Will augmented reality market explode in 2016?

NextVRIf virtual reality has found its place on the market company, if all teens (and many others) now play 3D games, it is clear the failure of virtual reality and augmented public reality. The concepts are well known, but move to the stage of production to large scale reality goggles augmented and virtual reality still seems very difficult. Yet, as those of Manatt Digital Media analysts expect the explosion of this market. They consider it to 150 billion dollars by 2020! Who says better?

Both augmented reality and virtual reality games will get the market

VR-AR-actorsThe acquisition of Oculus by Facebook in March 2014 for $ 2 billion would be the founding act of the market of virtual reality to the public eye. It will be the first quarter of 2016 so that virtual reality goggles Oculus Rift are finally launched. For analysts, if the markets related to augmented reality and virtual reality will represent $ 150 billion by 2020. Surprisingly, the market of virtual reality will only weigh 30 billion in total, mainly thanks to the games, film and equipment. For Manatt Digital Media, it is the augmented reality that will win the jackpot. If the Google Glass are not transformed into commercial success, analysts consider that augmented reality equipment will carve out the lion’s share with a turnover of hoped to $ 120 billion by 2020 against… a handful of million currently.
This market will be divided between the hardware, with the sunglasses manufacturer and helmets, the providers of input, graphics devices, video capture devices. Content providers will find in the virtual reality of new opportunities, be it in the games sector, of the audiovisual (film/TV), health, education, and social networks. Finally, this area is a large consumer of software in all genres. Capture platforms, engine production and dissemination of content, 3D games, analytical tools, services Cloud, places will be in the constellation of niches that make up the market of virtual reality and augmented reality.
Optinvent Ora ARCurrently, these are Facebook (Oculus, Surreal Vision, QuickFire Networks), Microsoft (HoloLens, Mojang, Kinect), Google (Magic Leap, Jaunt, Glass, Jump), Canon (MReal), GoPro (Kolor), Sony (PlayStation.VR), Samsung (Gear), HTC (Vive, Steam) who hold the keys to this market. The acquisition of Oculus by Facebook resulted not (yet) it clicks, lack of a real commercial launch of the Oculus Rift. On the other hand, analysts estimate that Apple, which completed the acquisition of Metaio in may 2015 and Amazon leading VR and AR in secret, projects may replicate to Facebook and start the real growth of this market to the general public. Venue in 2016 for a ‘new’ take-off of the market of virtual reality and augmented reality.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

The Reality of VR and AR”, Manatt Digital Media, 2015

“Augmented/Virtual Reality to hit $150 billion disrupting mobile by 2020”, Digi-Capital, april 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Le marché de la réalité augmentée va-t-il enfin exploser en 2016 ?

NextVRSi la réalité virtuelle a su trouver sa place sur le marché entreprise, si tous les ados (et beaucoup d’autres) jouent aujourd’hui à des jeux 3D, force est de constater l’échec de la réalité virtuelle et de la réalité augmentée auprès du grand public. Les concepts sont bien connus, mais passer au stade de la production à grande échelle de lunettes de réalité augmentée et de réalité virtuelle semble encore bien difficile. Pourtant, les analystes comme ceux de Manatt Digital Media s’attendent à l’explosion de ce marché. Ils l’estiment à 150 milliards de dollars dès 2020 ! Qui dit mieux ?

Les lunettes de réalité augmentée et les jeux de réalité virtuelle vont tirer le marché

VR-AR-actorsL’acquisition d’Oculus par Facebook en mars 2014 pour 2 milliards de dollars devait être l’acte fondateur du marché des lunettes de réalité virtuelle auprès du grand public. Il faudra attendre le premier trimestre 2016 pour que les lunettes de réalité virtuelle Oculus Rift soient enfin lancées. Pour les analystes, si les marchés liés à la réalité augmentée et à la réalité virtuelle représenteront 150 milliards de dollars à l’horizon 2020. Étonnamment, le marché de la réalité virtuelle ne pèsera que 30 milliards dans ce total, essentiellement grâce aux jeux, au cinéma et les équipements. Pour Manatt Digital Media, c’est la réalité augmentée qui va décrocher le gros lot. Si les Google Glass ne se sont pas transformées en succès commercial, les analystes considèrent que les équipements de réalité augmentée vont se tailler la part du lion avec un chiffre d’affaires espéré de 120 milliards de dollars en 2020 contre… une poignée de millions actuellement.
Ce marché va se répartir entre le matériel, avec les constructeur de lunettes et casques, les fournisseurs de périphériques d’entrée, de cartes graphiques, de matériels de capture vidéo. Les fournisseurs de contenus vont trouver dans la réalité virtuelle de nouveaux débouchés, que ce soit dans le secteur des jeux, de l’audiovisuel (cinéma/TV), la santé, l’éducation et enfin les réseaux sociaux. Enfin, ce secteur est un gros consommateur de logiciels en tous genres. Plateformes de capture, production et diffusion de contenus, moteur 3D pour les jeux, outils analytiques, services Cloud, des places seront à prendre dans la constellation de niches dont se compose le marché de la réalité virtuelle et de la réalité augmentée.
Optinvent Ora ARActuellement, ce sont Facebook (Oculus, Surreal Vision, QuickFire Networks), Microsoft (HoloLens, Mojang, Kinect), Google (Magic Leap, Jaunt, Glass, Jump), Canon (MReal), GoPro (Kolor), Sony (PlayStation.VR), Samsung (Gear), HTC (Vive, Steam) qui détiennent les clés de ce marché. L’acquisition d’Oculus par Facebook n’a pas (encore) entraîné le déclic, faute d’un véritable lancement commercial des Oculus Rift. Par contre, les analystes estiment que Apple, qui a réalisé l’acquisition de Metaio en mai 2015 et Amazon qui mènerait des projets VR et AR en secret, pourraient répliquer à Facebook et lancer le véritable essor de ce marché auprès du grand public. Rendez-vous en 2016 pour un « nouveau » décollage des marchés de la réalité virtuelle et de la réalité augmentée.
Sources :

« The Reality of VR and AR », Manatt Digital Media, 2015

« Augmented/Virtual Reality to hit $150 billion disrupting mobile by 2020 », Digi-Capital, avril 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.