Robots that learn by watching YouTube, it’s now!

BaxterThis announcement should alarm a little more all those who fear progress these last months in artificial intelligence. The consequences of the work of researchers from the University of Maryland and the NICTA Australian research centre are potentially enormous. In a few days, they will present the results of their research at the next conference of the AAAI (Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence). These researchers in artificial intelligence are able to teach a robot Baxter to cook… just watching videos of kitchen on YouTube!

An application of Machine Learning: decrypt YouTube videos

Today to learn how to use software, Discover tips and tricks for tinkering or learn a recipe, the best way is still to take a look on YouTube to find a tutorial. And that is perhaps what will someday machines to imitate us. Researchers have thus analyze scenes YouTube to a robot to teach him to reproduce recipes.

Analysis of a Youtube scene through the approach which will be presented by researchers at the University of Maryland the next Conference of the AAAI.

Analysis of a Youtube scene through the approach which will be presented by researchers at the University of Maryland the next Conference of the AAAI.

Their research is based on the CNN analysis (” convolutional neural network”»»), a Machine Learning technique well known for the recognition of forms. This allows the robot to identify objects and movements in the video arena. This image analysis, researchers have added algorithms of elements of the video scene as well as a semantic algorithm in order to connect these actions between them and allow the robot to replicate what he saw on the screen.
Researchers will present the results of their work at the end of this month. If this approach keeps its promises, they will have made a significant step in what remains a major problem of modern robotics, their learning.

 
Translation : Bing Translator
 

Sources :

“Robots can now learn to cook just like you do: by watching YouTube videos”, VentureBeat, January 3, 2015

“Robot Learning Manipulation Action Plans by “Watching” Unconstrained Videos
from the World Wide Web”, Research paper, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Des robots qui apprennent en regardant YouTube, c’est maintenant !

BaxterCette annonce devrait alarmer un peu plus tous ceux qui ont peur des progrès accomplis ces derniers mois en intelligence artificielle. Les conséquences  des travaux des chercheurs de l’université de Maryland et du NICTA, centre de recherche australien, sont potentiellement énormes. Dans quelques jours, ceux-ci vont présenter les résultats de leurs recherches lors de la prochaine conférence de l’AAAI (Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence). Ces chercheurs en intelligence artificielle sont parvenus à apprendre à un robot Baxter à cuisiner… simplement en regardant des vidéos de cuisine sur YouTube !

Une application du Machine Learning : décrypter les vidéos YouTube

Aujourd’hui, pour apprendre à utiliser un logiciel, découvrir les trucs et astuces pour bricoler ou encore apprendre une recette de cuisine, le meilleur moyen reste encore de jeter un œil sur YouTube pour trouver un tutorial. Et c’est peut-être bien ce que feront un jour les machines pour nous imiter. Les chercheurs ont ainsi fait analyser des scènes YouTube à un robot pour lui apprendre à reproduire des recettes de cuisine.

L'analyse d'une scène Youtube par l'approche présentée par les chercheurs de l'université de Maryland.

L’analyse d’une scène Youtube par l’approche qui sera présentée par les chercheurs de l’université de Maryland lors de la prochaine conférence de l’AAAI.

Leur recherche s’appuie sur l’analyse CNN (« convolutional neural network« ), une technique de Machine Learning bien connue pour la reconnaissance des formes. Celle-ci permet au robot d’identifier les objets et les mouvements sur la scène vidéo. A cette analyse d’image, les chercheurs ont ajouté des algorithmes de des éléments de la scène vidéo ainsi qu’un algorithme sémantique afin de relier ces actions entre elles et permettre au robot de reproduire ce qu’il a vu à l’écran.

Les chercheurs vont présenter les résultats de leurs travaux à la fin de ce mois. Si cette approche tient ses promesses, ils auront fait un pas significatifs dans ce qui reste un problème majeur de la robotique moderne, leur apprentissage.

 

Sources :

« Robots can now learn to cook just like you do: by watching YouTube videos », VentureBeat, 3 janvier 2015

« Robot Learning Manipulation Action Plans by “Watching” Unconstrained Videos
from the World Wide Web », papier de recherche, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.