Video of the week: STAR, the first autonomous surgical robot

With gestures of an accuracy of the order of a few hundredths of a millimetre, a ‘classical’ industrial robot is more accurate than the best surgeons in the world. Remains to teach him the surgical management, a colossal challenge for the roboticists. This is the reason why a surgical robot like the American ‘Da Vinci’ is that repeat the actions carried out by surgeons who have control of his instruments. Robot french Medtech Rosa for his part performs a surgical extremely accurate but limited. With the STAR project, is the software that now runs the operation.

A robot capable of suturing soft tissue with unmatched precision

Led by researchers from the laboratory of innovation in Pediatric Surgery of Sheikh Zayed Institute in Washington and the computer science Department at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, the STAR (for Smart Tissue Autonomous Robot) project seeks to give the intelligence necessary for a robot to carry out independently some phases of a surgical operation.

STAR-robot

The STAR (for Smart Tissue Autonomous Robot) robot in a demonstration that will remain in the annals of surgical robotics.

Equipped with cameras, a type robot Kuka Robotics $LWR – 4 + has proved capable of sutures on very fragile deemed soft tissue. This industrial robot offers 7 degrees of freedom and especially a precision of 0.05 mm. View Plenoptic in 3 dimensions in the near-infrared allows the software of the robot to clearly identify the operative field and very precisely position sutures despite deformations and the constant movement of the body. Although it is still only a very limited procedure, this demonstration demonstrate to those who doubted that room if operation of tomorrow will be populated by robots. The surgeon of the future will be more a conductor as a virtuoso of the scalpel.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Autonomous Robot Surgeon Bests Humans in World First”, IEEE Spectrum, May 4, 2016

“A robot surgeon has passed a major milestone — sewing up pig guts”, The Verge, May 4, 2016

“Supervised autonomous robotic soft tissue surgery”, Science Translational Medicine, May 4, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Vidéo de la semaine : STAR, le premier robot chirurgien autonome

Avec des gestes d’une précision de l’ordre de quelques centièmes de millimètre, un robot industriel « classique » est plus précis que le meilleur des chirurgiens au monde. Reste à lui apprendre le gestion chirurgical, un défi colossal pour les roboticiens. C’est la raison pour laquelle un robot chirurgical comme le « Da Vinci » américain ne fait que répéter les gestes réalisés par les chirurgiens qui ont le contrôle de ses instruments. Le robot Rosa du français Medtech effectue pour sa part un geste chirurgical extrêmement précis mais limité. Avec le projet STAR, c’est le logiciel qui dirige désormais l’opération.

Un robot capable de suturer des tissus mous avec une précision inégalable

Mené par les chercheurs du laboratoire d’innovation en chirurgie pédiatrique de l’Institut Sheikh Zayed à Washington et du département informatique de la Johns Hopkins University à Baltimore, le projet STAR (pour Smart Tissue Autonomous Robot) cherche à donner l’intelligence nécessaire à un robot pour mener de manière autonome certaines phases d’une opération chirurgicale.

STAR-robot

Le robot STAR (pour Smart Tissue Autonomous Robot) lors d’une démonstration qui restera dans les anales de la robotique chirurgicale.

Doté de caméras, un robot de type Kuka Robotics LWR-4+ s’est montré capable de réaliser des sutures sur des tissus mous réputés très fragiles. Ce robot industriel offre 7 degrés de liberté et surtout une précision de 0,05 mm. Sa vue plénoptique en 3 dimensions dans le proche-infrarouge permet au logiciel du robot d’identifier clairement le champ opératoire et de positionner très précisément les sutures en dépit des déformations et des mouvements constants de l’organe. Bien qu’il ne s’agisse encore que d’une procédure que très limitée, cette démonstration démontrent à ceux qui en doutaient encore que la salle s’opération de demain sera peuplée de robots. Le chirurgien du futur sera alors plus un chef d’orchestre qu’un virtuose du scalpel.

Sources :

« Autonomous Robot Surgeon Bests Humans in World First », IEEE Spectrum, 4 mai 2016

« A robot surgeon has passed a major milestone — sewing up pig guts », The Verge, 4 mai 2016

« Supervised autonomous robotic soft tissue surgery », Science Translational Medicine, 4 mai 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.