The RBO Berlin team wins the Amazon Picking Challenge

Team-RBOThe robotics competition organized by Amazon was held this week in Seattle in parallel to the large ICRA robotics conference. 28 teams from the United States, Europe and Asia competed for 2 days on a scenario that particularly interested giant E-Commerce: picking warehouse products. The challenge faced was simple: the robot was placed in a tray a series of various products placed in a rack. This is the team of the University of Berlin who flew over the event, to the MIT team and Team Grizzly.

A test performed by the robot in 17 min 43

With a score of 148 points the team of robotics lab and biology (RBO) Department of Informatics and Microelectronics of the Technical University Berlin have easily won the trophy at stake by Amazon. The MIT team came second with 88 points and the team “Grizzly” that brings Oakland University and the company DataSpeed Inc. has obtained 35 points.

RBO_run

The WAM of the RBO team during the test of the Amazon Picking Challenge.

If Amazon has put available to competitors robots ABB, Fanuc, PR2 from Clearpath Robotics, Baxter from Rethink Robotics, Universal Robots and Yaskawa Motoman, the winning team has chosen a Barrett WAM robot arm Technology mounted on a movable carriage. The MIT team used a robot arm while the ABB Team Grizzly chose the Baxter Rethinks Robotics.

WAM took nearly 18 minutes to realize his picking program. A human would probably be less than a minute, but no doubt we will see the descendants of WAM in warehouses Amazon in recent years.

Translation : Google Translation

Source : “RBO Team wins the Amazon Picking Challenge!”, Communiqué TU-Berlin, May 29, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

L’équipe de l’université de Berlin remporte l’Amazon Picking Challenge

Team-RBOLe concours de robotique organisé par Amazon s’est tenu cette semaine à Seattle, en parallèle à la grande conférence robotique ICRA. 28 équipes provenant des Etats-Unis, d’Europe et d’Asie se sont affrontées pendant 2 jours sur un scénario qui intéresse tout particulièrement le géant du E-Commerce : le picking d’articles divers en entrepôt. Le défit à relever était simple : le robot devait placer dans un bac une série de produits divers placés dans un rack. C’est l’équipe de l’Université de Berlin qui a survolé l’épreuve, devant l’équipe du MIT et la Team Grizzly.

Une épreuve réalisée par le robot en 17 min 43

Avec un score de 148 points, l’équipe du laboratoire de robotique et biologie (RBO) du département d’informatique et micro-électronique de l’université technique de Berlin ont facilement emporté le trophée mis en jeu par Amazon. L’équipe du MIT est arrivée en seconde position avec 88 points et l’équipe « Grizzly » qui réunit l’Université d’Oakland et l’entreprise DataSpeed Inc a obtenu 35 points.

RBO_run

Le WAM de l’équipe RBO lors de l’épreuve de l’Amazon Picking Challenge.

Si Amazon mettait à disposition des concurrents un panel de divers robots collaboratifs ABB, Fanuc, PR2 de Clearpath Robotics, Baxter de Rethink Robotics, Universal Robots et Yaskawa-Motoman, l’équipe gagnante a fait le choix d’un bras robot WAM de Barrett Technology monté sur un chariot mobile.  L’équipe du MIT a mis en oeuvre un bras robot ABB tandis que le Team Grizzly a fait le choix du Baxter de Rethinks Robotics.

Le WAM a mis près de 18 minutes pour réaliser son programme de picking. Un humain aurait sans doute mis moins d’une minute, mais nul doute que l’on verra les descendants du WAM dans les entrepôts d’Amazon dans quelques années.

Source : « RBO Team wins the Amazon Picking Challenge! », Communiqué TU-Berlin, 29 mai 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.