Renault Nissan send the autonomous car into overdrive

Nissan-Intelligent-DrivingSign of the times: it is not at the Salon de Paris, Tokyo or Detroit that Carlos Ghosn has made this announcement key for the future of the group, but in Sunnyvale, in the heart of Silicon Valley. Renault Nissan has finally unveiled its ambitions in terms of autonomous cars. Ambitions particularly high within a period ultra-short because these are not less than 10 autonomous models which will be launched by the franco-nippon group by 2020.

The Renault Nissan autonomous mode will grow phase after phase to 2020

10 models ranges Nissan and Renault will have an option led autonomous within 5 years, and ultimately these are all vehicles marketed by the group which will have such an option. This is the announcement shock made by Carlos Ghosn on 7 January 2015 in Sunnyvale.

Beginning this year, an autonomous driving mode will be available, a “single-lane control” mode that seems an evolution of the Adaptive controller. Usable on Highway, it will allow to run in standalone mode on a path, including congestion. In 2018, the group will propose a “multiple-lane control” mode that will integrate traffic lane change, the avoidance of obstacles. Finally, in 2020, cars will be able to negotiate the intersection and may move independently in city centres.
The Group engineers are working on a toolkit which is available to all brands of the group, which will allow to multiply models “empowered” in the ranges over the next years.

Nissan-IDS-Carlos GhosnIn addition to autonomous driving, Carlos Ghosn has announced for this year a new mobile application to interact with the car then a new system of infotainement for next year. A system that will host a personal virtual assistant in 2018. It is now Ogi Redzic, former car president of Nokia Here, which leads the connected car of the group strategy. It is he who will have to prepare the group to shock waiting for the automotive sector in this mutation to the autonomous car.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Renault-Nissan Gives Details on Autonomous Vehicle Plan”, The Wall Street Journal, January 7, 2016

“Renault-Nissan to launch more than 10 vehicles with autonomous drive technology over the next four years”, Renault Nissan press release, January 7, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Renault Nissan met le turbo sur la voiture autonome

Nissan-Intelligent-DrivingSigne des temps : ce n’est pas au Salon de Paris, à Tokyo ou à Détroit que Carlos Ghosn a réalisé cette annonce clé pour l’avenir du groupe, mais à Sunnyvale, au cœur de la Silicon Valley. Renault Nissan a enfin dévoilé ses ambitions en termes de voitures autonomes. Des ambitions particulièrement élevée dans un délai ultra-court car ce sont pas moins de 10 modèles autonomes qui vont être lancés par le groupe franco-nippon d’ici 2020.

Le mode de conduite autonome Renault Nissan va s’enrichir phase après phase jusqu’en 2020

10 modèles des gammes Nissan et Renault disposeront d’une option conduite autonome d’ici 5 ans et, à terme, ce sont tous les véhicules commercialisé par le groupe qui disposeront d’une telle option. C’est l’annonce choc qu’a fait Carlos Ghosn le 7 janvier 2015 à Sunnyvale.


Dès cette année, un mode de conduite autonome sera disponible, un mode « single-lane control »  qui semble une évolution du régulateur adaptatif. Utilisable sur autoroute, celui-ci permettra de rouler en mode autonome sur une voie, y compris dans les embouteillages. En 2018, le groupe va proposer un mode « multiple-lane control » qui intégrera le changement de voie de circulation, l’évitement d’obstacles. Enfin, en 2020, les voitures sauront négocier les intersection et pourront se déplacer en toute autonomie dans les centres-villes.

Les ingénieurs du groupe travaillent sur un toolkit qui est mis à la disposition de toutes les marques du groupe, ce qui permettra de multiplier les modèles « autonomisés » dans les gammes au cours des prochaines années.

Nissan-IDS-Carlos GhosnOutre la conduite autonome, Carlos Ghosn a annoncé pour cette année une nouvelle application mobile pour interagir avec la voiture puis un nouveau système d’infotainment pour l’an prochain. Un système qui accueillera un assistant virtuel personnel en 2018. C’est désormais Ogi Redzic, ancien président automobile de Nokia Here, qui mène la stratégie voiture connectée du groupe. C’est lui qui va devoir préparer le groupe au choc qui attend le secteur automobile dans cette mutation vers la voiture autonome.

Sources :

« Renault-Nissan Gives Details on Autonomous Vehicle Plan », The Wall Street Journal, 7 janvier 2016

« Renault-Nissan to launch more than 10 vehicles with autonomous drive technology over the next four years », Communiqué de presse Renault Nissan, 7 janvier 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.