Red Flag exercise changes dimension through simulation

Red-Flag-aggressorsRed Flag, is the great air exercise which was held each year on the basis of Nellis, near Las Vegas. Each year, Western air forces clash over Nevada in extensive dogfights which are realistic. The “blue” forces face the rouges, aircraft masked the Soviet colours, “agressors” who play the bad guys. This year, the combat aircraft have faced new opponents, virtual aircraft controlled Simulator. A first on such a scale.

Thousands of simulators engaged in the battle

Distributed Mission Operations Center at Kirtland AFB, N.M. (Photo: U.S. Air Force / Senior Airman Thomas Spangler)

Distributed Mission Operations Center at Kirtland AFB, N.M. (Photo: U.S. Air Force / Senior Airman Thomas Spangler)

Edition 2015 exercise Red Flag ’15 – 2″ resembled a large LAN Party. The Red Flag exercise area, traditionally 100 nautical miles on 100 miles in the Nevada desert has been virtually extended to 1,200 x 1,100 miles through the virtual. Project LVC (Live, Virtual & Constructive) of the US Air Force allowed to connect virtual drivers in this field of battle 2.0.
According to the US Air Force, this edition releases ‘ 15 – 2″ brought together 85 planes, mainly American: F-15, F-16 and EA – 6B, E – 3A, B-1, B – 52, and NATO Awacs and some Norwegian F-16 fighter. ” Real aircraft involved in attacks on the ground and interceptions in closest possible scenarios of the real. Aircraft that were joined by thousands of virtual devices which were immersed in the heart of the battle. These drivers are not rendered at Nellis, but flew their aircraft on flight simulators of their bases of attachment or in the Distributed Mission Operations Center located in Kirtland Air Force base in New Mexico. With exercise Red Flag 15-2, the concept of distributed simulation has just experienced a breakthrough.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“LVC integration takes Red Flag to next level”, Nellis AFB press release, March 5, 2015

“Nellis AFB hosts Red Flag 15-2 March 2 to March 13, 2015”, Nellis AFB press release, January 16, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

L’exercice Red Flag 2015 change de dimension grâce au virtuel

Red-Flag-aggressorsRed Flag, c’est le grand exercice aérien qui a lieu chaque année sur la base de Nellis, à proximité de Las Vegas. Chaque année, les forces aériennes occidentales s’affrontent au-dessus du Nevada dans de vastes combats aériens qui se veulent ultra-réalistes. Les forces « bleues » font face aux « rouges », des avions maquillés aux couleurs soviétiques, les « agressors » qui jouent les méchants. Cette année, les avions de combat ont fait face à de nouveaux adversaires, des avions virtuels pilotés sur simulateur. Une première à une telle échelle.

Des milliers de simulateurs engagés dans la bataille

Distributed Mission Operations Center at Kirtland AFB, N.M. (Photo : U.S. Air Force / Senior Airman Thomas Spangler)

Le Distributed Mission Operations Center, situé sur la base aérienne de  Kirtland, dans le Nouveau-Mexique, à plusieurs centaines de km de Nellis.  (Photo : U.S. Air Force / Senior Airman Thomas Spangler)

L’édition 2015 de l’exercice Red Flag « 15-2 » a ressemblé à une grande LAN-Party. L’aire d’exercice de Red Flag, traditionnellement de 100 miles nautique sur 100 miles dans le désert du Nevada a été virtuellement étendue à 1.200 x 1.100 miles grâce au virtuel. Le projet LVC (Live, Virtual & Constructive) de l’US Air Force a permis de connecter des pilotes virtuels dans ce champ de bataille 2.0.

Selon les communiqués de l’US Air Force, cette édition « 15-2 » a réuni 85 avions, essentiellement américains : F-15, F-16, EA-6B, E-3A, B-1, B-52, ainsi que des Awacs de l’OTAN et quelques chasseurs F-16 norvégiens. Des avions bien réels impliqués dans des attaques au sol et des interceptions dans des scénarios les plus proches possibles du réel. Des avions qui ont été rejoints par des milliers d’appareils virtuels qui ont été plongés au coeur de la bataille. Ces pilotes ne se sont pas rendus à Nellis, mais ont piloté leurs appareils sur les simulateurs de vol de leurs bases de rattachement ou encore dans le « Distributed Mission Operations Center » situé dans la base aérienne de Kirtland dans le Nouveau Mexique. Avec l’exercice Red Flag 15-2, le concept de simulation distribuée vient de connaître une avancée majeure.

Sources :

« LVC integration takes Red Flag to next level », Communiqué de presse de la base aérienne de Nellis, 5 mars 2015

« Nellis AFB hosts Red Flag 15-2 March 2 to March 13, 2015 »,  Communiqué de presse de la base aérienne de Nellis, 16 janvier 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.