Google Glass: What if Google was wrong?

Google-GlassGoogle is it wrong? Augmented reality seems to be a technology of the future, a real approach that breaks with the smartphone, but it is unclear whether today’s consumers are willing to offer Google Goggles Glass type today.
Bracelets and watches are certainly connected a less ambitious and less progressive than those augmented reality glasses approach, but they are much cheaper. A lot easier to sell to the general public certainly idea. For the analyzes, there will be no contest: an approach would clearly outweigh the other.

Bracelets and watches will dominate the market for “wearables”

A study by Cowen and Company on the eve of the launch of Apple Watch with American shows the interest of American and bracelets for connected these smart watches. Analysts believe that if the world market for these “wearables” will only reach $ 1.1 billion this year. In 2020, it could exceed $ 13 billion.

Study Cowen and Company Entertainment Lifestyle-US Wearable Device Sales by segment, 2014-2020, September 8, 2014.

Study Cowen and Company Entertainment Lifestyle-US Wearable Device Sales by segment, 2014-2020, September 8, 2014.

The most interesting point of the study is to compare this amount with the amount of connected glasses. The market for “Smart Glasses”, whose Google Glass are the symbol is already lower than that of shown connected. It would be 800 million dollars, but in 2020 it will reach 4.7 billion. Analysts do not believe in a free market takeoff. It may also be the reason why Google is proving so careful in the marketing of its Google Glass. More than $ 1000 piece, Google continues to broadcast his glasses connected to the dropper, obviously with good reason.
Source :

“Does the Apple Watch Have What Consumers Want?”, eMarketer, September 16, 2014

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Mobile, Objets connectés and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Google Glass : Et si Google s’était trompé ?

Google-GlassGoogle fait-il fausse route ? La réalité augmentée apparaît comme une technologie d’avenir, une vraie approche en rupture avec le smartphone, mais nul ne sait si aujourd’hui les consommateurs sont prêts à s’offrir des lunettes de type Google Glass dès aujourd’hui.

Les bracelets et montres connectés sont certainement une approche moins ambitieuse et moins avant-gardiste que ces lunettes de réalité augmentée, mais ceux-ci sont beaucoup moins chers. Une idée certainement bien plus simple à vendre auprès du grand public. Pour les analyses, il n’y aura pas photo : un approche va clairement l’emporter sur l’autre.

Bracelets et montres vont dominer le marché des « wearables »

Etude Cowen and Company US Lifestyle-Entertainment Wearable Device Sales by segment, 2014-2020

Etude Cowen and Company US Lifestyle-Entertainment Wearable Device Sales, by segment, 2014-2020, 8 septembre 2014.

Une étude menée par Cowen and Company à la veille du lancement de l’Apple Watch auprès des américains montre l’intérêt des américains pour les bracelets connectés et ces montres intelligentes. Les analystes estiment que si le marché mondial de ces « wearables » n’atteindra que 1,1 milliard de dollars cette année. En 2020, il pourrait dépasser les 13 milliards de dollars.

Le point plus intéressant de l’étude est de comparer ce montant avec celui des lunettes connectées. Le marché des « Smart Glasses », dont les Google Glass en sont le symbole, est déjà inférieur à celui des montrés connectés. Google-Glass-2Il serait de 800 millions de dollars, mais en 2020, il n’atteindra que 4,7 milliards de dollars. Les analystes ne croient pas à un décollage franc de ce marché. C’est peut-être aussi la raison pour laquelle Google se montre si prudent dans la commercialisation de ses Google Glass. A plus de 1.000 $ pièce, Google continue de diffuser ses lunettes connectée au compte-goutte, visiblement avec raison.

Source : « Does the Apple Watch Have What Consumers Want? », eMarketer, 16 septembre 2014

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Mobile, Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.