SPARC: Europe mobilizes 2.8 billion € for robotics

Neelie KroesThis is alongside Bernd Liepert, president of the euRobotics program and Technical Director of Kuka and Herman Bruyninckx, Vice President of euRobotics that the vice-President of the European Commission Neelie Kroes has launched the automatica 2014 edition. The head of the commission’s digital agenda presented on this occasion a vast programme to put Europe on the global Robotics market. The program, dubbed SPARC should be relayed by manufacturers in the sector and should mobilize in total EUR 2.8 billion. An effort which, according to the Commission, is expected to generate 240 000 jobs on the continent.

Europe holds 35% of the world market for robots

Neelie Kroes Unveils SPARC research program at the exhibition AUTOMATICA 2014

Neelie Kroes Unveils SPARC research program at the exhibition AUTOMATICA 2014

Europe must be a mere consumer of robots, but should be part of those that produce, that’s kinda the idea defended by Neelie Kroes during the opening of the exhibition Automatica 2014 conference. The Vice-President of the European Commission estimated that Europe holds 35% of the market of World Robotics, a market which it valued at EUR 20 billion in 2011. This share would reach even 63% on professional service robots. A share that it will have to fiercely defend when we see ongoing efforts in research and development by the Korea of the South and the Japan and now the United States who want to get back in the race.

Each robot wears 3.6 human jobs on its ‘shoulders ‘.

AUTOMATICA2014-Agile-Justin

Agile Justin, the robot presented by the Institute for robotics and Mechatronics of the German DLR at Automatica 2014.

Among the arguments developed by the head of the digital agenda for Europe, the idea that Robotics is a job engine. An idea that goes against conventional wisdom, since 70% of Europeans believe that robots destroy the jobs of humans. According to figures presented by Neelie Kroes, is just the opposite: each robot would be on his shoulders no less than 3.6 human jobs, or 2 million indirect jobs on the continent.
To carry its offensive, the Vice President announced a research program funded by the Commission to the tune of EUR 700 million.
This SPARC program, launched in the form of public-private partnerships will be echoed by participating manufacturers on a ratio of 1 to 3, a total of 2.8 billion euros injected into research by 2020. This envelope should finance the work of 12 000 researchers in the 200 companies that should join the program. It should create 75 000 direct jobs in service Robotics and still generate the figures advanced by Neelie Kroes, 140 000 indirect jobs. In total, the Commission expects no less 80 billion euros of additional BNP.
Fine ambition, beautiful program, remains to be seen what place the french industrialists will take in the SPARC program presented in Munich…

Translation : Bing Translation

Source : Speech by Neelie Kroes on the exhibition Automatica 2014: “Lighting a SPARC under our competitive economy“, June 3, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

SPARC : L’Europe mobilise 2,8 milliards € pour la robotique

Neelie KroesC’est aux côtés de Bernd Liepert, président du programme euRobotics et directeur technique de Kuka et de Herman Bruyninckx, vice-président d’euRobotics que la vice—présidente de la Commission Européenne Neelie Kroes a lancé l’édition 2014 du salon Automatica. La responsable de l’agenda numérique de la commission a présenté à cette occasion un vaste programme destiné à replacer l’Europe sur le marché robotique mondial. Le programme, baptisé SPARC devrait être relayé par les industriels du secteur et devrait mobiliser au total 2,8 milliards d’euros. Un effort qui, d’après la Commission, devrait générer 240 000 emplois sur le continent.

L’Europe détient 35% du marché mondial des robots

Neelie Kroes dévoile le programme de recherche SPARC lors du salon AUTOMATICA 2014

Neelie Kroes dévoile le programme de recherche SPARC lors du salon AUTOMATICA 2014

L’Europe ne doit être un simple consommateur de robots, mais doit faire partie de ceux qui les produisent, c’est un peu l’idée qu’a défendue Neelie Kroes lors de sa conférence d’ouverture du salon Automatica 2014. La Vice-Présidente de la Commission Européenne estime que l’Europe détient 35% du marché de la robotique mondiale, un marché qu’elle estime à 20 milliards d’euros en 2011. Cette part atteindrait même 63% sur les robots de services professionnels. Une part qu’elle va devoir défendre âprement lorsqu’on voit les efforts déployés en recherche et développement par la Corée du Sud et par le Japon et maintenant les Etats-Unis qui veulent revenir dans la course.

Chaque robot porte 3,6 emplois humains sur ses « épaules »

AUTOMATICA2014-Agile-Justin

Agile Justin, le robot présenté par l’institut de robotique et de mécatronique du DLR allemand, lors d’Automatica 2014.

Parmi les arguments développés par la responsable de l’agenda numérique de l’Europe, l’idée que la robotique est un moteur de l’emploi. Une idée qui va à l’encontre des idées reçues, puisque 70% des européens estiment que les robots détruisent les emplois des humains. Selon les chiffres présentés par Neelie Kroes, c’est tout le contraire : chaque robot porterait sur ses épaules pas moins de 3,6 emplois humains, soit 2 millions d’emplois indirects sur le continent.
Pour porter son offensive, la vice-présidente a annoncé un programme de recherche financé par la Commission à hauteur de 700 millions d’euros.

Ce programme SPARC, lancé sous la forme de partenariats public/privé sera abondé par les industriels participants sur un ratio de 1 à 3, soit un total de 2,8 milliards d’euros injectés dans la recherche d’ici à 2020.  Cette enveloppe devrait financer le travail de 12 000 chercheurs dans les 200 entreprises qui devraient rallier le programme. Celui-ci devrait créer 75 000 emplois directs dans la robotique de service et engendrer, toujours d’après les chiffres avancés par Neelie Kroes, 140 000 emplois indirects. Au total, la Commission en attend pas moins de 80 milliards d’euros de BNP additionnel.

Belle ambition, beau programme, reste à voir quel place les industriels français sauront prendre dans le programme SPARC présenté à Munich…
Source : Discours de Neelie Kroes sur le salon Automatica 2014 : « Lighting a SPARC under our competitive economy« , 3 juin 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.