The U.S. industry to reshore its production in the United States

Usine-GM-WentzvilleInterviewed by the Boston Consulting Group, more than the majority of American executives believe their company is going to repatriate at least in part, its production sites in the United States. 16% of these enterprises are already conducting reshoringprojects. First affected by this movement of relocation, China, with the share of production could fall by more than 20%, in other Asian countries, but also Europe and the Mexico. Automation, but also a better-trained workforce, are the reasons put forward by American officials.

16% of the American company already involved in the relocation of their activities

GM-AutomatedGuided-Vehicles

Robotization, a way to make the relocation of production sites in economically developed countries possible.


The third edition of the study conducted by the BCG with American executives of industrial shows the interest of these companies for a strategy for relocation of their production sites in the United States. 37% were interested in 2012 against 54% today. 16% of the companies are already active on the issue. According their statements, within 5 years, their production will be carried out to 47% in the United States, an estimate an increase of 7% in 1 year. In parallel the production that they perform in China should decrease by 21%, was done in the rest of Asia down 22%. The Western Europe could suffer it also this relocation policy as their share in the production of American companies could decline by 10 to 8 per cent.

Shorten Supply Chain objective the most frequent of the relocation

Surprisingly, while french analysts point out at every opportunity that this are shale gas and therefore low costs energy in the United States that allow U.S. industry to become competitive, the American executives surveyed evoke other reasons in their relocation strategy. BCG---Executives-plan-to-invest-in-automation-or-other-avanced-manufacturing-to-enhance-product-competitivenessBCG---Executives-plan-to-invest-in-automation-or-other-avanced-manufacturing-to-enhance-product-competitivenessArgument no. 1 Advanced is to shorten the Supply Chain, the reduction of transportation costs, to better control manufacturing processes, the use of a more skilled workforce, or even an improvement in the quality. Among the secrets of this strategy of relocation is automation. 72% of executives surveyed say want to invest in more automation and advanced technologies of production. 71% say that these technologies will improve the economic equation of these relocations. Questioned by Industry Week, Harry Moser, the president of the Reshoring Initiative, estimates that in 2003 the United States lost 150,000 jobs per year due to offshoring, a situation now stabilized and foreign to the United States investment made positive 30,000 positions in 2013. A model for Europe.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“More US Manufacturers are Coming Home”, IndustryWeek, October 23, 2014

“Relocalisation : le “Made in USA” fait son grand retour”, La Tribune, October 23, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

L’industrie américaine va rapatrier sa production aux Etats-Unis

Usine-GM-WentzvilleInterrogés par le Boston Consulting Group, plus de la majorité des cadres américains estiment que leur entreprise va rapatrier, au moins en partie, ses sites de production aux Etats-Unis. 16% de ces entreprises mènent d’ores et déjà des projets de reshoring. Première touchée par ce mouvement de relocalisation, la Chine, dont la part de production pourrait chuter de plus de 20%, devant les autres pays asiatiques, mais aussi l’Europe et le Mexique. L’automatisation, mais aussi une main d’oeuvre mieux formée, sont les raisons avancées par les responsables américains.

16% des entreprise américains déjà engagées dans la relocalisation de leurs activités

GM-AutomatedGuided-Vehicles

La robotisation, un moyen de rendre la re-localisation des sites de production dans les pays développés économiquement possible.

La troisième édition de l’étude menée par le BCG auprès des cadres américains des industriels montre l’intérêt manifesté par ces entreprises pour une stratégie de relocalisation de leurs sites de production aux Etats-Unis. 37% s’y intéressaient en 2012 contre 54% aujourd’hui. 16% des entreprises sont d’ores et déjà active sur la question. D’après leurs déclarations, d’ici 5 ans, leur production sera réalisée à 47% aux Etats-Unis, une estimation en hausse de 7% en 1 an. En parallèle la production qu’elles réalisent en Chine devrait baisser de 21%, celle réalisée dans le reste de l’Asie baisser de 22%. L’Europe de l’Ouest pourrait pâtir elle aussi de cette stratégie de relocalisation puisque leur part dans la production des entreprises américaines pourrait baisser de 10 à 8%.

Raccourcir la Supply Chain, objectif le plus fréquent de la relocalisation

Étonnamment, alors que les analystes français soulignent à chaque occasion que ce sont les gaz de schistes et donc les faibles coûts de l’énergie aux Etats-Unis qui permettent à l’industrie américaine de redevenir compétitive, les cadres américains interrogés évoquent d’autres raisons à leur stratégie de relocalisation. BCG---Executives-plan-to-invest-in-automation-or-other-avanced-manufacturing-to-enhance-product-competitivenessBCG---Executives-plan-to-invest-in-automation-or-other-avanced-manufacturing-to-enhance-product-competitivenessL’argument n°1 avancé consiste à raccourcir la Supply Chain, la réduction des coûts de transport, devant un meilleur contrôle des processus de fabrication, le recours à une main d’oeuvre plus qualifiée ou encore une amélioration de la qualité. Parmi les secrets de cette stratégie de relocalisation figure l’automatisation. 72% des cadres interrogés déclarer vouloir investir dans davantage d’automatisation ou des technologies avancées de production. 71% affirment que ces technologies vont améliorer l’équation économique de ces relocalisations. Interrogé par Industry Week, Harry Moser, le président de la « Reshoring Initiative », estime qu’en 2003 les Etats-Unis perdaient 150.000 emplois par an du fait de l’offshoring, une situation aujourd’hui stabilisée et que les investissement étrangers aux Etats-Unis ont rendu positive de 30.000 postes en 2013. Un modèle à suivre pour l’Europe.

Sources :

« More US Manufacturers are Coming Home », IndustryWeek, 23 octobre 2014

« Relocalisation : le « Made in USA » fait son grand retour », La Tribune, 23 octobre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.