POM, the Open Source car from Renault

the automotive sector has literally taken by storm the CES in Las Vegas, including Renault. Carlos Ghosn, Chief Executive of the Renault-Nissan Alliance, hosted a keynote and if Renault unveiled a concept as revolutionary for the 2017 edition, the manufacturer not less did sensation with her POM, a straight electric vehicle inherited the Renault Twizy. Nothing new in principle except that this chassis is intended primarily to hobbyists, inventors and creators of startups of all stripes because it presents a key to the markers characteristic: it is Open Source.

POM, a car platform ready to tweak for the Makers

la Renault Twizy presented at CES in Las Vegas to promote the POM project.

It is on a joint stand Renault, ARM and OSVehicle these 2017 visitors were able to see a transformed into emergency vehicle Renault Twizy. The goal was not here to promote the small french electric vehicle in the United States, but to present POM, its Open-Source variation. OSVehicule, a startup created by Tin Hang and Yuki Liu to promote open vehicles source in the United States. Already a Twizy components had served as basis for the Strati, the car printed in 3D of Local Motors, now all makers will rely on POM as a basis for their project.
Technically the Renault POM, acronym of Platform Open-Mind is nothing else than a Renault Twizy stripped of its bodywork. A simple chassis but who remains with the set of its axles, its electric engines, its 6.1 kWh Lithium-Ion battery and its electronics. Cheerleading is offered in 2 versions, the 45 POM and POM 80. The first offers a power of 4 kW only and offers a maximum speed of 45 km/h while the second, with its 13 kW, can hope to reach 80 km/h. Official rates have not yet been disclosed by the project partners.

The idea is of course not to provide a high performance vehicle, but the box ideal mechanic to create a prototype electric vehicle. They can reuse the mechanical, electrical, electronic elements but also the embedded software that can be picked up, modified and enriched in the purest tradition of the Open Source movement.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources:

, Renault press release, January 4, 2016

“OSVehicle partners with Renault to open source Twizy EV hardware platform group”, ticket OSVehicle, January 4, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

POM, la voiture Open Source signée Renault

Le secteur automobile a littéralement pris d’assaut le CES de Las Vegas, y compris Renault. Carlos Ghosn, Président-Directeur général de l’Alliance Renault-Nissan, a animé une keynote et si Renault n’a pas dévoilé un concept car révolutionnaire lors de cette édition 2017, le constructeur n’en a pas moins fait sensation avec son POM, un véhicule électrique tout droit hérité du Renault Twizy. Rien de neuf à priori sauf que ce châssis s’adresse en priorité aux bricoleurs, inventeurs et créateurs de startups de tous poils car il présente une particularité clé pour les markers : il est Open Source.

POM, une boîte de mécano automobile pour les Makers

La Renault Twizy présentée au CES de Las Vegas pour promouvoir le projet POM.

C’est sur un stand conjoint Renault, ARM et OSVehicle que les visiteurs du CES 2017 ont pu apercevoir une Renault Twizy transformée en véhicule d’intervention. L’objectif n’était pas ici de promouvoir le petit véhicule électrique français aux Etats-Unis, mais de présenter POM, sa déclinaison Open-Source. OSVehicule, une startup créée par Tin Hang et Yuki Liu afin de promouvoir les véhicules open source aux Etats-Unis. Déjà, les composants d’une Twizy avaient servi de base à la Strati, la voiture imprimée en 3D de Local Motors, désormais tous les makers vont s’appuyer sur POM comme base de leur projet.
Techniquement le Renault POM, acronyme de Platform Open-Mind n’est rien d’autre qu’une Renault Twizy dépouillée de sa carrosserie. Un simple châssis mais qui reste doté de l’ensemble de ses trains roulants, de ses moteurs électrique, de sa batterie Lithium-Ion de 6,1 kWh et de son électronique. POM est proposée en 2 versions, la POM 45 et la POM 80. La première offre une puissance de 4 kW seulement et offre une vitesse maximale de 45 km/h tandis que la seconde, avec ses 13 kW, peut espérer atteindre 80 km/h. Les tarifs officiels n’ont pas encore été communiqués par les partenaires du projet.

L’idée n’est bien évidement pas de fournir un véhicule haute performance, mais la boite mécano idéale pour créer un prototype de véhicule électrique. Ceux-ci pourront réutiliser les éléments mécaniques, électriques, électroniques mais aussi le logiciel embarqué qui va pouvoir être repris, modifié et enrichi dans la plus pure tradition du mouvement Open Source.

Sources :

« Le Groupe Renault et ses partenaires présentent plusieurs solutions de mobilité innovantes au CES 2017 », Communiqué de presse Renault, 4 janvier 2016

« OSVehicle partners with Groupe Renault to open source Twizy EV hardware platform »,  Billet OSVehicle, 4 janvier 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.