterait ses vols au-dessus de l’espace aérien européen. Celui-ci ne sera disponible qu’à partir de 2019. Predator, Protector, David Cameron a fait son choix !

 

Sources :

« MoD reveals Reaper derivative will be chosen for Protector », FlightGlobal, 7 octobre 2015

« ‘Protector’ UAV fleet to replace RAF Reapers », FlightGlobal, 5 octobre 2015

« UK to double top-end UAV fleet with new ‘Protector’ platform », Jane’s, 4 octobre 2015

« David Cameron promises to ‘beef up’ the SAS to take the fight to Isil », The Telegraph, 3 octobre 2015

« General Atomics Readies Drone for European Skies », Dod Buzz, 25 juin 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Non classé, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.