A swarm of 120 underwater drones to save Venice

Venise

It is during the 2015 EXPO, which takes place in parallel to Milan and Venice the first drones of the subCULTron project were unveiled last October 15-16. This European project is to deploy a swarm of 120 underwater robots connected in the lagoon and canals of “la Serenissima”. The objective is to achieve continuous water quality measurements. A new approach based on a swarm of funny of connected objects that have been directly inspired by biology marine.

A totally robotic marine flora and fauna

Researchers have named them aMussels, fish and aPads with an ‘a’ for ‘artificial’. What are the three types of robots that will be launched in the waters of Venice in 120 copies. The first, the artificialMussel is printed directly the mold that goes if hanging on a rock on the bottom of the lagoon.
Once raised, it opens its shell to expose its antennas and sensors to the marine current. It is she who will store the data collected by the artificialFish inspired by fish, they will browse on different areas and at different depths for their measurements. Finally, the artificialPad, Lily will float to the surface to relay data collected by other robots. APad will have solar panels for feeding and it is expected that the aMussel uses of marine currents to generate its own energy. Researchers point out that software is also inspired by nature, especially the functioning of the swarms of insects or schools of fish. There is no central point, but a collective “intelligence” that governs the behavior of the swarm. If one of the robot is lost, there is no impact on the Group’s work.

Subcultron

The aFish is the first of three underwater drones of the subCULTron project to have been unveiled in Venice.

Initiated in April 2015, the subCULTron project has received funding from the European Union’s EUR 4 million and should be completed in 2019. Among the involved research laboratories, the laboratory of artificial life from the University of Graz in Austria ensures the coordination of forces. The Scola Sant’Anna Italian works on the shutter hardware as well as the Faculty of the University of Zagreb, computer and electrical engineering. The free University of Brussels develops software, ARMINES (France) working on the sensors and communications with Cybertronica Research component. Finally Corila ensures cooperation with Italian researchers based in Venice.
Translation : Bing Translator
Source : “European scientists build up a society of autonomous underwater robots for environmental monitoring of the Venice Lagoon”, subCULTron press release, October 7, 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Objets connectés, Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Un essaim de 120 drones sous-marins pour sauver Venise

Venise

C’est lors de l’EXPO 2015 qui se tient en parallèle à Milan et Venise que les premiers drones du projet subCULTron ont été dévoilés les 15 et 16 octobre dernier. Ce projet européen va consister à déployer un essaim de 120 robots sous-marins connectés dans la lagune et les canaux de « la Sérénissime ». L’objectif est de réaliser des mesures en continu de la qualité de l’eau. Une nouvelle approche basée sur un essaim de drôle d’objets connectés qui ont été directement inspirés par la biologie marine.

Une faune et une flore marine totalement robotisée

Les chercheurs les ont baptisés aMussels, aFish et aPads avec un « a » pour « artificial ». Ce sont les trois types de robots qui vont être lancés dans les eaux de Venise en 120 exemplaires. Le premier, l’artificialMussel s’imprime directement de la moule qui va s’accrocher sur un rocher sur le fond de la lagune.
Une fois posée, celle-ci ouvre sa coquille afin d’exposer ses antennes et capteurs au courant marin. C’est elle qui va notamment stocker les données collectées par les artificialFish Inspirés du poisson, ceux-ci vont fureter sur différentes zones et à différentes profondeurs pour réaliser leurs mesures. Enfin, l’artificialPad, nénuphar flottera à la surface afin de relayer les données collectées par les autres robots. L’aPad disposera de panneaux solaires pour s’alimenter de même qu’il est prévu que l’aMussel se serve des courants marins pour générer sa propre énergie. Les chercheurs soulignent que le logiciel est lui-aussi inspiré de la nature, plus particulièrement du fonctionnement des essaims d’insectes ou des bancs de poissons. Il n’y a pas de point central, mais une « intelligence » collective qui régit le comportement de l’essaim. Si un des robot est perdu, cela n’a pas de répercussion sur le travail de groupe.

Subcultron

Le aFish est le premier des trois drones sous-marins du projet subCULTron a avoir été dévoilé à Venise.

Initié en avril 2015, le projet subCULTron bénéficie d’un financement de l’Union Européenne de 4 millions d’euros et devra s’achever en 2019. Parmi les laboratoires de recherche impliqués, le laboratoire de vie artificielle de l’université de Graz en Autriche assure la coordination des forces. La Scola Sant’Anna italienne travaille sur le volet hardware ainsi que la faculté d’ingénierie électrique et informatique de l’université de Zagreb. L’université libre de Bruxelles développe le logiciel, l’ARMINES (France) travaille sur le volet capteurs et communications avec Cybertronica Research. Enfin Corila assure la coopération avec les chercheurs italiens basés à Venise.

 

Source : « European scientists build up a society of autonomous underwater robots for environmental monitoring of the Venice Lagoon », Communiqué de presse, subCULTron, 7 octobre 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Objets connectés, Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.