Segway purchased by a manufacturer of Chinese clones

SegwayA few years ago to move in Segway, his Blackberry in your pocket, it was the symbol of ‘trendiness ‘. Now, apart from power a few lazy tourists or give an image more sympathetic to the forces of order, the Segway is somewhat gone out of fashion. Even the president of the company, the millionaire Jimi Heselden, is bored with her toy in the waves of the river Wharfe.
As if the cut was pretty full steps, the American brand, no doubt invited by its powerful Chinese investors was bought by Ninebot, a manufacturer of competitor Segway that American had attacked sued for plagiarism and infringement of patents. Sad epilogue to an innovation that has been unable to find its market.

The means of transport of the future, but what future?

The gyropod and its cousin the gyrowheel are really the means of locomotion of the future? Dean Kamen, the inventor of the Segway was perhaps too soon, is the history of Segway knows a ultimate blip with this acquisition by Ninebot.

The embryo's range of eco-friendly vehicles marketed by Ninebot.

The embryo’s range of eco-friendly vehicles marketed by Ninebot.

Although able to lift $80 million from Xiaomi, Sequoia Capital and Huawei, Segway is its copier that has to be smarter. With his personal Ninebot Elite and its Ninebot One gyroroue, Ninebot Announces sold 54.500 ‘vehicles’ in the world. An impressive figure if it turned out, especially for a company that is still only 280 people, including 38 engineers. The redemption of Segway mechanically up Ninebot as become a leader in this market. In addition to access to the U.S. market, the pioneer of the personal brings a portfolio of 400 patents to which are added the 17 patents held by Chinese.
Segway, including the personal were two times more expensive than those of are competing Chinese (over $ 6,000 vs. $3,500 for a Ninebot Elite) had attempted to sue Chinese manufacturers that offer recent years price clones. Too late for Segway. Maybe it will draw more and more startups U.S. While Chinese companies are more and more present in Silicon Valley and that these investment funds prove to be more enterprising.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Ninebot Limited and Segway Inc. Complete Strategic Combination”, Segway press release, April 15, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile, Robotique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Segway racheté par un fabricant de clones chinois

SegwayIl y a quelques années, se déplacer en Segway, son Blackberry en poche, c’était le symbole même de la « branchitude ». Désormais, à part motoriser quelques touristes paresseux ou donner une image plus sympathique aux forces de l’ordre, le Segway est quelque peu passé de mode. Même le président de l’entreprise, le millionnaire Jimi Heselden, s’est lassé de son jouet dans les flots de la rivière Wharfe.

Comme si la coupe n’était pas assez pleine, la marque américaine, sans doute invitée par ses puissants investisseurs chinois se voit rachetée par Ninebot, un constructeur de gyropodes concurrent que l’américain avait attaqué en justice pour plagiat et violations de brevets. Triste épilogue pour une innovation qui n’a pas su trouver son marché.

Le moyen de locomotion du futur, mais de quel futur ?

Le gyropode et sa cousine la gyroroue sont-ils vraiment des moyens de locomotion du futur ? Dean Kamen, l’inventeur du Segway a peut-être eu raison trop tôt, toujours est-il que l’histoire de Segway connait un ultime soubresaut avec cette acquisition par Ninebot.

L'embryon de gamme de véhicules écologique commercialisée par Ninebot.

L’embryon de gamme de véhicules écologiques commercialisée par Ninebot.

Bien que Segway soit parvenu à lever 80 millions de dollars auprès de Xiaomi, Sequoia Capital et Huawei, c’est son copieur qui a su se montrer plus malin. Avec son gyropode Ninebot Elite et sa gyroroue Ninebot One, Ninebot annonce avoir vendu 54.500 « véhicules » dans le monde. Un chiffre impressionnant s’il est avéré, notamment pour une entreprise qui ne compte encore que 280 personnes, dont 38 ingénieurs. Le rachat de Segway place mécaniquement Ninebot comme leader incontesté de ce marché en devenir. Outre un accès au marché américain, le pionnier du gyropode lui apporte un portefeuille de 400 brevets auquel viennent s’ajouter les 17 brevets détenus par le chinois.

Segway, dont les gyropode étaient deux fois plus chers que ceux de sont concurrent chinois (plus de 6.000 $ contre 3.500 $ pour un Ninebot Elite) avait bien tenté d’attaquer en justice les constructeurs chinois qui proposent depuis quelques années des clones à prix cassé. Trop tard pour Segway. Peut-être que ce sera le sort de plus en plus de startups américaines alors que les entreprises chinoises sont de plus en plus présentes dans la Silicon Valley et que ces fonds d’investissement se montrent de plus en plus entreprenants.

Source : « Ninebot Limited and Segway Inc. Complete Strategic Combination », communiqué de presse Segway, 15 avril 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.