25 million $ for Jibo, the little ‘social’ robot

JiboIs it really a robot with only a 3-axis of freedom? In any case, Jibo is the connected object that is talking about him. Project has hardbound on Indiegogo where the little robot recorded 4.800 preorders and pocketed nearly $ 2.3 million against $100,000 expected at the outset, is one of the 5 best campaigns on crowdfundingsite. Since then, investors have fought literally to buy part of the start-up capital. Jibo Inc. ended up closing a fundraising of $ 25 million, and funds have placed Steven Chambers, former president of sales of Nuance, at the head of the adventure. What is anything else of a tablet on a swivel is preparing to conquer the planet.

The Jibo will be priced $500 at the end of year

The

The “Huge Design” Agency signed the unexpected appearance of Jibo.

Designed by Dr. Cynthia Breazeal, Professor of Robotics from MIT, Jibo is derived from the crossing of a Nabaztag, R2D2 and the robot alien Eve of the Wall-E film. This ‘social’ robot, that its designers intended for family use attracted the public on Indiegogo. It also ignited the investors. The project is to raise $ 25 million to multiple funds, CRV, Flybridge Capital Partners, Two Sigma Investments, but also Samsung Ventures. That’s 10 million more than expected! The startup of Boston, cradle of U.S. Robotics, will be able to accelerate the development of its robot and move to his large scale industrialization.
That is what explains this success, while the idea of a robot family is not new. His distant ancestor, the Nabaztag by Violet date of 2005 and just being arrested by Aldebaran Robotics. Firstly, Jibo is extremely expressive, whether by his body language by its screen. Immediately, the robot seems friendly, fun, ready to help. It is the exact opposite of Amazon Echo, the intelligent micro launched by Amazon a few weeks ago, or the Welcome camera presented on the these by Netatmo. Objects close enough to the Jibo, but totally expressionless, design functionality, in a word: boring. The Agency “Huge Design’ has done the job, and applications seem convincing. Jibo is more than a robot, is a lesson in user experience.

A robot, but above all a development platform

The designers at work on the prototype of Jibo.

The designers at work on the prototype of Jibo.

Jibo, it is also a platform. Users, the community of the Makers will be able to develop applications for the robot, “Skills” in house terminology. In the third quarter, an app store should area its appearance and the developer propose their achievements. Jibo will provide an SDK, the JiboAlive Toolkit to create graphically small applications and an JiboAlive SDK for developers. Jibo running Linux, Hackers are going to heart joy to imagine new uses to the robot.
Technologically, Jibo seems more ambitious that its small size is no indication. It is totally devoid of button, its screen and the top of the head are tactile, but the robot is controlled with the voice. It is able to recognize his interlocutor and obey orders. It can read voice messages, use sticky notes, stopwatch, videophone (the application will be on the app store in the summer 2015), screen to e-commerce sites. Its monitoring of scene allows use of smart camera, especially since the recognition of faces must, in principle, then follow “from the gaze’ someone said. Finally, Jibo must be able to control the objects connect from home, but for the time being no trace of the robot on IFTTT, or official information on the “Smart Home” standards that will be borne by the robot.
Jibo Inc. has started to deliver its first customers/supporters Indiegogo and if commands flock, but the ramp-up of production will take place in 2016 date that should find Jibo on large e-commerce and in the traditional distribution sites.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Robot-maker Jibo Inc. raises $25M, taps former Nuance exec as CEO”, Boston Business Journal, January 21, 2015

“JIBO, World’s First Family Robot Is Preparing to Meet You”, Smashing Robotics, December 19 2014

“Programming Your Own Jibo”, Jibo Blog, July 29, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Objets connectés, Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 millions de $ pour Jibo, le petit robot « social »

JiboEst-ce véritablement un robot avec seulement 3 axes de liberté ? En tout cas, Jibo c’est l’objet connecté qui fait parler de lui. Le projet a cartonné sur Indiegogo où le petit robot a enregistré 4..800 précommandes et empoché près de 2,3 millions de dollars contre 100.000 $ espérés au départ, soit l’une des 5 meilleures campagnes menées sur le site de crowdfunding. Depuis, les investisseurs se sont littéralement battus pour acheter une partie du capital de la start-up. Jibo Inc. a fini par boucler une levée de fond de 25 millions de dollars, et les fonds ont placé Steven Chambers, ancien président des ventes de Nuance, à la tête de l’aventure. Ce qui n’est rien d’autre d’une tablette sur un pied pivotant s’apprête à conquérir la planète.

Le Jibo sera commercialisé 500 $ en fin d’année

L'agence "Huge Design" a signé l'apparence de Jibo.

L’agence « Huge Design » a signé l’apparence inattendue de Jibo.

Conçu par le docteur Cynthia Breazeal, professeur de robotique du MIT, Jibo est issu du croisement d’un Nabaztag, de R2D2 et du robot extraterrestre Eve du film Wall-E. Ce robot « social », que ses concepteurs destinent à un usage familial a séduit le public sur Indiegogo. Il a aussi enflammé les investisseurs. Le projet vient de lever 25 millions de dollars auprès de multiples fonds, dont CRV, Flybridge Capital Partners, Two Sigma Investments, mais aussi Samsung Ventures. C’est 10 millions de plus qu’espéré ! La startup de Boston, berceau de la robotique américaine, va pouvoir accélérer le développement de son robot et passer à son industrialisation à grande échelle.
Qu’est-ce qui explique ce succès, alors que l’idée d’un robot familial n’est pas nouvelle. Son lointain ancêtre, le Nabaztag de Violet date de 2005 et vient d’être arrêté par Aldebaran Robotics. D’une part, Jibo est extrêmement expressif, que ce soit par son langage corporel que par son écran. Immédiatement, le robot semble sympathique, amusant, prêt à aider. C’est l’exact opposé de l’Amazon Echo, le micro intelligent lancé par Amazon voici quelques semaines, ou la caméra Welcome présentée sur le CES par Netatmo. Des objets aux fonctionnalités assez proches du Jibo, mais totalement inexpressif, au design quelconque, en un mot : ennuyeux. L’agence « Huge Design » a bien fait le job, et les applications semblent convaincantes. Jibo c’est plus qu’un robot, c’est une leçon d’expérience utilisateur.

Un robot, mais surtout une plateforme de développement

Les concepteurs à l'oeuvre sur le prototype de Jibo.

Les concepteurs à l’oeuvre sur le prototype de Jibo.

Jibo, c’est aussi une plateforme. Les utilisateurs, la communauté des Makers vont pouvoir développer des applications pour le robot, des « Skills » dans la terminologie maison. Au troisième trimestre, un app store devrait aire son apparition et les développeur y proposer leurs réalisations. Jibo va fournir un kit de développement, le JiboAlive Toolkit pour créer graphiquement de petite applications et un JiboAlive SDK pour les développeurs. Jibo fonctionnant sous Linux, les Hackers vont s’en donner à coeur joie pour imaginer de nouveaux usages au robot.

Technologiquement, Jibo semble plus ambitieux que sa petite taille ne laisse présager. Celui-ci est totalement dépourvu de bouton, son écran et le dessus de la tête sont tactiles, mais le robot se commande à la voix. Il est capable de reconnaître son interlocuteur et obéir aux ordres. Il peut lire les messages vocaux, servir de pense-bête, de chronomètre, de visiophone (l’application sera sur les app store à l’été 2015), d’écran vers des sites de E-Commerce. Son suivi de scène permet de s’en servir de caméra intelligente, d’autant que la reconnaissance des visages doit, en principe, puis permettre de suivre « du regard » une personne précise. Enfin, Jibo doit pouvoir commander les objets connecter de la maison, mais pour l’heure pas de trace du robot sur IFTTT, ni d’informations officielles sur les standards « Smart Home » qui seront supportés par le robot.

Jibo Inc. a commencé à livrer ses premiers clients/supporters Indiegogo et, si les commandes affluent, mais le ramp-up de la production aura lieu en 2016 date à laquelle on devrait trouver Jibo sur les grands sites de E-Commerce et dans la distribution traditionnelle.

Sources :

« Robot-maker Jibo Inc. raises $25M, taps former Nuance exec as CEO », Boston Business Journal, 21 janvier 2015

« JIBO, World’s First Family Robot Is Preparing to Meet You », Smashing Robotics, 19 décembre 2014

« Programming Your Own Jibo », Jibo Blog, 29 juillet 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Objets connectés, Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.