Paris Air Show 2015: Innovation breath on civilian drones

Safran-PatrollerThe 2015 edition of the “Paris Air Show” has been very poor in terms of military drones. Unlike 2013, the “Neuron” European remained in Italy due to tests, Airbus Defence and Space packed up his model of Talarion and BAE Systems and Dassault their Telemos. The Americans have not even brought their Reaper in Paris: all their allies already want! For now, it is on the side of small businesses and startups that we must seek innovation.

Europe military drones, down

No military drones command at the Paris Air Show. The French army must choose between Watchkeeper Thales, Sagem Patroller the Shadow and M2, the American Textron presented by Airbus Defence and Space France is still studying the three options.

 Airbus Defense & amp; Space has introduced At the Paris Air Show an armed version of its Tanan drone.

Airbus Defense & amp; Space has introduced At the Paris Air Show an armed version of its Tanan drone.

As for the European successor to the American Reaper, the UAV MALE (Medium Altitude / Long Endurance) common between Dassault Aviation, Airbus and Finmeccanica is still at the draft stage he already knows turbulence. Tom Enders, Airbus President has threatened to walk out of the project to multiple national pressures on the future European UAV. Paradoxically, it is the small “LH Aviation” which announced the first sale of dronisée version of the LH-10 Ellipse single engine. A copy must be delivered to the police in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) while a hundred copies could be produced under license in India.

The military UAV sector is in transition in Europe. and fortunately Piaggio has provided Hammerhead P.IHH the colors of 32 ° Stormo of the Aeronautica Militare Italiana. A drone MALE intermediary who faced the lounge at the Anka Turkish Aerospace Industries and Israeli drones Hermes 900 Elbit Systems and IAI Heron Super.

Innovation in civilian drones

Parrot-BourgetAs for civilian drones, Parrot this year yet, installed his “drones aviary” on the tarmac at Le Bourget. It was possible to attend demonstrations of BeBop, one of the last models of the French but also the Parrot Skycontroller, its new wireless remote control device for the BeBop drone. This can particularly be coupled to virtual reality goggles Cinemizer Zeiss and Sony HMZ 3. After acquiring Airinov, it is likely that this Parrot will be even greater in the next edition of the Paris Air Show.

Besides Parrot, a recreation leader drone, many startups have come to present their latest achievements in the maze of aisles. Tekever has presented its AR3 Net Ray, whose endurance drone can reach up to 10 flight hours. It was tested as part of FRONTEX, the marker missions boats of migrants in the Mediterranean. The Toulouse Concept Airborne, he unveiled his plan on the Bourget to parachute from a drone aircraft. What give the lie to a small electric drone few kg.

Among the most original drones presented at Le Bourget, the phosphorescent drone Dronavia, an Eclipse 6N template for nighttime inspections.Thales StratobusNevertheless, the project Stratobus Thales is the most ambitious. Halfway between Loon Google project and the draft stratospheric UAV Facebook, this solar airship must be between 70 to 100 meters in length, 20-30 meters in diameter and a payload of 250 kg. It can stay at a stationary location to 20,000 meters above sea level … for 5 full years. Led by Thales Alenia Space with Zodiac Marine and CEA-Liten this project aims commercialization in 2020.

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“Drone européen : Airbus menace de se retirer du projet”, La Tribune, June 19 2015

“Piaggio Pitches Hammerhead as Interim MALE”, DefenseNews, June 16, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Salon du Bourget 2015 : L’innovation souffle sur les drones civils

Safran-PatrollerL’édition 2015 du « Paris Air Show » a été bien pauvre en termes de drones militaires. Contrairement à 2013, le « Neuron » européen est resté en Italie pour cause de tests, Airbus Defense and Space a remballé sa maquette de Talarion et Dassault et BAE Systems leur Telemos. Les américains n’ont même pas apporté leur Reaper à Paris : tous leurs alliés en veulent déjà ! Pour l’instant, c’est du côté des petites entreprises et des startups qu’il faut aller chercher l’innovation.

L’Europe des drones militaires en panne

Pas de commande de drones militaire lors du salon du Bourget. L’armée française qui doit choisir entre le Watchkeeper de Thales, le Patroller de Sagem et le Shadow M2, de l’américain Textron présenté par Airbus Defense and Space France étudie encore ces trois options.

Airbus Defense & Space a présenté a Bourget une version armée de son drone Tanan.

Airbus Defense & Space a présenté a Bourget une version armée de son drone Tanan.

Quant au successeur européen au Reaper américain, le drone MALE (Moyenne Altitude / Longue Endurance) commun entre Dassault Aviation, Airbus et Finmeccanica est encore au stade du projet qu’il connait déjà des turbulences. Tom Enders, le président d’Airbus vient de menacer de claquer la porte du projet devant les multiples pressions nationales qui pèsent sur le futur drone européen. Paradoxalement, c’est le petit « LH Aviation » qui a annoncé la première vente de la version dronisée de son monomoteur  LH-10 Ellipse. Un exemplaire doit être livré à la police des Emirats Arabes Unis (EAU) tandis qu’une centaine d’exemplaires pourraient être produits sous licence en Inde.

Le secteur des drones militaires est en phase de transition en Europe. et heureusement que Piaggio a apporté son P.IHH Hammerhead aux couleurs du 32° Stormo de l’Aeronautica Militare Italiana. Un drone MALE intermédiaire qui a fait face sur le salon à l’Anka de Turkish Aerospace Industries et aux drones israéliens Hermes 900 d’Elbit Systems et le Super Heron d’IAI.

De l’innovation dans les drones civils

Parrot-BourgetDu côté des drones civils, Parrot a cette édition encore, installée sa « volière à drones » sur le tarmac du Bourget. Il était possible d’y assister aux démonstrations du BeBop, l’un des derniers modèles du français, mais aussi le Parrot Skycontroller, son nouveau dispositif de télécommande WiFi pour le drone BeBop. Celui-ci peut notamment être couplé aux lunettes de réalité virtuelles Zeiss Cinemizer et Sony HMZ 3. Après l’acquisition d’Airinov, il est probable que la présence de Parrot sera plus importante encore lors de la prochaine édition du Paris Air Show.

Outre Parrot, un des leader du drone de loisirs, de nombreuses startups sont venu présenter leurs dernières réalisations dans le dédale des allées du salon. Tekever a ainsi présenté son AR3 Net Ray, un drone dont l’endurance peut atteindre jusqu’à 10 heures de vol. Celui-ci a été testé dans le cadre de FRONTEX, les missions de repérage des embarcations des migrants en méditerranée. Le toulousain Airborne Concept, lui, a dévoilé sur le Bourget son projet de parachuter un drone depuis un avion. De quoi donner de l’allonge à un petit drone électrique de quelques kg.

Parmi les drones les plus originaux présentés au Bourget, le drone phosphorescent de Dronavia, un modèle Eclipse 6N destiné aux inspections nocturnes. Thales StratobusNéanmoins, c’est le projet Stratobus de Thales qui est le plus ambitieux. A mi-chemin entre le projet Loon de Google et le projet de drone stratosphérique de Facebook, ce dirigeable solaire doit mesurer entre 70 à 100 mètres de longueur, 20 à 30 mètres de diamètre pour une charge utile de 250 Kg. Celui-ci pourra rester à un emplacement stationnaire à 20.000 metres d’altitude pendant… 5 années complètes. Mené par Thales Alenia Space avec Zodiac Marine et le CEA-Liten ce projet vise une commercialisation en 2020.

Sources :

« Drone européen : Airbus menace de se retirer du projet », La Tribune, 19 juin 2015

« Piaggio Pitches Hammerhead as Interim MALE », DefenseNews, 16 juin 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.