Rolls-Royce is testing its new generation of turbojet engines

Rolls-Royce-ALPSRolls-Royce is preparing the future. While the engine manufacturer must produce its Trent 1000 at high rate to accompany the rise in power of the Boeing 787 and Airbus A350, he is already preparing the next generation. Rolls-Royce has two parallel research projects: Advance and UltraFan. Fuel economy expected with engines derived from this research could reach 20% and 25%. Expected for 2020/2025, these engines will propel the A330neo or maybe a future A380neo, if there is one day.

New alloys, new manufacturing techniques

Tested on the ground, the Rolls-Royce Trent 1000 ALPS will air in a few days on a Boeing 747 in Tucson, Arizona.

Tested on the ground, the Rolls-Royce Trent 1000 ALPS will air in a few days on a Boeing 747 in Tucson, Arizona.

It is in the United States, at the John C. Stennis Space Center, Rolls-Royce comes to conduct tests of a new blower, it is the first stage of the compressor low pressure recognizable by its blue sky color rather unusual. The blades are painted for good reason, they are not titanium, as usually, but in in composite CTi (carbon/titanium). Brought by these new blades weight gain is very significant: Rolls-Royce hopes to alleviate its 1.500 pounds (approximately 700 kg) by aircraft engines. The engine manufacturer hope 20% fuel savings thanks to this new material.
If Rolls-Royce unveiled its manufacturing methods to produce these blades ultra-light, composite ITCS themselves are of a titanium matrix printed by Fusion selective laser (SLM technology) then “wrapped” carbon fibre.
In parallel to this “Advance” program, the engine manufacturer explores another track: it will equip its future engines of a reducer. A species of gearbox which allows the fan to rotate at a different speed than the rest engine. This technology Geared Turbofan (GTF) was originally developed by the American Pratt & Witney for the PW1000G, one of the engines of the Airbus 3200neo. Renamed UltraFan by Rolls-Royce, this technology will enable the engine manufacturer to increase significantly the rate of dilution of its next Jet (amount of cold air from the hot gases) and thus to reduce the consumption of the engine. Therefore, Rolls-Royce will reach 25% of expected savings.

Translation : Bing Translator
Sources :

“Rolls-Royce tests composite fan systems for Advance and UltraFan™ at John C. Stennis Space Center”, Rolls-Royce press release, September 1st, 2014
“Rolls-Royce Details Advance And UltraFan Test Plan”, Aviation Week, 25 août 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique, Impression 3D and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Rolls-Royce teste sa nouvelle génération de turboréacteurs

Rolls-Royce-ALPSRolls-Royce prépare l’avenir. Alors que le motoriste doit produire son Trent 1000 à forte cadence pour accompagner la montée en puissance des Boeing 787 et Airbus A350, il prépare déjà la génération suivante. Rolls-Royce mène deux projets de recherche en parallèle : Advance et UltraFan. Les économies de carburant attendues avec les moteurs issues de ces recherches pourraient atteindre 20% et 25%. Attendus pour 2020/2025, ces moteurs propulseront l’A330neo ou peut-être un futur A380neo, s’il existe un jour.

Nouveaux alliages, nouvelles techniques de fabrication

En test au sol, le Rolls-Royce Trent 1000 ALPS prendra l'air dans quelques jours sur un Boeing 747 à Tucson, Arizona.

En test au sol, le Rolls-Royce Trent 1000 ALPS prendra l’air dans quelques jours sur un Boeing 747 à Tucson, Arizona.

C’est aux Etats-Unis, au John C. Stennis Space Center, que Rolls-Royce vient de mener les essais d’une nouvelle soufflante, c’est le premier étage du compresseur basse pression reconnaissable par sa couleur bleue ciel plutôt inhabituelle. Les aubes sont peintes pour une bonne raison, elles ne sont pas en titane, comme habituellement, mais dans en composite CTi (Carbone/Titane). Le gain de poids apporté par ces nouvelles aubes est très significatif : Rolls-Royce espère alléger ses moteurs de 1.500 livres (Environ 700kg) par avion. Le motoriste espère 20% d’économies de carburant grâce à à ce nouveau matériaux.
Si Rolls-Royce n’a pas dévoilé ses méthodes de fabrication pour produire ces aubes ultra-légère, les composites CTi se consistuent d’une matrice de titane imprimée par Fusion sélective laser (technologie SLM) puis « enrobé » de fibres carbone.

En parallèle de ce programme « Advance », le motoriste explore une autre piste : il va équiper ses futurs moteurs d’un réducteur. Une espèce de boite de vitesse qui permet à cette soufflante de tourner à une vitesse différente de celle du reste moteur. Cette technologie du Geared Turbofan (GTF) a initialement été développée par l’américain Pratt&Witney pour son PW1000G, l’un des moteurs de l’Airbus 3200neo. Rebaptisée UltraFan par Rolls-Royce, cette technologie permettra au motoriste d’augmenter de manière significative le taux de dilution de ses prochains turboréacteurs (quantité d’air froid  par rapport aux gaz chauds) et ainsi réduire la consommation du moteur. C’est ainsi que Rolls-Royce atteindra les 25% d’économies attendues.

Les moteurs Rolls-Royce de la génération « Advance » doivent être commercialisés à partir de 2020, les « UltraFan » à partir de 2025.

Sources :

« Rolls-Royce tests composite fan systems for Advance and UltraFan™ at John C. Stennis Space Center », Communiqué Rolls-Royce, 1er Septembre 2014

« Rolls-Royce Details Advance And UltraFan Test Plan », Aviation Week, 25 août 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.