Paris Air Show 2015: 3D printing takes off

A350_XWBIf the stars of the 2015 edition of the Paris Air Show are primarily planes, among the 2,200 exhibitors, all major players in the aerospace present had a thematic 3D printing or rather ” additive manufacturing “to present to their clients, their partners. Airbus course which revealed that 1,000 pieces of its new A350 XWB had been produced in 3D printing, but also Safran in Paris that brought his first turbojet 100% “additive” and even engineering companies like Altran and that Segula today are industrial in this development, besides some dynamic startups that boost the development of this new sector.

3D printing, a new way to produce aerospace components, another way of conceiving

SafranThe phase where 3D printing was still one of rapid prototyping tools is making room for the industrial phase. While the jet engine, which is actually an APU, directed by Microturbo and researchers from Monash University is still a demonstrator, but 3D printing is taking hold in the engines and in a number of complex parts. The Paris Air Show was the opportunity to discover some examples. Evidence of this trend, Safran and Dassault Systèmes have announced an alliance to develop a solution that will help ensure a “digital” continuity of aviation parts, from design to their additive manufacturing.

Model of reactor matte 1 / 8th Sogeclair presented by the Bourget Air Show 2015. (Photo: Sogeclair)

3D printed model of engine pylon presented by Sogeclair presented at Paris Air Show 2015. (Photo: Sogeclair)

A brilliant illustration of what 3D printing will change in the aviation sector was presented on the stand of French Sogeclair. It presents a model of a reactor mat for an Airbus A320 type aircraft. The original play is 6 meters long and weighs no less than 450 kg and is an assembly of 654 pieces. Redesigned for 3D printing, including with the help of Altair software, for the same mechanical characteristics, the piece weighs more than 350 kg and above is no longer made up only 14 pieces! The model presented was printed on an EOS polyamide printer, but the original, if installed one day under the wing of an airplane will be produced in Inconel 718, an alloy commonly used in aeronautics. In the same approach, Segula present on its stand of a piston helium Ariane 5 launcher prodallée one day under the wing of an aircraft will produiuit in a version by its engineers redesigned to be produced in a single piece . It was produced by a titanium 3D Systems printer.

The main 3D printer manufacturers are Bourget but also innovative startups

The pop3d 3D printer designed to operate in weightlessness by engineers from Altran Italia (Photo: Altran).

The pop3d 3D printer designed to operate in weightlessness by engineers from Altran Italia (Photo: Altran).

Altran rival Segula, chose to bring in a Paris production of Altran Italia, the pop3d. This 3D printer prototype was designed for ESA to run weightless. It will take one day the way of space for installation in the international station.

Among the manufacturers of 3D printers has to be represented at the Paris Air Show, Figure 3D Systems, came with his Creatix3D distributor. The opportunity to see in action the imposing 400 ProX, a true production plant in cabable cube to produce metal parts of relatively large dimensions. Stratasys his rival made the trip and present some of its achievements in the aviation sector with 1,000 pieces made for the A350, or United Launch Alliance (ULA), a joint venture between Boeing and Lockheed Martin, produces parts intended for flight in 3D printing for the Atlas V rocket, which would save a million dollars a year for the company.

MobileCLADThe Prodways French, French champion of 3D printing and subsidiary Gorgé group was unfortunately not the Paris Air Show, for against Alsatian Beam presented its additive technology CLAD available including a machine three to five mobile axes. After Chromalloy, the startup landed a first contract with Safran that will install the first machine in its R & amp center; D Safran Tech.

Besides Stratasys and 3D Systems, another major manufacturer of 3D printer has not crossed the Atlantic but the Rhine, EOS. The German manufacturer, which designs 3D printers capable of producing parts in different alloys used in aircraft is already present among industry suppliers. On the Paris Air Show, it presented a new evolution of its EOSINT P 396 printer whose production capacity was increased by 30%. He also announced new high strength polymers for these machines. The fair was an opportunity for him to detail two major contracts, one with the engine manufacturer MTU Aero Engines, the second with Bell Helicopters.

Parts made of 3D printing in the PurePower 1100 Pratt & amp; Whitney A320neo.

Parts made of 3D printing in the PurePower 1100 Pratt & amp; Whitney A320neo.

MTU has announced plans to produce with its EOS 3D printer parts for engines Pratt & amp; Whitney PurePower PW1100G-JM engine that will be fitted to production of Airbus A320neo. The German began using 3D printing 10 years ago and now has 7 large capacity EOS printers. Industrial estimates that within 15 years, a significant part of aircraft engine components will be produced by additive manufacturing techniques.

For its part, Bell Helicopters has established EOSINT P 730 EOSINT P printers and a system including 760 to produce pipes for air-conditioning systems of its machines and spare parts. Certified by the civil aviation parts. Bell Helicopters announces implement 40 additive manufacturing systems and most are now intended to produce components and final assemblies. We are far from the time when 3D printing only served as designers to create prototypes!

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“How 3D printing is driving efficiency in aviation”, EuroNews, June 11, 2015

“United Launch Alliance saves $1m a year by 3D printing rocket components from plastic”, International Business Times, April 17, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in 3D, Aéronautique, Impression 3D and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Salon du Bourget 2015 : L’impression 3D prend son envol

A350_XWBSi les stars de l’édition 2015 du salon du Bourget restent avant tout les avions, parmi les 2 200 exposants, tous les acteurs majeurs de l’aéronautique présents avaient une thématique impression 3D ou plutôt « additive manufacturing » a présenter à leurs clients, à leurs partenaires. Airbus bien sûr qui a révélé que 1.000 pièces de son tout nouveau A350 XWB avaient été produites en impression 3D, mais aussi Safran qui a amené à Paris son premier turboréacteur 100% « additive » et encore les entreprises d’ingénierie comme Altran et Segula qui accompagnent aujourd’hui les industriels dans cette évolution, sans compter quelques PME dynamiques qui font avancer ce nouveau secteur.

L’impression 3D, une nouvelle manière de produire les pièces aéronautiques, une autre façon de les concevoir

SafranLa phase où l’impression 3D n’était encore qu’un des outils du prototypage rapide est en train de faire place à la phase industrielle. Certes le turboréacteur, qui est en fait un APU, réalisé par Microturbo et les chercheurs de l’université de Monash n’est encore qu’un démonstrateur, mais l’impression 3D est en train de s’imposer dans les moteurs et dans un certain nombre de pièces complexes. Le salon du Bourget a été l’occasion d’en découvrir quelques exemples. Preuve de cette évolution, Safran et Dassault Systèmes ont annoncés une alliance afin de mettre au point une solution qui va permettre d’assurer une continuité « numérique »  des pièces aéronautiques, de la conception jusqu’à leur fabrication additive.

MAquette de mat de réacteur au 1/8e présentée par Sogeclair sur le Salon du Bourget.

Maquette de mat de réacteur au 1/8e présentée par Sogeclair sur le Salon du Bourget 2015. (Photo: Sogeclair)

Une brillante illustration de ce que l’impression 3D va changer dans le secteur aéronautique était présentée sur le stand du français Sogeclair. Celui-ci présente la maquette d’un mat de réacteur pour un avion de type Airbus A320. La pièce originale fait 6 mètres de long, pèse pas moins de 450 kg et représente un assemblage de 654 pièces. Repensée pour l’impression 3D, notamment avec l’aide du logiciel Altair, pour les mêmes caractéristiques mécanique, la pièce ne pèse plus que 350 kg et surtout n’est plus composée que de 14 pièces ! La maquette présentée était imprimée en polyamide sur une imprimante EOS mais l’originale, si elle est installée un jour sous l’aile d’un avion sera produite en Inconel 718, un alliage couramment utilisé en aéronautique. Dans la même démarche, Segula présente sur son stand un piston à hélium du lanceur d’Ariane 5 produit dans une version reconçue par ses ingénieurs afin d’être produite d’une seul pièce. Celle-ci a été produite en titane par une imprimante 3D Systems.

Les principaux constructeurs d’imprimantes 3D sont au Bourget, mais aussi des startups innovantes

L'imprimante 3D POP3D conçue pour fonctionner en apesanteur par les ingénieurs d'Altran Italia.

L’imprimante 3D POP3D conçue pour fonctionner en apesanteur par les ingénieurs d’Altran Italia (Photo: Altran).

Altran, rivale de Segula, a choisi d’amener à Paris une réalisation d’Altran Italia, la POP3D. Ce prototype d’imprimante 3D a été conçue pour l’ESA afin de fonctionner en apesanteur. Elle prendra un jour le chemin de l’espace pour être installée dans la station internationale.

Parmi les constructeurs d’imprimantes 3D a être représentés au Paris Air Show, figure 3D Systems, venu avec son distributeur Creatix3D. L’occasion de voir à l’oeuvre l’imposante ProX 400, une véritable usine de production en cube capable de produire des pièces métal de relativement grandes dimensions. Son rival Stratasys a fait le voyage et présenter quelques-unes de ses réalisations dans le secteur aéronautique dont les 1 000 pièces réalisées pour l’A350, ou encore United Launch Alliance (ULA), la joint venture entre Boeing et Lockheed Martin, produit des pièces destinées pour le vol en impression 3D pour la fusée Atlas V, ce qui représenterait une économie d’un million de dollars par an pour l’entreprise.

MobileCLADLe français Prodways, champion français de l’impression 3D et filiale du groupe Gorgé n’était malheureusement pas sur le salon du Bourget, par contre l’alsacien Beam a présenté sa technologie additive CLAD disponible notamment dans une machine 3 à 5 axes mobile. Après Chromalloy, la startup a décroché un premier contrat auprès de Safran qui va installer une première machine dans son centre de R&D Safran Tech.

Outre Stratasys et 3D Systems, un autre constructeur majeur d’imprimante 3D a traversé non pas l’atlantique mais le Rhin, EOS. Le constructeur allemand, qui conçoit des imprimantes 3D capables de produire des pièces dans différents alliages utilisés en aéronautique est déjà très présent chez les équipementiers du secteur. Sur ce Paris Air Show, il présentait une nouvelle évolution de son imprimante EOSINT P 396 dont la capacité de production a été accrue de 30%. Il a aussi annoncé de nouveaux polymères haute résistance pour ces machines. Le salon a été l’occasion pour lui de détailler deux contrats majeurs, l’un avec le motoriste MTU Aero Engines, le second avec Bell Helicopters.

Des pièces réalisées en impression 3D dans le PurePower 1100 de Pratt&Whitney de l'A320neo.

Des pièces réalisées en impression 3D dans le PurePower 1100 de Pratt&Whitney de l’A320neo.

MTU a annoncé vouloir produire avec ses imprimantes 3D EOS des pièces pour les moteurs Pratt&Whitney PurePower PW1100G-JM, moteur qui seront montés sur les Airbus A320neo de série. L’allemand a commencé à utiliser l’impression 3D voici 10 ans maintenant et dispose de 7 imprimantes EOS de grande capacité. L’industriel estime que d’ici 15 ans, une part significative des composants des moteurs aéronautiques seront produites par des techniques de fabrication additive.

De son côté, Bell Helicopters s’est doté d’imprimantes EOSINT P 730 et un système EOSINT P 760 afin de notamment produire des tubulures pour les systèmes de conditionnement d’air de ses appareils ainsi que des pièces détachées. Des pièces certifiées par l’aviation civile. Bell Helicopters annonce mettre en oeuvre 40 systèmes de fabrication additive et la plupart sont aujourd’hui destinés à produire des composants et des assemblages finaux. On est loin du temps où l’impression 3D ne servait qu’aux designers pour créer des prototypes !

Sources :

« How 3D printing is driving efficiency in aviation », EuroNews, 11 juin 2015

« United Launch Alliance saves $1m a year by 3D printing rocket components from plastic », International Business Times, 17 avril 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans 3D, Aéronautique, Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.