RoboRoach, the first cyborg animal to be marketed

RoboRoachWill probably not be the star of this year-end gift, however the RoboRoach has just been launched on the market. After a modest but successful fundraising on Kickstarter campaign, the cockroach robot and guided by smartphone is accessible to all that found the cockroach. A cyborg animal on sale for $99, a first.
Of limited interest from a scientific point of view, kit is mainly aimed at education to high school students. Each judge the ethics of such transaction.

A DIY kit for neurosciences

RoboRoach_iPodLe fonctionnement du kit cyborg commercialisé par Backyard Brains is quite simple. An electronic card placed on the back of the subject has a bluetooth chip. On the basis of orders sent via the mobile application, electrical signals are sent to the 3 electrodes placed on the animal. It require the animal to move forward, to turn left or right.

The operation is not without inconvenience to the subject since it is necessary to cut the antennas in order to attach the electrodes that by electric shocks, control the animal to turn left or right. The kit instruction indicates to dive the cockroach in a glass filled with ice to anesthetize the subject before operating. No doubt welcome anesthesia because, also lose its antennas, it will see its exoskeleton drilled a hole to slip a third electrode on a dorsal muscle… The League for the protection of the cockroaches will appreciate.

Startup created by former students of the University of Michigan, Backyard Brains offers an impressive catalog of equipment that allow to create various experiments on this theme of neurostimulation. Cockroaches, earthworms, grasshoppers, but also experiments on cells blood and same devices of electrical stimulation of the muscles of the arm between two people, the little shop of Dr. Frankenstein begins to take life.

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

RoboRoach, le premier animal cyborg à être commercialisé

RoboRoachCe ne sera probablement pas le cadeau star de cette fin d’année, néanmoins le RoboRoach vient d’être lancé sur le marché. Après une campagne de financement modeste mais réussie sur Kickstarter, le cafard robotisé et guidé par smartphone est accessible à tous pour peu que l’on trouve le cafard. Un animal cyborg en vente pour 99 $, une grande première.
D’un intérêt limité d’un point de vue scientifique, le kit se destine essentiellement à l’enseignement auprès des lycéens. A chacun de juger de l’éthique d’une telle opération commerciale.

Un kit DIY pour les neurosciences

RoboRoach_iPodLe fonctionnement du kit cyborg commercialisé par Backyard Brains est assez simple. Une carte électronique placée sur le dos du sujet dispose d’une puce bluetooth. En fonction des commandes envoyées via l’application mobile, des signaux électriques sont envoyés dans les 3 électrodes placées sur l’animal. Celle-ci commandent à l’animal d’avancer, de se tourner à gauche ou à droite.

L’opération n’est pas sans désagréments pour le sujet puisqu’il faut lui couper les antennes afin d’y fixer les électrodes qui, par décharges électriques ,commandent à l’animal de tourner à gauche ou à droite. Le mode d’emploi du kit indique qu’il faut plonger le cafard dans un verre rempli de glaçons afin d’anesthésier le sujet avant d’opérer. Une anesthésie sans doute bienvenue car, outre perdre ses antennes, celui-ci va voir son exosquelette foré d’un trou afin de glisser une troisième électrode sur un muscle dorsal… La ligue de protection des cafards appréciera.

Startup créée par des anciens étudiants de l’Université du Michigan, Backyard Brains propose un impressionnant catalogue d’équipements qui permettent de créer diverses expériences sur ce thème de la neurostimulation. Cafards, lombrics, sauterelles, mais aussi expériences sur des cellules sanguines et même dispositifs de stimulation électrique des muscles du bras entre deux personnes, la petite boutique du Dr Frankenstein commence à prendre vie.

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.