Raspberry Pi 2, Ambassador of Microsoft to the makers

Raspberry-Pi-2-Mod-BWith nearly 4 million copies sold, map Raspberry was a huge success with the makers, but manufacturers looking for a small inexpensive platform to prototype the functions of a new product. Even the small Arduino, less expensive to purchase but less powerful, could not compete with sales of map created in Cambridge. The launch of the Raspberry sq ft, or more specifically the Raspberry Pi 2 Mod B is therefore an event. Far more powerful, it will be able to run Windows 10. An opportunity which Microsoft intends to take in its strategy of conquest of connected objects.

Intel and Microsoft are struggling to impose itself on the connected objects

Not easy for the couple Wintel to impose itself on the new world of connected objects. OS too heavy, too powerful processors, too expensive both, one as the other must questioning to conquer the market of the wearables, lightest connected objects and the heart of the makers. This old couple has even launched a map to their intent, the Galileo. Even offered and sent free to fans of DIY, it was much too late to catch up with the backlog on Raspberry, Arduino, BeagleBone Black and another Spark Photon and Core.
 

Microsoft relies on Raspberry and Galileo cards to seduce the makers.

Microsoft relies on Raspberry and Galileo cards to seduce the makers.

In announcing the availability of Windows 10 in Raspberry 2, Microsoft took advantage of the rise of the map to attempt a comeback. With its processor ARM Cortex-A7 clocked at 900 MHz, its gigabyte of RAM, the Raspberry is now capable of running Linux and Microsoft Windows 10. A great opportunity for Microsoft, which announced its future Windows 10 ARM free. For several months Microsoft working on porting its 10 Windows on this Raspberry ft 2 and does not publish the source code. Is that this will be enough to seduce the makers? With its programme Windows Developer Program for IoT, its card Galileo ARM with Intel, but also the Sharks Cove to push Atom, Microsoft made everything to convince them.
Sources :

Microsoft Announces Windows Support for the Raspberry Pi 2“, Make:, February 2, 2015

“The Internet of Anything: Microsoft Brings Free Windows to the Raspberry Pi”, Wired, February 2, 2015

“Windows 10 Coming to Raspberry Pi 2”, Communiqué de presse Microsoft, February 2, 2015

“Raspberry Pi 2 on sale now at $35”, Billet de blog d’Eben Upton, 2 février 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Objets connectés and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Raspberry Pi 2, ambassadrice de Microsoft auprès des makers

Raspberry-Pi-2-Mod-BAvec près de 4 millions d’exemplaires vendus, la carte Raspberry a connu un énorme succès auprès des makers mais aussi des industriels à la recherche d’une petites plateforme peu coûteuse pour prototyper les fonctions d’un nouveau produit. Même la petite Arduino, moins chère à l’achat mais moins puissante, n’a pu rivaliser avec les ventes de la carte créée à Cambridge. Le lancement de la Raspberry Pi 2, ou plus précisément de la Raspberry Pi 2 Mod B est donc un événement. Bien plus puissante, celle-ci sera capable d’exécuter Windows 10. Une opportunité dont Microsoft compte bien se saisir dans sa stratégie de conquête des objets connectés.

Intel et Microsoft luttent pour s’imposer sur les objets connectés

Pas simple pour le couple Wintel de s’imposer sur le nouveau monde des objets connectés. OS trop lourd, processeurs trop puissants, trop chers tous les deux, l’un comme l’autre doivent se remettre en cause pour conquérir le marché des wearables, des objets connectés les plus légers et le coeur des makers. Ce vieux couple a même lancé une carte à leur intention, la Galileo. Même offerte et envoyée gratuitement aux fans de DIY, il était bien trop tard pour rattraper le retard pris sur Raspberry, Arduino, BeagleBone Black et autre Spark Photon et Core.

 

Microsoft mise sur les cartes Raspberry et Galileo pour  séduire les makers.

Microsoft mise sur les cartes Raspberry et Galileo pour séduire les makers.

En annonçant la disponibilité de Windows 10 sur la Raspberry 2, Microsoft profite de la montée en puissance de la carte pour tenter un come-back. Avec son processeur ARM Cortex-A7 cadencé à 900MHz, son Gigaoctet de RAM, la Raspberry est maintenant capable de faire tourner Linux et Microsoft Windows 10. Une belle opportunité pour Microsoft qui a annoncé la gratuité de son futur Windows 10 ARM. Depuis plusieurs mois Microsoft travaille sur le portage de son Windows 10 sur cette Raspberry Pi 2 et ne compte pas en publier le code source. Est-ce que ce sera suffisant pour pour séduire les makers ? Avec son programme  Windows Developer Program for IoT, sa carte Galileo ARM avec Intel, mais aussi la carte Sharks Cove pour pousser Atom, Microsoft fait tout pour les convaincre.

Sources :

« Microsoft Announces Windows Support for the Raspberry Pi 2« , Make:, 2 février 2015

« The Internet of Anything: Microsoft Brings Free Windows to the Raspberry Pi », Wired, 2 février 2015

« Windows 10 Coming to Raspberry Pi 2 », Communiqué de presse Microsoft, 2 février 2015

« Raspberry Pi 2 on sale now at $35 », Billet de blog d’Eben Upton, 2 février 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.