American intelligence wants its cryogenic computer

SuperconductorMuch has already been written on the project of quantum computer, a computer ideal for NSA since theoretically it could instantly decrypt any encrypted message. In addition to this long-term research project, the IARPA (Intelligence Advanced Research Projects Activity) leads a research program that could offer US agencies a supercomputer’s power exaflopique without having to absorb the production of a nuclear power plant to operate. C3 (Cryogenic Computing Complexity) program relies on superconductivity to detonate the computing power while reducing the energy required to achieve this result.

The compute-intensive search of technological break

The objectives of the DOE (Department of Energy), a class Exascale supercomputer should enter production by the end of the Decade and its power consumption should be around 20 MW. A highly ambitious since objective Tianhe 2, the most powerful supercomputer currently in production in the world presents a power of 54.902 Tflops.
Supraconductor Reach 1,000,000 Tflops without consuming more will therefore take the tour de force. If Intel, AMD, nVidia are constantly working to improve the power and especially the energy efficiency of their chips, other tracks are being considered, including those of cryogenic processors. Cooled to a temperature close to the 0 point, these processors use superconducting materials. The power consumption is so tiny, the operating frequency can then fly away. Researchers hope to issue a processor running at 770GHz, providing a power of 100 petaflops for power consumption limited to only 200 kiloWatts.

IBM, Raytheon and Northrop Grumman chosen by the IARPA for the first phase

Le Lincoln Laboratory est parvenu a fabriquer une puce supraconductrice pleinement fonctionnelle composée de 40.000 jonctions Josephson en niobium.Lincoln Laboratory has already managed to manufacture a fully functional superconducting chip consisting of 40,000 Josephson junctions in niobium.

Lincoln Laboratory has already managed to manufacture a fully functional superconducting chip consisting of 40,000 Josephson junctions in niobium.

Of course, to achieve such performance, we forget the current CMOS technology. The IARPA has therefore chosen to IBM, Raytheon and Northrop Grumman project to develop components of a first prototype. IBM and Northrop Grumman have create cryogenic memory, Northrop Grumman and Raytheon system, interconnection and the logic of the machine. This is MIT’s Lincoln Laboratory that will produce the superconducting circuits and finally the NIST test all. The Lincoln Laboratory is already able to produce 70,000 chip Josephson junctions, but ‘only’ 40,000 junctions for a foncitonnelle chip. By comparison, the chip Intel Xeon PHi, specifically designed for intensive computing, has 5 billion transistors.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“US intel agency is developing a superconducting exascale computer and cryogenic memory”, ExtremeTech, December 4, 2014

“US intelligence agency IARPA launches supercomputing research initiative”, Computing, December 4, 2014

“SC2012: Top500 expects exascale computing by 2020”, ComputerWorld, November 14 2012

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Le renseignement américain veut son ordinateur cryogénique

SuperconductorBeaucoup à déjà été écrit sur le projet d’ordinateur quantique, un ordinateur rêvé pour la NSA puisque théoriquement il pourrait déchiffrer instantanément n’importe quel message crypté. Outre ce projet de recherche à long terme, l’IARPA (Intelligence Advanced Research Projects Activity) mène un programme de recherche qui pourrait offrir aux agences américaines un supercalculateur de puissance exaflopique sans pour autant devoir absorber la production d’une centrale nucléaire pour fonctionner. Le programme C3 (Cryogenic Computing Complexity) mise sur la supraconductivité pour faire exploser la puissance de calcul tout en réduisant l’énergie nécessaire pour parvenir à ce résultat.

Le calcul intensif en quête de rupture technologique

Selon les objectifs du DOE (Department of Energy), un supercalculateur de classe Exascale devrait entrer en production d’ici la fin de la décennie et sa consommation électrique devrait avoisiner 20 MW. Un objectif extrêmement ambitieux puisque Tianhe 2, le supercalculateur le plus puissant actuellement en production dans le monde présente une puissance de 54.902 Tflops.

Supraconductor Atteindre 1.000.000 Tflops sans consommer plus tiendra donc du tour de force. Si Intel, AMD, nVidia travaillent sans cesse pour améliorer la puissance et surtout le rendement énergétique de leurs puces, d’autres pistes sont envisagées, dont celles des processeurs cryogéniques. Refroidis à une température proche du 0 absolu, ces processeurs utilisent des matériaux supraconducteurs. La consommation électrique est alors infime, la fréquence de fonctionnement peut alors s’envoler. Les chercheurs espèrent délivrer un processeur fonctionnant à 770GHz, fournissant une puissance de 100 petaflops pour une consommation électrique limitée à 200 kiloWatts seulement.

IBM, Raytheon, et Northrop Grumman choisis par l’IARPA pour la première phase

Le Lincoln Laboratory est parvenu a fabriquer une puce supraconductrice pleinement fonctionnelle composée de 40.000 jonctions Josephson en niobium.

Le Lincoln Laboratory est déjà parvenu a fabriquer une puce supraconductrice pleinement fonctionnelle composée de 40.000 jonctions Josephson en niobium.

Bien évidemment, pour atteindre de telles performances, il faut oublier la technologie CMOS actuelle. L’IARPA vient donc de confier à IBM, Raytheon, et Northrop Grumman le projet de concevoir les composants d’un premier prototype. IBM et Northrop Grumman ont pour mission de créer la mémoire cryogénique, Northrop Grumman et Raytheon le système, l’interconnexion et la logique de la machine. C’est le laboratoire Lincoln du MIT qui produira les circuits supraconducteurs et enfin le NIST testera l’ensemble. Le « Lincoln Laboratory » est déjà parvenu à produire une puce de 70.000 jonctions Josephson, mais de « seulement » 40.000 jonctions pour une puce foncitonnelle. A titre de comparaison, la puce Intel Xeon PHi, spécifiquement conçue pour le calcul intensif, compte 5 milliards de transistors.

Sources :

« US intel agency is developing a superconducting exascale computer and cryogenic memory », ExtremeTech, 4 décembre 2014

« US intelligence agency IARPA launches supercomputing research initiative », Computing, 4 décembre 2014

« SC2012: Top500 expects exascale computing by 2020 », ComputerWorld, 14 novembre 2012

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.