Military robotics: where are the Russians today?

Androide-militaire-russeThe image did the trick of the Web. While visiting the centre of research of the Advanced Research Foundation (ARF), the equivalent Russian of DARPA, Vladimir Putin was treated to a demonstration of the first Russian battle Android.
A demonstration during which the Russian president seemed bored deep into looking at the proud robot do its obstacle course screwed on his quad. The Russian fighter robot seems not yet up to the expectations of the Kremlin, it is the flag bearer of the research effort directed by the Russia military robotics.

Russian “DARPA” leads this battle with Android Technics Android project

Created in 2012 on the DARPA model, the various finance ARF research program both in the fields of physics, medicine, computer science, telecommunications, various military technologies. Among the programs on which the ARF communicates, research on robots imitating animals to move, insect robot, etc.

Russian Android about to leave on a mission before the Russian president Putin (source: ARF).

Russian Android about to leave on a mission before the Russian president Putin (source: ARF).

Android soldier submitted to Putin was directed by Android Technics, a laboratory in anthropoid robotics, the first of its kind in Russia, created in 2013, but in fact the heir to the work of the “Scientific and Production Association” Russian. This laboratory is already at the origin of an impressive series of robots, including the AR-600, a model very similar to our Warrior robot, the MR – 400 mounted on wheels, or even the amazing SR – 200, telepresence robot. According to Russia Today (RT) which broadcast only a small part of the demonstration of this soldier Android, in addition to his route in quad, he was able to open fire with a revolver.

Multiple projects in parallel with one goal: catch up with the USA

battle-robots-russia

The robotic tank that may ensure the defence of the launch of Russian nuclear missiles from 2020 sites (Source: Ministry of Defense of Russia).ssie).

In addition to the Android project, the Russia leads several military robots in parallel development projects. Thus the Moscow Times has unveiled here a few week a robotic tank project. It is being tested in the Astrakhan region. This shielded will have to protect the launch sites of nuclear missiles of the Russian army by 2020, according to the article.
Finally, Moscow Bauman University develops several years a range of recognition and resembles the Packbot demining robots and SUGV provides iRobot to the U.S. Army. In 2009, his first projects were disclosed publicly, including a heavily armed robot. The ambition displayed by the Russia was to catch up with the United States.

 

Sources :

“Russian avatar cyborg, crack shot & quad bike rider, meets Putin (VIDEO)”, Russia Today, January 21, 2015

“Russian Battle Robots Near Testing for Military Use”, The Moscow Times, January 2, 2015

“Army of the Future: Russian combat Robots”, Russia Today, January 30, 2010

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Robotique militaire : Où en sont les russes ?

Androide-militaire-russeL’image a fait le tour du Web. Alors qu’il visitait le centre de recherche de l’Advanced Research Foundation (ARF), l’équivalente russe de la DARPA, Vladimir Putin a eu droit à une démonstration du premier androïde russe de combat.

Une démonstration pendant laquelle le président russe a semblé s’ennuyer profondément en regardant le fier robot faire son parcours du combattant vissé sur son quad. Le robot combattant russe ne semble pas encore à la hauteur des ambitions du Kremlin, il est pourtant le porte drapeau de l’effort de recherche réalisé par la Russie en matière de robotique militaire.

La « DARPA » russe mène ce projet d’androïde de combat avec Android Technics

Créé en 2012 sur le modèle du DARPA, l’ARF finance divers programme de recherche tant dans les domaines de la physique, de la médecine, de l’informatique, des télécommunications, de diverses technologies militaires. Parmi les programmes sur lesquels l’ARF communique, des recherches sur des robots imitant les animaux pour se déplacer, des insectes robotisés, etc.

L'androïde russe sur le point de partir en mission devant le président russe Putin.

L’androïde russe sur le point de partir en mission devant le président russe Putin (source: ARF).

L’androïde soldat présenté à Putin a été réalisé par Android Technics, un laboratoire en robotique anthropoïde, le premier du genre en Russie, créé en 2013, mais en fait l’héritier des travaux de la « Scientific and Production Association » russe. Ce laboratoire est déjà à l’origine d’une impressionnante série de robots, dont l’AR-600, un modèle très ressemblant à notre robot guerrier, le MR-400 monté sur roues, ou encore l’étonnant SR-200, robot de téléprésence. Selon Russia Today (RT) qui n’a diffusé qu’une petite partie de la démonstration de ce soldat androïde, outre son parcours en quad, celui-ci a été capable d’ouvrir le feu avec un revolver.

De multiples projets menés en parallèle avec un seul but : rattraper les Etats-Unis

battle-robots-russia

Le blindé robotisé qui assurera peut-être la défense des sites de lancement de missiles nucléaires russes à partir de 2020 (Source : Ministère de la Défense de Russie).

Outre ce projet d’androïde, la Russie mène plusieurs projets de développement de robots militaires en parallèle. Ainsi le « Moscow Times » a dévoilé voici quelques semaine un projet de blindé robotisé. Celui-ci est en cours de test dans la région d’Astrakhan. Ce blindé sera amené à protéger les sites de lancement de missiles nucléaires de l’armée russe à l’horizon 2020, si on en croit l’article.

Enfin, l’Université Bauman de Moscou développe depuis plusieurs années une gamme de robots de reconnaissance et de déminage comparable aux Packbot et SUGV que fournit iRobot à l’armée américaine. En 2009, ses premières réalisations ont été publiquement dévoilées, notamment un robot lourdement armé. L’ambition affichée par la Russie était alors de rattraper les Etats-Unis.

 

Sources :

« Russian avatar cyborg, crack shot & quad bike rider, meets Putin (VIDEO) », Russia Today, 21 janvier 2015

« Russian Battle Robots Near Testing for Military Use », The Moscow Times, 2 janvier 2015

« Army of the Future: Russian combat Robots », Russia Today, 30 janvier 2010

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.