New social robots: Welcome to the era of robotic fun

BuddyThe lightning success of the campaign Indiegogo Buddy the robot has shown, the public has a crush on the friendly robots, fun, fun. Not necessarily the most advanced in terms of artificial intelligence, not the most complex mechanical terms nor the most powerful, a new generation of robots arrive. They will not be able to clean, prepare meals, but they will have fun, it’s a whole new generation of robots is about to hit the market because Buddy is not the only one its species.

A new generation of social robots is being marketed


In the 50s , domestic robot of the future was represented in the film by white metal tin box of cash, roughly humanoid. Forbidden Planet Robby the robot is probably the most successful example of this vision … which probably never happen. The domestic robot as it currently draws will be more fun because the sympathetic Buddy will not be the only one of its kind. The Jibo has itself also on card Indigogo and Alonso Martinez, character designer at Pixar designed Mira, devoid of a robot arm, leg or even casters to move but which nevertheless show an unusual expressiveness. Purists will say that these robots are just digital tablet on wheels but Buddy, Jibo, Mira, can be added to the Personal Robot Robotbase and sophisticated Pepper Aldebaran Robotics, fauna social robots like you need to call now is growing up.

The digital tablet has completely redefined the concept of social robot

MIT-Nexi

The expressive robot Nexi of the MIT Media Lab.

This concept of social robot, ie designed primarily for interacting with humans, is not entirely new. Since 2009, the Media Lab of MIT operates the Nexi robot, a robot the researchers classified as a robot MDS (Mobile Dexterous Social). One can also classify the Nabaztag rabbit created in 2005 by the French or even the Purple Aldebaran Nao search, the Pleo dinosaur as well as the series of robots Karpar created by researchers from the University of Hertfordshire. Humans nickname created for communicating with autistic children.

The big difference of this new generation happens is that, apart from the minimalist Mira, these robots rely on a digital tablet to ensure the essential interaction with their users.

The Jibo project has raised $ 3.7 million on Indiegogo in September 2014.

The Jibo project has raised $ 3.7 million on Indiegogo in September 2014.

A clever way to communicate with the user and more economical than providing the robot arm, legs or mobile face. A mild solution of electrically, mechanically and has the great advantage of being able to run applications like the “apps” for smartphones, allowing manufacturers to robots set up an App Store dedicated to their robots and therefore both enrich their behaviors and incidentally create a business model over time. The approach is so appealing that we find today on robots more vocationally oriented as Pepper of Aldebaran, Baxter and Sawyer Rethink Robotics or the butler robot SaviOne Californian Savoike.
Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“Pixar Guy Makes Adorable Peek-A-Boo Robot”, Simplebotics, July 10, 2015

“Video Friday: Your New Buddy, Atlas Fast Walking, and Robot Deception”, IEEE Spectrum, July 10, 2015

“Robotbase’s Personal Robot Promises Tons of Features, Impressive Hardware”, IEEE Spectrum, January 21, 2015

“Social robots: our charismatic friends in an automated future”, Wired, April 2, 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Nouveaux robots sociaux : Bienvenue dans l’ère de la robotique ludique

BuddyLe succès éclair de la campagne Indiegogo du robot Buddy l’a montré, le grand public en pince pour les robots sympathiques, amusants, ludiques. Pas forcément les plus évolués en termes d’intelligence artificielle, pas les plus complexes en termes mécanique ni les plus puissants, une nouvelle génération de robots arrivent. Ceux-ci ne seront pas capables de faire le ménage, préparer vos repas, mais ceux-ci vont amuseront, c’est une toute nouvelle générations de robots qui s’apprête à arriver sur le marché car Buddy n’est pas le seul de son espèce.

Une nouvelle génération de robots sociaux est en cours de commercialisation

Dans les années 50, le robot domestique du futur était représenté dans les film par des espèces de boite de conserve de métal blanc, plus ou moins humanoïdes. Robby le robot de Planète Interdite est certainement l’exemple le plus réussi de cette vision… qui ne se produira probablement jamais. Le robot domestique tel qu’il se dessine actuellement sera bien plus ludique car le sympathique Buddy ne sera pas le seul de son espèce. Le Jibo a lui-aussi cartonné sur Indigogo et Alonso Martinez, concepteur de personnages chez Pixar a dessiné le Mira, un robot dénué de bras, de jambe ou même de roulettes pour se déplacer mais qui fait pourtant preuve d’une expressivité hors du commun. Les puristes diront que ces robots ne sont que des tablette numériques à roulettes mais au Buddy, Jibo, Mira, on peut ajouter le Personal Robot de Robotbase et le très sophistiqué Pepper d’Aldebaran Robotics, la faune des robots sociaux comme il faut les appeler maintenant, est en train de grandir.

La tablette numérique a totalement redéfini le concept de robot social

MIT-Nexi

Le robot expressif Nexi du Media Lab.

Ce concept de robot social, c’est à dire conçu essentiellement pour interagir avec les humains, n’est pas totalement nouveau. Depuis 2009, le Media Lab du MIT exploite le robot Nexi, un robot que les chercheurs ont classifié comme un robot MDS (Mobile Dexterous Social). On peut aussi classer le lapin Nabaztag créé en 2005 par le français Violet ou encore le Nao d’Aldebaran dans cette catégorie, le dinosaure Pleo de même que la série de robots Karpar créé par les chercheurs de l’université de Hertfordshire. Des pseudo humains créé pour communiquer avec les enfants autiste.

La grande différence de cette nouvelle génération qui arrive, c’est que, à part le très minimaliste Mira, ces robots s’appuient sur une tablette numérique pour assurer l’essentiel des interactions avec leurs utilisateurs.

Le projet Jibo a levé 3,7 millions de dollars sur Indiegogo en septembre 2014.

Le projet Jibo a levé 3,7 millions de dollars sur Indiegogo en septembre 2014.

Un moyen astucieux pour communiquer avec l’utilisateur et bien plus économique que le doter le robot de bras, de jambes ou d’un visage mobile. Une solution légère du point de vue électrique, mécanique et qui présente le gros intérêt de pouvoir exécuter des applications à la manière des « apps » des smartphones, ce qui permet aux constructeurs de robots de mettre en place un App Store dédié à leurs robots et donc à la fois enrichir leurs comportements et accessoirement créer un business modèle sur la durée. L’approche est tellement séduisante qu’on la retrouve aujourd’hui sur des robots à vocation plus professionnelle comme le Pepper d’Aldebaran, les Baxter et Sawyer de Rethink Robotics ou encore le robot maître d’hôtel SaviOne du californien Savoike.

Sources :

« Pixar Guy Makes Adorable Peek-A-Boo Robot », Simplebotics, 10 juillet 2015

« Video Friday: Your New Buddy, Atlas Fast Walking, and Robot Deception », IEEE Spectrum, 10 juillet 2015

« Robotbase’s Personal Robot Promises Tons of Features, Impressive Hardware », IEEE Spectrum, 21 janvier 2015

« Social robots: our charismatic friends in an automated future », Wired, 2 avril 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.