SIS, 3D metal printing for all?

Additive-ManufacturingWho says 3D metal printing, said sintering laser (SLS) or electron beam (EBM). ‘Additive Manufacturing’ techniques that enable parts of multiple metal from aluminum, steel to titanium. Reserved for industrial techniques.
However, researchers are working on a new approach to make 3D printing much more accessible metal. A process that uses a simple inkjet printer.

The opposite process to the traditional metal printing

Selective-Inhibition-Sintering-(SIS)

Les 5 étapes du procédé SIS (Selective Inhibition Sintering) en cours de mise au point par les chercheurs.

Currently, a 3D printer capable of producing metal parts for industrial an investment of several hundreds of thousands of euros. A heavy investment and implementation for production plants. Only, this could well change if the work of the researchers of the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering at the University of Southern California are bearing fruit. They are working on a new Additive Manufacturing technology.
Selective-Inhibition-Sintering-(SIS)Called Selective Inhibition Sintering (SIS), process happens laser or electron beam to solidify metal powder.
The objective is to use a printer to piezoelectric head, printer ink jet well known not to print each layer of the room itself but its outline. Printer mounts, layer-by-layer a mould with a product “inhibitory” chemical in the metal powder. It then passes the entire oven where the metal solidifies and inhibitor disappears, releasing the workpiece. Various inhibitors can be used especially depending on the stall or alloy.
The process is still under development by the University of Southern California but its promise is to lower the cost of a spectacular 3D printer. A “Consumer” printer less than €5,000 to print the piece and its mould. The need for a furnace for sintering limited technology industry but, in addition to the cost differential, this SIS process of other benefits, including a narrowing and deformation smaller parts produced by printing SLS reports.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Novel 3D Printing Process Enables Metal Additive Manufacturing for Consumer Market”, Mary Ann Liebert, Inc., publishers, November 6, 2014

“Selective Inhibition Sintering: The Process for Consumer Metal Additive Manufacturing”, Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. 2014

“Metallic Part Fabrication Using Selective Inhibition Sintering (SIS) “ [pdf], 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Impression 3D and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

SIS, l’impression 3D métal pour tous ?

Additive-ManufacturingQui dit impression 3D métal, dit frittage laser (SLS) ou par faisceau d’électron (EBM). Des techniques d’ « Additive Manufacturing » qui permettent de réaliser des pièces en de multiples métaux, depuis l’aluminium, l’acier jusqu’au titane. Des techniques réservées aux industriels.
Pourtant, des chercheurs travaillent sur une nouvelle approche pour rendre l’impression 3D métal bien plus accessible. Un procédé qui utilise une simple imprimante jet d’encre.

Le procédé inverse à celui de l’impression métal traditionnelle

Actuellement, une imprimante 3D capable de produire des pièces en métal représente pour les industriels un investissement de plusieurs centaines de milliers d’euros. Un lourd investissement et une mise en oeuvre réservée aux ateliers de fabrication. Seulement, cela pourrait bien changer si les travaux des chercheurs du Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering de l’université de Californie du Sud portent leurs fruits. Ceux-ci travaillent sur une nouvelle technologie d’Additive Manufacturing.
Selective-Inhibition-Sintering-(SIS)Baptisée Selective Inhibition Sintering (SIS), leur procédé se passe de laser ou de faisceau d’électron pour solidifier la poudre de métal.
L’objectif est d’utiliser une imprimante à tête piézoélectrique, l’imprimante à jet d’encre bien connue, non pas pour imprimer chaque couche de la pièce elle-même mais son contour. L’imprimante monte, couche par couche un moule avec un produit chimique « inhibiteur » dans la poudre de métal. On passe ensuite l’ensemble au four où le métal se solidifie et l’inhibiteur disparaît, libérant la pièce. Divers inhibiteurs peuvent être utilisés, notamment en fonction du étal ou de l’alliage.
Le procédé est encore en cours de mise au point par l’université de Californie du Sud mais sa promesse est d’abaisser le coût de l’imprimante 3D de manière spectaculaire. Une imprimante « Consumer » à moins de 5.000 € permet d’imprimer la pièce et son moule. Le besoin d’un four pour réaliser le frittage limite la technologie aux industriels mais, outre l’écart du coût, le procédé SIS présente d’autres avantages, notamment un rétrécissement et des déformations plus limité des pièces produites par rapports à l’impression SLS.

Sources :

« Novel 3D Printing Process Enables Metal Additive Manufacturing for Consumer Market », Mary Ann Liebert, Inc., publishers, 6 novembre 2014

« Selective Inhibition Sintering: The Process for Consumer Metal Additive Manufacturing », Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. 2014

« Metallic Part Fabrication Using Selective Inhibition Sintering (SIS) «  [pdf], 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Impression 3D, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.