Major update for the ATLAS robot before the DARPA Robotics Challenge

ATLAS-V2The final of the DARPA Robotics Challenge will take place on 5 and 6 June in Pomona, California. In preparation for the final phase of the competition Boston Dynamics has just unveiled a new much improved version of his ATLAS robot. Now a subsidiary of Google, Boston Dynamics has reviewed its robot in depth. According to its designer, the ATLAS new formula is new to 75%. If the legs are remained unchanged, the structure of the robot was modified and made from lightweight materials. The objective for engineers was to cram a Li-ion 3.7 kW on the back. Because it is one of the major innovations of this ATLAS: it is now autonomous and can now intervene on the ground without any wire.

A robot designed to deal with more difficult conditions of the finals

The final stages of the robotic DARPA challenge prohibits robots to be linked to their respective teams any wired computers. Or network cable, or power cord. Boston Dynamics should therefore improve its ATLAS platform to allow teams the having chosen to play this final phase. Among the currently qualified teams for the challenge and who have made the choice of ATLAS, including the team the IHMC team TROOPER of the Lockheed Martin Advanced Technology Laboratories and the HKU Team of Hong Kong if she qualifies in February 2015, last session before June final.

The upgraded version of ATLAS, with his pack of batteries on the back, is now autonomous and can move without wire.

The upgraded version of ATLAS, with his pack of batteries on the back, is now autonomous and can move without any wires.

Loaded with its new battery, Atlas weighs now a little over 91 Kg to a height of 1 m 89. In addition to the installation of the batteries, Boston Dynamics engineers have repositioned shoulders and lower arms on the chest to free up space before the robot for manipulation and thus facilitate the sight of the operator. Important changes occurred on the arm. These are now electric and no longer tyres and these have a degrees of additional freedom. the wrist may be put in rotation to open a door, for example.
The robot will be more agile and her legs were given more powerful actuators to move more easily on terrain despite the increase in weight of the robot.
Finally, a wireless router will allow 3 on-board computers to communicate with the support team, knowing that communications will be partially blurred during the events.
ATLAS is therefore ready to participate in the challenge by June, but the bulk of the competition focuses on software developed by each of the teams to pass the tests. The teams ‘ATLAS’ manage to redo their delay on the SCHAFT, the big winner of the qualifications? Response on 5 and 6 June 2015.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source :
“Upgraded Atlas Robot to Go Wireless as the Stakes Are Raised for the DARPA Robotics Challenge Finals”, Communiqué DRC, 20 janvier 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Mise à jour majeure du robot ATLAS, avant le DARPA Robotics Challenge

ATLAS-V2La finale du DARPA Robotics Challenge aura lieu les 5 et 6 juin à Pomona en Californie. En préparation de la dernière phase de la compétition Boston Dynamics vient de dévoiler une nouvelle version nettement améliorée de son robot ATLAS. Aujourd’hui filiale de Google, Boston Dynamics a revu son robot en profondeur. Selon ses concepteur, l’ATLAS nouvelle formule est nouveau à 75%. Si les jambes sont resté inchangées, la structure du robot a été modifiée et réalisée en matériaux légers. L’objectif pour les ingénieurs était de pouvoir caser une batterie Li-ion de 3.7 kW sur le dos. Car c’est l’une des grandes nouveautés de cet ATLAS : il est désormais autonome et peut désormais intervenir sur le terrain sans fil à la patte.

Un robot conçu pour faire face à des conditions plus difficile des finales

Les phases finales du challenge robotique de la DARPA interdit aux robots d’être reliés aux ordinateurs de leurs équipes respectives par le moindre câble. Ni câble réseau, ni câble d’alimentation. Boston Dynamics devait donc améliorer sa plateforme ATLAS pour permettre aux équipes l’ayant choisi de pouvoir disputer cette phase finale. Parmi les équipes actuellement qualifiées pour le challenge et qui ont fait le choix d’ATLAS, figurent notamment l’équipe de l’IHMC, le team TROOPER des Lockheed Martin Advanced Technology Laboratories et la Team HKU de Hong-Kong si elle se qualifie en février 2015, dernière session avant la finale de juin.

La version améliorée d'ATLAS, avec son pack de batteries sur le dos, est désormais autonome.

La version améliorée d’ATLAS, avec son pack de batteries sur le dos, est désormais autonome et peut se déplacer sans fil à la patte.

Equipé de sa nouvelle batterie, Atlas pèse désormais un peu plus de 91 Kg, pour une taille de 1m 89. Outre l’installation des batteries, les ingénieurs de Boston Dynamics ont repositionné les épaules et les bras plus bas sur le torse pour libérer de l’espace devant le robot pendant les manipulations et ainsi faciliter la vue de l’opérateur.  D’importants changements sont intervenus sur les bras. Ceux-ci sont désormais électriques et non plus pneumatiques et ceux-ci disposent d’un degrés de liberté supplémentaire. le poignet pourra être mis en rotation pour ouvrir une porte, par exemple.

Le robot sera donc plus agile et ses jambes ont été dotés d’actionneurs plus puissant pour se déplacer plus aisément sur terrain accidenté en dépit de l’accroissement de poids du robot.

Enfin, un routeur sans fil permettra aux 3 ordinateurs de bord de communiquer avec l’équipe de soutien, sachant que les communications seront partiellement brouillées lors des épreuves.

ATLAS est donc fin prêt pour participer au challenge de juin, mais l’essentiel de la compétition porte sur les logiciels développés par chacune des équipes pour passer les épreuves. Les équipes « ATLAS » parviendront-elles à refaire leur retard sur le SCHAFT, le grand gagnant des qualifications ? Réponse les 5 et 6 juin 2015.

Source : « Upgraded Atlas Robot to Go Wireless as the Stakes Are Raised for the DARPA Robotics Challenge Finals », Communiqué DRC, 20 janvier 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.