Sikorsky tested a helicopter flown via an “Apps” : The Matrix technology

Sikorsky-MatrixA Sikorsky S-76 had just succeeded an autonomous flight of approximately 50 kilometres between the headquarters of the manufacturer of helicopter, Stratford in Connecticut and airport Robertson of Plainville.

In 2016, to fly a helicopter “drone” has nothing of a technological feat: the military use for years in Afghanistan. Europe is also this automation of the helicopters even though it is not yet marketed for civil helicopters. Yet the Matrix technology experienced by Sikorsky for the DARPA may well revolutionize the helicopter flight training.

Objective of the program ALIAS: transform the UAV helicopters

Named SARA (for Sikorsky Autonomy Research Aircraft), the S-76 looks like all other copies of this medium helicopter, if sensors which it is covered on all sides. This testing machine is used by the American manufacturer search ALIAS (Aircrew Labor In-Cockpit Automation System) program funded by DARPA. US defence to spent $ 8 million in phase 1 of can be programmed in order to droniser a civilian helicopter, the S-76 and a type Black Hawk military helicopter. The Matrix technology is not only to transform into a drone any type of helicopter, but allow a pilot to control it from an application on tablet. The device keeps its classic commands but the pilot may elect to leave the handle to the automation and merely to designate the destination of the flight on its digital tablet. The helicopter will then only take off, browse the flight plan and land at destination. The driver can at any time modify the flight plan.

Sikorsky Matrix AppsThis technology has been dubbed Matrix. The flight of May 23, 2016, between Stratford and Plainville has demonstrated the relevance of the concept, has yet to develop, improve the mobile app and make it portable to other devices. DARPA has to allocate $ 9.8 million for Sikorsky to carry out the second phase of the programme. The approach of Sikorsky, a subsidiary of industry giant Lockheed Martin, converges surprisingly with the concept of the drone with passenger by Chinese Ehang – also controlled by a digital Tablet if you can even call this fly.

Source : “Sikorsky Successfully Completes DARPA ALIAS Phase 1 Competition with Autonomous Flight”, Lockheed-Martin press release, May 24, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

L’américain Sikorsky teste un hélicoptère piloté via une « Apps »

Sikorsky-MatrixUn Sikorsky S-76 vient de réussir un vol autonome d’une cinquantaine de kilomètres entre le siège du fabricant d’hélicoptère, à Stratford dans le Connecticut et l’aéroport Robertson de Plainville.

En 2016, faire voler un hélicoptère « dronisé » n’a plus rien d’un exploit technologique : les militaires en utilisent depuis des années en Afghanistan. L’Europe maîtrise aussi cette robotisation des hélicoptères même si elle n’est pas encore commercialisée pour les hélicoptères civils. Pourtant la technologie Matrix expérimentée par Sikorsky pour la DARPA pourrait bien révolutionner le pilotage des hélicoptères.

Objectif du programme ALIAS : transformer les hélicoptères en drones

Baptisé SARA (pour Sikorsky Autonomy Research Aircraft), ce S-76 ressemble à tous les autres exemplaires de cet hélicoptère moyen, si ce n’est les capteurs dont il est bardé de toutes parts. Cette machine d’essai est utilisée par le constructeur américain dans le cadre du programme de recherche ALIAS (Aircrew Labor In-Cockpit Automation System)  financé par la DARPA. La défense américaine à consacré 8 millions de dollars dans la phase 1 de se programme afin de droniser un hélicoptère civil, ce S-76 ainsi qu’un hélicoptère militaire de type Black Hawk. La technologie baptisée Matrix ne consiste pas uniquement à transformer en drone n’importe quel type d’hélicoptère, mais de permettre à un pilote de le contrôler depuis une application sur tablette. L’appareil conserve ses commandes classiques mais le pilote peut choisir de laisser le manche aux automatismes et se contenter de désigner sur sa tablette numérique la destination du vol. L’hélicoptère va alors décoller seul, parcourir le plan de vol indiqué et se poser à destination. Le pilote peut modifier à tout moment le plan de vol.
Sikorsky Matrix AppsCette technologie a été baptisée Matrix. Le vol du 23 mai 2016 entre Stratford et Plainville a démontré la pertinence du concept, reste encore à la développer, améliorer l’application mobile et la rendre portable sur d’autres appareils. La DARPA vient d’allouer 9,8 millions de dollars à Sikorsky pour mener la seconde phase du programme. L’approche de Sikorsky, filiale du géant industriel Lockheed Martin, converge étonnament avec le concept de drone habité du chinois Ehang, lui-aussi piloté par une tablette numérique si on peut encore appeler cela piloter.

Source : « Sikorsky Successfully Completes DARPA ALIAS Phase 1 Competition with Autonomous Flight », Communiqué de presse Lockheed-Martin, 24 mai 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.