Retail: robots to conquer outlets

fellowrobots_oshbotPar un curieux hasard de l’actualité, plusieurs annonces importantes relatives à la robotique dans le secteur de la distribution se sont succédé cette semaine. Nestle Japon a ainsi annoncé By a curious coincidence the news, several major announcements regarding robotics in the distribution sector have succeeded this week. Nestle Japan has announced its plan to deploy 1,000 robots Pepper to sing the praises of Nespresso capsules in the country. Yesterday was the US Lowe’s and specializes in DIY Orchard Supply OSHbot who unveiled the sign. Two copies of this telepresence robot that will walk the aisles of the point of sale of San Diego to help the DIY Sunday. A new category of service robot is perhaps being born, the robot vendor.

First major deployments announced in Japan

20 Pepper Aldebaran robots will be deployed by the end of the year by Nestle Japan, with a target of 1,000 outlets equipped in 2015 .

20 Pepper Aldebaran robots will be deployed by the end of the year by Nestle Japan, with a target of 1,000 outlets equipped in 2015 .

Softbank, with the deployment of robots Pepper Aldebaran in 70 of its retail outlets mobile in Japan, showed the way. Aldebaran largest shareholder, Softbank had an interest in demonstrating the value of such a robot in the distribution. With good reason since the process has attracted Nestle. The food giant put on the same Japanese Pepper to convert to the benefits of coffee capsule with 1,000 robots Pepper who will survey the Japanese selling points to offer a Nespresso to otaku.

On the other side of the Pacific, Lowe’s will max out Softbank with a first deployment of robots, but on a small scale. Only one of its outlets Orchard Supply in San Diego will host two robots OSHbot. Much less advanced than Pepper, this robot is a robot with no arms relatively conventional telepresence robots designed by Fellow who has touch screens and cameras. A relatively simple robot, able to move the shelves, but also to connect the customer with a human seller via videoconference if the client need a real expert DIY advice.

A robot in a point of sale, not a completely new idea

Geminoid in a window of a Japanese department store.

Geminoid in a window of a Japanese department store.

Replace sellers by robots is not a totally new idea. There are 3 years, the Japanese brand Takishimiya installed a hyper-realistic android showcased at Valentine’s Day. One troubling “Geminoid” by Dr. Hiroshi Ishiguro, whose main role was to create a buzz around the store and not replace the position of human seller. Less spectacular but perhaps more ambitious, the project researchers from Carnegie Mellon and Intel who unveiled a demonstrator in 2012 whose purpose was to guide visitors in a clothing store.

Even more surprising, the beginning of the year opened a fashion store a new type in Seattle. Hointer called, this new brand has completely redesigned its customer experience by automating the extreme. One model of each garment is exposed but it has a QR code and NFC chip.

The selling point according Hointer: mobile delivery and automatic fitting room. Need vendor's point of sale ...

The selling point according Hointer: mobile delivery and automatic fitting room. Need vendor’s point of sale …

The buyer chooses the one he wants to try via the installed on his smartphone and the selected item is automatically delivered in one of the shop fitting cabins in less than 30 seconds mobile application. A good size évidemment.Il there needs no human intervention in the process and the operation of this strange store is directly related to a mini logistics center site E-Commerce. Nothing surprising, the founder of Hointer is none other than Dr. Nadia Shouraboura, the former head of the Supply Chain Amazon. ..

The inhumanity of the outlet store Hointer foreshadows the future? Probably not, but no doubt robots will gradually find their way into stores. Japan shows the example and the relative normalization of the telepresence robot technology will make this solution more affordable for retailers. It will probably get used to these strange cross sales assistants rolling in the aisles of supermarkets in the coming years.

Sources :

“John Oliver Warns About the New Lowe’s Robot Sales Assistants”, Slate, November 3, 2014

“Nestle ‘hiring’ 1,000 robots to sell espresso machines”, JapanToday, October 30, 2014

“The Future of Shopping has Arrived and its Name is OSHbot”, Communiqué Lowe’s, October 28 2014

“Three Reasons Why Robots Will Start Replacing Retail Workers”, Business Insider, March 13, 2014

“US retailer Hointer uses robots to deliver your selections to the fitting room”, Retail-Innovation

“Carnegie Mellon researchers develop robot that takes inventory, helps you find aisle four”, Engadget, June 30, 2012

“Robots Invade Humanity’s Last Hope: Retail”, Tofugu, 2011

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Distribution : Les robots à la conquête des points de vente

fellowrobots_oshbotPar un curieux hasard de l’actualité, plusieurs annonces importantes relatives à la robotique dans le secteur de la distribution se sont succédé cette semaine. Nestle Japon a ainsi annoncé sont intention de déployer 1.000 robots Pepper pour vanter les mérites des capsules Dolce Gusto dans tout le pays. Hier, c’était l’américain Lowe’s et son enseigne spécialisée dans le bricolage Orchard Supply qui dévoilait le OSHbot. Deux exemplaires de ce robot de téléprésence qui va parcourir les allées de son point de vente de San Diego pour venir en aide aux bricoleurs du dimanche. Une nouvelle catégorie de robot de service est peut-être en train de naître, celle du robot vendeur.

Le Japon en pointe sur les premiers déploiements

20 robots Aldebaran Pepper vont être déployés d'ici la fin de l'année par Nestle au  Japon, avec un objectif de 1.000 points de vente équipés en 2015.

20 robots Aldebaran Pepper vont être déployés d’ici la fin de l’année par Nestle au Japon, avec un objectif de 1.000 points de vente équipés en 2015.

Softbank, avec le déploiement de robots Pepper d’Aldebaran dans 70 de ses points de vente de mobiles au Japon, a montré la voie. Premier actionnaire d’Aldebaran, Softbank avait tout intérêt à démontrer l’intérêt d’un tel robot dans la distribution. Avec raison puisque la démarche a séduit Nestle. Le géant de l’agroalimentaire mise sur le même Pepper pour convertir les japonais aux bienfaits de son café en capsule avec 1.000 robots Pepper qui vont arpenter les points de vente japonais pour proposer un Dolce Gusto aux otakus.
De l’autre côté du Pacifique, Lowe’s va emboiter le pas à Softbank avec un premier déploiement de robots, mais à petite échelle. Seulement un de ses points de vente Orchard Supply à San Diego va accueillir 2 robots OSHbot. Bien moins évolué que le Pepper, ce robot sans bras est un robot de téléprésence relativement classique conçu par Fellow robots qui dispose d’écrans tactiles et de caméras. Un robot relativement simple, capable de se déplacer dans les rayons, mais aussi de mettre en relation le client avec un vendeur humain via visioconférence si le client à besoin du conseil d’un véritable expert en bricolage.

Un robot en point de vente, une idée pas totalement nouvelle

Un Geminoid en vitrine d'un grand magasin japonais.

Un Geminoid en vitrine d’un grand magasin japonais.

Remplacer les vendeurs par des robots n’est pas une idée totalement nouvelle. Il y a 3 ans, l’enseigne japonaise Takishimiya installait un androïde hyper-réaliste en vitrine lors de la St Valentin. Un des troublants « Geminoid » du Dr. Hiroshi Ishiguro, dont le rôle principal était de créer le buzz autour du magasin et non pas remplacer un poste de vendeur humain. Moins spectaculaire mais sans doute plus ambitieux, le projet des chercheurs de Carnegie Mellon et d’Intel qui avaient dévoilé en 2012 un démonstrateur dont le but était d’orienter les visiteurs dans un magasin de vêtements.

Plus étonnant encore, au début de l’année ouvrait un magasin de mode d’un nouveau type à Seattle. Baptisée Hointer, cette nouvelle enseigne a totalement repensé son parcours client en l’automatisant à l’extrême. Un seul modèle de chaque vêtement est exposé mais celui-ci dispose d’un QR code et d’une puce NFC.

Le point de vente selon Hointer : mobile et livraison automatique en salle d'essayage. Plus besoin de vendeur en point de vente...

Le point de vente selon Hointer : mobile et livraison automatique en salle d’essayage. Plus besoin de vendeur en point de vente…

L’acheteur sélectionne celui qu’il souhaite essayer via l’application mobile installée sur son smartphone et l’article choisi est livré automatiquement dans l’une des cabines d’essayage du magasin en moins de 30 secondes. A la bonne taille, évidemment.Il n’y a besoin d’aucune intervention humaine dans le processus et le fonctionnement de cet étrange magasin s’apparente directement à un mini centre logistique de site de E-Commerce. Rien de surprenant à cela, la fondatrice de Hointer n’est autre que le Dr. Nadia Shouraboura, l’ancienne responsable de la Supply Chain d’Amazon. ..
L’inhumanité du point de vente Hointer préfigure le magasin du futur ? Sans doute pas, mais nul doute que les robots vont peu à peu trouver leur place dans les points de vente. Le Japon montre l’exemple et la relative banalisation de la technologie du robot de téléprésence va rendre cette solution de plus en plus abordable pour les enseignes. Il faudra sans doute s’habituer à croiser ces étranges assistants de vente glissant dans les allées des grandes surfaces dans les années à venir.

Sources :

« John Oliver Warns About the New Lowe’s Robot Sales Assistants », Slate, 3 novembre 2014
« Nestle ‘hiring’ 1,000 robots to sell espresso machines », JapanToday, 30 octobre 2014
« The Future of Shopping has Arrived and its Name is OSHbot », Communiqué Lowe’s, 28 octobre 2014
« Three Reasons Why Robots Will Start Replacing Retail Workers », Business Insider, 13 mars 2014
« US retailer Hointer uses robots to deliver your selections to the fitting room », Retail-Innovation
« Carnegie Mellon researchers develop robot that takes inventory, helps you find aisle four », Engadget, 30 juin 2012
« Robots Invade Humanity’s Last Hope: Retail », Tofugu, 2011

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.