A supercomputer in space, what for?

On Monday, a Falcon 9 rocket will take off from the SpaceX leased shot at NASA to refuel the international station. In its multi-commodity Dragon module, including two Apollo 40 HPE supercomputers. The idea of sending computers that are powerful but also demanding in terms of power and cooling may seem incongruous. NASA scientists who have substantial computational means on the mainland do not really need computing power in orbit. It is above all to prepare for the conquest of Mars.

Apollo computers in orbit, logic?

Monday is to take off the Falcon 9 rocket and its Dragon capsule to the ISS from launch site 39a in Cape Canaveral, the same site from which the Apollo missions left.

The Dragon capsule that will be sent Monday to the international orbital station will be loaded with 3 tons of refueling and new scientific experiments for the researchers of the ISS. On the manifesto of this exclusively cargo flight, there are 2 supercomputers provided by the American HPE. If the exact configuration of these two machines has not been published, we know that these are Apollo 40 computers, ie Xeon dual-processor machines that can be equipped with 4 NVidia Tesla GPU chips that confers A good energy ratio at the machine. But if the NASA sends these machines into space, it’s not really to exploit their power. The aim is to validate that such calculators of the COTS type (bought on the shelf) can support operation in space over a relatively long period of time. Usually, satellites and space equipment are equipped with specific electronic components, especially shielded to operate while being exposed to radiation. As a result, the cost of electronic equipment is very high, for lagged performance of several generations of processors.

The computers will be tested in orbit for a whole year

By sending these Apollo 40s into space, NASA will be able to verify in situ the lifetime of these conventional machines in the ISS. These machines are not quite standard because the ISS racks are not the 19-inch racks found in all “land” datacenters. The cabinets of the space station have their own characteristics to which the HPE servers have had to fold. This will be the only concession made on these machines which will make it possible to verify if the exchanges of data between the compute nodes of the machine will not be marred by errors due to solar radiation, in particular. The computers will carry out processing permanently and store 5.4 MB of data each day on flash memory (SSD). The computers may be able to reduce their processing speed if the stellar radiation is too large, in order to reduce the risk of processing errors.

The Apollo 40 computers have been reconditioned so that they can be inserted into the ISS racks.

Information on the reliability of COTS computers in space is crucial for a mission to Mars. Due to the delay of exchanges between the Earth and Mars, on the order of twenty minutes, it will be necessary to provide the Martian module with a local computing power to react instantaneously to an unexpected situation.

Named Spaceborn 1 and 2, the two machines will remain in production in the ISS a full year, ie the duration of a round trip to Mars. It will then be known whether the astronauts will be able to operate standard supercomputers or whether it will be necessary to create machines specifically for this flight to Mars, expected for 2030 at the earliest.

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“Hewlett Packard Enterprise Sends Supercomputer into Space to Accelerate Mission to Mars”, HPE press release, 2017, August 11

“High Performance Commercial Off-The-Shelf (COTS) Computer System on the ISS (Spaceborne Computer)”, Nasa release, 2017, August 9

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

La NASA va envoyer un supercalculateur dans l’espace, pour quoi faire ?

Lundi, une fusée Falcon 9 décollera du pas de tir loué par SpaceX à la Nasa afin de ravitailler la station internationale. Dans son module Dragon de multiples marchandises, dont deux supercalculateurs HPE Apollo 40. L’idée d’envoyer dans l’ISS des ordinateurs aussi puissants mais aussi exigeants en termes d’alimentation électrique et de refroidissement peut paraître incongrue. Les chercheurs de la Nasa qui disposent de moyens de calcul conséquents sur la terre ferme n’ont pas véritablement besoin de puissance de calcul en orbite. Il s’agit avant tout de préparer la conquête de Mars.

Des calculateurs Apollo en orbite, logique ?

Lundi doit décoller la fusée Falcon 9 et sa capsule Dragon à destination de l’ISS depuis le site de lancement 39a à Cap Canaveral, celui-là même d’où sont parties les missions Apollo.

La capsule Dragon qui va être envoyée lundi vers la station orbitale internationale sera chargée de 3 tonnes de ravitaillement et de nouvelles expériences scientifiques pour les chercheurs de l’ISS. Sur le manifeste de ce vol exclusivement cargo, figurent 2 supercalculateurs fournis par l’américain HPE. Si la configuration exacte de ces deux machines n’a pas été publiée, on sait qu’il s’agit de calculateurs Apollo 40, c’est à dire des machines bi-processeurs Xeon pouvant être équipées de 4 puces GPU NVidia Tesla qui confère une bon rapport énergétique à la machine. Mais si la Nasa envoie ces machines dans l’espace, ce n’est pas réellement pour exploiter leur puissance. Le but est de valider que de tels calculateurs de type COTS (achetés sur étagère) peuvent supporter une exploitation dans l’espace sur une relative longue durée de temps. Habituellement, les satellites et équipements spatiaux sont équipé de composants électroniques spécifiques, notamment blindés afin de fonctionner tout en étant exposés aux rayonnements. De ce fait, le coût des équipements électroniques est très élevé, pour des performances en retard de plusieurs générations de processeurs.

Les calculateurs vont être testés en orbite pendant une année entière

En envoyant ces Apollo 40 dans l’espace, la Nasa va pouvoir vérifier in situ la durée de vie de ces machines classiques dans l’ISS. Ces machines ne sont pas tout à fait standard car les racks de l’ISS ne sont pas les racks 19 pouces que l’on trouve dans tous les datacenters « terrestres ». Les armoires de la station spatiale ont des caractéristiques propres auxquelles les serveurs HPE ont dû se plier. Ce sera la seule concession réalisée sur ces machines qui permettront de vérifier si les échanges de données entre les nœuds de calcul de la machine ne seront pas entachés d’erreurs du fait des rayonnements solaires, notamment. Les calculateurs vont réaliser des traitements en permanence et stocker 5,4 Mo de données chaque jour sur des mémoires flash (SSD). Les calculateurs pourront éventuellement réduire leur vitesse de traitement si les rayonnements stellaires sont trop importants, afin de réduire le risque d’erreurs de traitement.

Les calculateurs Apollo 40 ont été reconditionnés afin de pouvoir être insérés dans les racks de l’ISS.

L’information sur la fiabilité des calculateurs COTS dans l’espace est cruciale en vue d’une mission vers Mars. Du fait du délai des échanges radios entre la Terre et Mars, de l’ordre d’une vingtaine de minutes, il sera nécessaire de doter le module martien d’une puissance de calcul locale afin de réagir instantanément à une situation imprévue.

Baptisées Spaceborn 1 et 2, les deux machines resteront en production dans l’ISS une année pleine, c’est à dire la durée d’un aller/retour vers Mars. On saura alors si les astronautes pourront exploiter des supercalculateurs standards ou s’il faudra créer des machines spécifiquement pour ce vol vers Mars, attendu pour 2030, au plus tôt.

Sources :

« Hewlett Packard Enterprise Sends Supercomputer into Space to Accelerate Mission to Mars », communiqué HPE, 11 août 2017

« High Performance Commercial Off-The-Shelf (COTS) Computer System on the ISS (Spaceborne Computer) », Communiqué de la Nasa, 9 août 2017

 

« 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.