Skynet reinvents the mailbox for UAVs

SkynetThe first images of projects of deliveries by drones from Amazon and Google showed a repository of packages either with a drone that arises in the garden of the recipient, or who files his charge at the end of a cable. Notoriously inadequate solutions to the urban environment. With its Skynet project, an engineer, Clinton Burchat, imagined a device that everyone benefit from such services delivery, same Sarah Connor whose apartment has no garden.

A project shortlisted for a “Drones for Good” award

The project is part of the 20 semi-finalists of the competition “Drones for Good” launched by the United Arab Emirates. Dubbed Skynet, it solves the problem of delivery of packages by drones. This engineer proposes a system of incorporating the principle of the basketball hoop installed on the balcony of the recipient mailbox. This ‘air’ mailbox is Geolocated by GPS at the time of its installation.
It is via this geolocation that the drone will be able to attend it. Of course, current GPS does not allow the drone to position itself with sufficient precision so that the package does not fall in a vacuum or in the box of the neighbor.

The secret of Skynet is in its positioning above the letter box system

Skynet-2

Well positionned above the Inbox through the tags that it is equipped with, the drone can release his parcel.

As a first step, the drone will verify the identity of the recipient via a bar code placed on the box. It then goes on to reposition themselves precisely above the box thanks to marks placed at the four corners thereof. Finally, he drops his load and can return to its warehouse pick his next delivery package.
If the video demonstration is probative, the Skynet solution solves any problems posed by delivery by drone in urban areas, including how to avoid the streetlights, electric or telephone cables that streak still heaven in the suburbs or even competitors drones. Even bread on a Board for engineers.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Skynet drone-delivery mailbox in the running for $1m prize”, The Guardian, November 27, 2014

“Drone delivery nets could be the mailboxes of the future”, Gizmag, November 17, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Skynet réinvente la boîte aux lettres pour les drones

SkynetLes premières images des projets de livraisons par drones d’Amazon et de Google montraient un dépôt des colis soit avec un drone qui se pose dans le jardin du destinataire, soit qui dépose sa charge au bout d’un câble. Des solutions notoirement inadaptées au milieu urbain. Avec son projet Skynet, un ingénieur, Clinton Burchat, a imaginé un dispositif pour que tout le monde bénéfice de tels services de livraison, même Sarah Connor dont l’appartement n’a pas de jardin.

Un projet en lice pour un « Drones for Good » award

Le projet fait partie de la vingtaine de demi-finalistes du concours « Drones for Good » lancé par les Émirats arabes unis. Baptisé Skynet, celui-ci résout le problème de la livraison de colis par drones. Cet ingénieur propose un système de boite aux lettres reprenant le principe du panier de basket installé sur la balcon du destinataire. Cette boîte aux lettres « aérienne » est géolocalisée par GPS au moment de son installation.

C’est via cette géolocalisation que le drone va pouvoir se présenter à elle. Bien évidemment, le GPS actuel ne permet pas au drone de se positionner avec suffisamment de précision pour que le colis ne tombe pas dans le vide ou dans la boîte du voisin.

Le secret de Skynet est dans son système de positionnement au-dessus de la boîte aux lettres

Skynet-2

Bien calé au-dessus de la boîte de réception grâce aux balises dont elle est équipée, le drone peut lâcher son colis.

Dans un premier temps, le drone va vérifier l’identité du destinataire via un code barre placé sur la boîte. Il va ensuite se repositionner précisément au-dessus de la boite grâce aux repères placés aux quatre coins de celle-ci. Enfin, il largue sa charge et peut retourner à son entrepôt aller chercher le colis de sa prochaine livraison.
Si la démonstration vidéo est probante, la solution Skynet ne résout pas tous les problèmes posés par la livraison par drone en zone urbaine, notamment comment éviter les réverbères, les câbles électriques ou téléphoniques qui zèbrent encore le ciel des banlieues ou même les drones des concurrents. Encore du pain sur la planche pour les ingénieurs.

Sources :

« Skynet drone-delivery mailbox in the running for $1m prize », The Guardian, 27 novembre 2014

« Drone delivery nets could be the mailboxes of the future », Gizmag, 17 novembre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.