SAFFiR, the US Navy’s robot conducted its first tests

SaffirThe approach is still hesitant, agonizingly slow movements, but the firefighter robot of the US Navy project continues. His robot SAFFiR, for Shipboard Autonomous Firefighting Robot has passed its first tests high clip in November last on USS Shadwell, a decommissioned ship. Sufficiently conclusive tests for the Navy presents “publicly” its humanoid its admirals during the Naval Future Force Science and Technology Expo.

A research project long term on a firefighter robot

It is in 2011 that US Navy fighter fire robot project was unveiled for the first time. The SAFFiR is designed to assist the teams of fire in case of fire on one of the ships of the Navy. Disaster, the danger is extreme for firefighters: corridors are quickly invaded by toxic fumes, the stored ammunition and fuel add to the danger, where the idea of sending robots to the heart of the fire rather than humans.

The robot SAFFiR present at American admirals during the NavyTechEXPO, 2015. (Photo: U.S. Navy/John F. Williams)

The robot SAFFiR present at American admirals during the NavyTechEXPO, 2015. (Photo: U.S. Navy/John F. Williams)

The project is being conducted by the Naval Research Laboratory (NRL), the research campus of the United States Navy with researchers from Virginia Tech and the University of Pennsylvania. Researchers have opted for a humanoid for their firefighter form so that it can move as sailors in the corridors, borrow scales, open doors and much obviously hold a spear to fire. One ambitious since the project has already taken more than a year late and that the capacity of the SAFFiR still seem very limited according to the video aired by the NRL on YouTube.
SAFFiR today measure 1 m 78, weighs 53kg only. To accomplish its mission, the robot is covered sensors to be able to move in this environment as difficult as a boat in flames. The robot has infrared binocular vision, and a LIDAR (Laser for lIght Detection And Ranging) in rotation on the face.
This robot SAFFiR is one of the projects of the research DC-21 program (for Damage Control Technologies for the 21st Century) of the Navy. This program also focuses on development of smart sensors to detect gas toxic and beginnings of fire, the “indoor” use of miniature drones for mapping the damage, new ways to extinguish the fires. Finally, researchers are working on ways of interaction between teams of firemen and their robots to intervention by natural language or gestures. It is still a long-term research project and if the robot has conducted its first tests, it will take several more years before the Humanoids are committed ‘ in the Navy!
Translation : Bing Translator

 

Sources :

“Making Sailors ‘SAFFiR’ – Navy Unveils Firefighting Robot Prototype at Naval Tech EXPO”, America’s Navy, February 4, 2015

“NRL Designs Robot for Shipboard Firefighting”, Communiqué NRL, March 7, 2012

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Le robot SAFFiR de la Navy a mené ses premiers essais

SaffirLa démarche est encore hésitante, les mouvements désespérément lents, mais le projet de robot pompier de la marine américaine se poursuit. Son robot SAFFiR, pour Shipboard Autonomous Firefighting Robot a passé ses premiers tests haut la pince en novembre dernier sur le USS Shadwell, un navire désaffecté. Des tests suffisamment probants pour que la Navy présente « publiquement » son humanoïde à ses amiraux  lors de la Naval Future Force Science and Technology Expo.

Un projet de recherche long terme sur un robot pompier

C’est en 2011 que le projet de robot combattant du feu de l’US Navy a été dévoilé pour la première fois.  Le SAFFiR a pour objectif d’assister les équipes d’incendie en cas de feu sur un des navires de la Navy. En cas de sinistre, le danger est extrême pour les pompiers : les coursives sont rapidement envahies de fumées toxiques, les munitions stockées et le carburant ajoutent encore au danger, d’où l’idée d’envoyer des robots au coeur de l’incendie plutôt que des humains.

Le robot SAFFiR présenté aux amiraux amércains lors de la NavyTechEXPO, 2015.  (Photo: U.S. Navy/John F. Williams)

Le robot SAFFiR présenté aux amiraux américains lors de la NavyTechEXPO, 2015. (Photo: U.S. Navy/John F. Williams)

Le projet est mené par le Naval Research Laboratory (NRL), le campus de recherche de la marine américaine avec les chercheurs de Virginia Tech et de l’Université de Pennsylvanie. Les chercheurs ont opté pour une forme humanoïde pour leur pompier afin qu’il puisse se déplacer comme les marins dans les coursives, emprunter des échelles, ouvrir des portes et bien évidement tenir une lance à incendie. Un choix ambitieux puisque le projet à déjà pris plus d’un an de retard et que les capacités du SAFFiR semblent encore très limitées si on en croit la vidéo diffusée par le NRL sur YouTube.

SAFFiR mesure aujourd’hui 1m78, pèse 53kg seulement. Pour accomplir sa mission, le robot est bardé de capteurs pour pouvoir se déplacer dans cet environnement aussi difficile qu’un bateau en flammes. Le robot dispose d’une vision binoculaire infrarouge, ainsi que d’un LIDAR (Laser for lIght Detection And Ranging) en rotation sur le visage.

Ce robot SAFFiR est l’un des projets du programme de recherche DC-21 (pour Damage Control Technologies for the 21st Century) de la marine. Ce programme porte aussi sur la mise au point de des capteurs intelligents pour détecter gaz toxiques et débuts d’incendie, l’usage de drones miniatures « indoor » pour cartographier les dommages, de nouveaux moyens d’éteindre les feux. Enfin, les chercheurs travaillent sur les moyens d’interaction entre équipes de pompiers et leurs robots d’intervention par langage naturel ou par gestes. Il s’agit encore d’un projet de recherche long-terme et si le robot a mené ses premiers tests, il faudra encore plusieurs années avant que les humanoïdes ne s’engagent « in the Navy ! »

 

Sources :

« Making Sailors ‘SAFFiR’ – Navy Unveils Firefighting Robot Prototype at Naval Tech EXPO », America’s Navy, 4 février 2015

« NRL Designs Robot for Shipboard Firefighting », Communiqué NRL, 7 mars 2012

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.