Record entries for the Airbus Cargo Drone Challenge

Airbus-Cargo-Drone-ChallengeAirbus has set new record in this area. Crowdsourcing campaign aimed at creating a drone of transport comes to collect 423 entries, a record on the Local-Motors platform that hosted the challenge. It’s better than the BMW Urban Driving Experience Challenge, which brought together 414 projects in 2012 and that Domino’s Pizza and 385 candidates in its Ultimate Delivery Vehicle challenge. Fans of drones have demonstrated their imagination, to Airbus engineers choose the best concept.

A UAV design competition won an unprecedented success

Probablement le projet le plus original, l'Interkontinent de Sergiu Ilinca.

The Interkontinent project of Sergiu Ilinca.


The specification of departure of the Airbus Cargo Drone Challenge was relatively simple. Create a drone of delivery capable to bring a load of 5 kg to a disaster zone. This drone is capable of taking off vertically, carry his load 5 kg on 60 km or 3 kg on 100 km and should not exceed 25 kg. In addition, this electric-powered drone must be at least a pusher propeller. This same equation of departure, more than 420 responses which engineers will need to choose the most effective.

The Board Airbus project will see its designer invited by Airbus at the Farnborough show and receives a bonus of $50,000, the following selected projects will receive $20,000 and $10,000.

Le Flycat de Huynh Ngoc Lan.

Huynh Ngoc Lan’s Flycat.


A logistics specialist jury will award three prizes, as well as the Local Motors community. For now, the jury is trying to validate projects and eliminate those who do not respect the initial conditions. Currently the number of projects shortlisted is 420, the final vote of the jury will be held from 6 to 16 June. Then, we’ll know which of the more than 400 drones will be chosen. Airbus will go to build it?

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Record de participations pour l’Airbus Cargo Drone Challenge

Airbus-Cargo-Drone-ChallengeAirbus vient d’établir nouveau record en la matière. Sa campagne de crowdsourcing visant à créer un drone de transport vient de recueillir 423 participations, un record sur la plateforme Local-Motors qui hébergeait ce challenge. C’est mieux que le BMW Urban Driving Experience Challenge qui a réuni 414 projets en 2012 et que Domino’s Pizza et les 385 candidats à son Ultimate Delivery Vehicle challenge. Les fans de drones ont fait la preuve de leur imagination, aux ingénieurs d’Airbus de choisir le meilleur concept.

Un concours de conception de drone remporte un succès sans précédent

Probablement le projet le plus original, l'Interkontinent de Sergiu Ilinca.

Le projet Interkontinent de Sergiu Ilinca.

Le cahier des charges de départ de l’Airbus Cargo Drone Challenge était relativement simple. Créer un drone de livraison capable d’amener un chargement de 5 kg sur une zone de catastrophe. Ce drone doit être capable de décoller verticalement, transporter sa charge 5 kg sur 60 km ou 3 kg sur 100 km et ne pas dépasser 25 kg. En outre, ce drone à propulsion électrique devait compter au moins une hélice propulsive pour voler à au moins 80 km/h. Airbus a fixé à 5 m l’envergure maximale du drone et à 4 m sa longueur. A cette équation de départ, plus de 420 réponses parmi lesquelles les ingénieurs vont devoir choisir la plus efficace.

Le projet retenu par le jury Airbus verra son concepteur invité par Airbus lors du Salon de Farnborough et empochera une prime de 50.000 $, les projets sélectionnés suivant toucheront 20.000 $ et 10.000 $.

Le Flycat de Huynh Ngoc Lan.

Le Flycat de Huynh Ngoc Lan.

Un jury de spécialistes de la logistique attribuera  trois prix, de même que la communauté Local-Motors. Pour l’instant, le jury est en train de valider les projets et éliminer ceux qui ne respectent pas les conditions initiales. Actuellement le nombre de projets en lice est de 420, le vote final du jury aura lieu du 6 au 16 juin. On saura alors lequel des plus de 400 drones sera choisi. Airbus ira-t-il jusqu’à le construire ?

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.