Deliveries: if the robots took speed drones…

Starship-Delivery-RobotAs Google, Amazon, key global postal services and some sellers of pizzas are all working on future services delivery by drones, an Estonian startup offers a radically different approach. Imagined by the creators of Skype, Starship Technologies offers a small delivery to roulette robot that moves on the sidewalks.

Quite simply.

The delivery robot, a possible solution for the “Last Mile”

In the world of deliveries that Skype to done in the telecom sector, is the credo of Ahti Heinla and Janus Friis, the founders of Starship technology. Them who took part in the adventure Skype offer so a new approach to the delivery of parcels for the ‘Last Mile’, this last always complicated to manage and particularly expensive logistics segment.
Starship-Technologies-F-ConceptThe small 6-wheeled robot designed by the Baltic startup is therefore capable of transporting a package between the point of sale or a logistics node and the client. The chest of the robot unlocks when the customer confirms that he is before the robot via the mobile application. of modest size, the robot moves a few km/h only. It can therefore borrow sidewalks, an approach that blew a lot of constraints in terms of security but that also limits the range of action and its payload capacity. The robot is designed for journeys less than 30 minutes. In such conditions, its designers announce a cost of delivery of $1.54.

Less energy-consuming and no doubt more secure than a drone, the robot could well prove more effective, particularly in urban areas. Ahti Heinla and Janus Friis had the right idea at the right time? If their robot keeps its promises, they might well repeat the brilliant operation that they had succeeded in selling Skype to eBay. The first pilot deployment is scheduled for 2016.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Forget drones, Skype co-founders reveal ‘Starship’ robot buggy that can automatically deliver your shopping”, DailyMail, november 2, 2015

“This self-driving delivery robot is coming soon to sidewalks”, The Washington Post, november 2, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Livraisons : Et si les robots prenaient les drones de vitesse…

Starship-Delivery-RobotAlors que Google, Amazon, les principaux services postaux mondiaux et quelques vendeurs de pizzas travaillent sur les services de livraison par drones du futur, une startup estonienne propose une approche radicalement différente. Créée par les fondateurs de Skype, Starship Technologies propose un petit robot de livraison à roulette qui se déplace sur les trottoirs.

Tout simplement génial.

Le robot, une possible solution de livraison pour le « Last Mile »

Faire dans le monde des livraisons ce que Skype à fait dans le secteur des télécoms, c’est le crédo d’Ahti Heinla et Janus Friis, les deux fondateurs de Starship Technologies. Eux qui ont participé à l’aventure Skype proposent donc une nouvelle approche de la livraison de colis pour le « Last Mile », ce dernier segment logistique toujours compliqué à gérer et particulièrement coûteux.

Starship-Technologies-F-ConceptLe petit robot à 6 roues conçu par la startup balte est donc capable de transporter un colis entre un point de vente ou un noeud logistique et le client de manière presque totalement autonome. Le coffre du robot se déverrouille lorsque le client confirme qu’il est devant le robot via l’application mobile. De taille plutôt modeste, le robot se déplace à quelques km/h seulement et un opérateur va téléguider le robot si la situation se complique. Il peut donc emprunter les trottoirs, une approche qui fait sauter pas mal de contraintes en termes de sécurité mais qui limite aussi le rayon d’action et sa capacité d’emport. Le robot est conçu pour des trajets inférieurs à 30 minutes. Dans de telles conditions, ses concepteurs annoncent un coût de livraison de 1,54 $.

Moins énergivore et sans nul doute plus sur qu’un drone, le robot pourrait bien se montrer plus efficace, notamment en zone urbaine. Ahti Heinla et Janus Friis ont-ils eu la bonne idée au bon moment ? Si leur robot tient ses promesses, ils pourraient bien répéter la magistrale opération qu’ils avaient réussi en vendant Skype à eBay. Le premier déploiement pilote est planifié pour 2016.

Sources :

« Forget drones, Skype co-founders reveal ‘Starship’ robot buggy that can automatically deliver your shopping », DailyMail, 2 novembre 2015

« This self-driving delivery robot is coming soon to sidewalks », The Washington Post, 2 novembre 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.