Supercomputing and Cloud Computing: the art of war, 2030 edition

Sun-Tzu“”Every battle is won before that it begins” wrote Sun Tzu, a quote that the army wants to apply at the foot of the letter. To determine the best strategy before you fight a battle, the U.S. Army is very interested in supercomputers. This is more to use high-powered computers to break the opponent encryption codes, or even engage in numerical simulations of new weapons, but properly simulating the battle to determine the best combat tactics. To achieve the U.S. Army wants to develop a supercomputer twice more powerful than the most powerful calculator currently in production. A “wargame” 100 petaflop/s!

Predictive technologies applied to battlefield

ARL (U.S. Army Research Laboratory) has just published an interesting document, its ‘ Technical Implementation Plan ‘. It is in some way its plan of technological development for the period 2015-2019. It can discover U.S. Army technology priorities for the years to come. These include some rather interesting to follow tracks.

Soldiers following a tactic developed by artificial intelligence, it is coming soon.

Soldiers following a tactic developed by artificial intelligence, it is coming soon.

Among the priority of ARL, military researchers called the “Tactical High Performance Computing”. It’s a bit Big Data applied to ground forces. By accumulating data from satellites, aircraft reconnaissance, drones and troops on the ground, the predictive algorithms and artificial intelligence techniques should be able to guide the troops on the ground and generate real-time tactics that will enable the troops to take the battle. It is even planned to place an EEG (electroencephalogram) on each soldier helmet to measure his stress level and therefore to integrate this dimension into algorithms that will evaluate the chances of success of the attack.
There is nothing a simple view of the spirit since the U.S. military wants to develop a supercomputer with a power of 100 Teraflop/s. Currently, the most powerful calculator in production in the world, it is the Chinese Tianhe-2 and it displays a power peak of 54 petaflop/s “only”. The supercomputer n ° 1 in France, it is the Total Exploration Production Pangea which displays less than 2.3 petaflop/s. Hence the ambitions of the U.S. Army.

The Cloud in the service of the soldier in intervention

A Cloudlet of such facial recognition imagined by researchers at the Carnegie Mellon University.

A Cloudlet of such facial recognition imagined by researchers at the Carnegie Mellon University.

Ambitions that obviously do not stop at the only tactic. The ARL advances the notion of Cloudlets, Cloud applications with the provisions of the soldiers on the ground. Thus, the soldier who capture an insurgent will be able to send a photo of his prisoner in the cloud or a facial recognition service will be able to return the identity of the suspected person. The Software Engineering Institute, Carnegie Mellon University has already worked on this architecture Cloud offering infrastructure based on Linux Ubuntu servers and virtual machines that will enter into communication with the portable terminals of the soldiers to Exchange data.
In addition to these projects under development, the report of the ARL evokes tracks of medium and long term research. Thus, its mentioned ways to generate the fuel directly in the theatre of operations through alternative methods, the search for new materials be it electronics, energy storage or facilitate handling of agents chemical, biological, nuclear, or explosive, the use of microbes to generate chemical components, and of course quantum computing. We know the interest of the NSA for quantum processors that allowed him to break any code instantly, the army sees in this technology for other applications. The ability to teleport data instantly and securely interested him, as well as the ability of calculation of quantum processor could unleash its capabilities of fusion in time real all of the data collected by the sensors on the battlefield.

Sources :

“Army Research Laboratory Technical Implementation Plan 2015 – 2019”

Tactical Cloudlets: Moving Cloud Computing to the Edge“, SEI Blog, November 10, 2014

Cloud Computing for the Battlefield“, SEI Blog, June 20, 2011

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Supercalculateurs et Cloud Computing : l’art de la guerre, façon 2030

Sun-TzuOn attribue à Sun Tzu la phrase Chaque bataille est gagnée avant qu’elle ne commence », une citation que l’armée américaine veut appliquer au pied de la lettre. Pour déterminer la meilleure stratégie avant de mener une bataille, l’armée américaine s’intéresse beaucoup aux supercalculateurs. Il ne s’agit plus d’utiliser des ordinateurs ultra-puissants pour casser les codes de chiffrement de l’adversaire, ni même se livrer à des simulations numériques de nouvelles armes, mais bien simuler la bataille pour déterminer les meilleures tactiques de combat. Pour y parvenir, l’armée américaine veut se doter d’un supercalculateur deux fois plus puissant que le calculateur le plus puissant actuellement en production. Un « wargame » à 100 petaflop/s !

Les technologies prédictives appliquées au champ de bataille

L’ARL (US Army Research Laboratory) vient de publier un intéressant document, son  « Technical Implementation Plan ». C’est en quelques sorte son plan de développement technologique pour la période 2015-2019. On peut y découvrir les priorités technologiques de l’armée américaines pour les années à venir. Parmi celles-ci quelques pistes plutôt intéressantes à suivre.

Des soldats qui suivent une tactique mise au point par une intelligence artificielle, c'est pour bientôt.

Des soldats qui suivent une tactique mise au point par une intelligence artificielle, c’est pour bientôt.

Parmi les priorité de ARL, ce que les chercheurs militaires appelle le « Tactical High Performance Computing ». C’est un peu le Big Data appliqué aux forces de terrain. En accumulant les données depuis les satellites, avions de reconnaissances, drones et troupes au sol, des algorithmes prédictifs et des techniques d’intelligence artificielle doivent pouvoir guider les soldats sur le terrain et générer en temps réel les tactiques qui permettront aux troupes de d’emporter la bataille. Il est même envisagé de placer un casque EEG (électro-encéphalogramme) sur chaque soldat pour pouvoir mesurer son niveau de stress et donc intégrer cette dimension dans les algorithmes qui vont évaluer les chances de succès de l’attaque.

Cela n’a rien d’une simple vue de l’esprit puisque l’armée américaine veut se doter d’un supercalculateur d’une puissance de 100 Teraflop/s. Actuellement, le calculateur le plus puissant en production dans le monde, c’est le Tianhe-2 chinois et il n’affiche un puissance en pic que de 54 petaflop/s « seulement ». Le supercalculateur n°1 en France, c’est le Pangea de Total Exploration Production qui affiche moins de 2,3 petaflop/s. C’est dire les ambitions de l’armée américaine.

Le Cloud au service du soldat en intervention

Une Cloudlet de reconnaissance faciale telle qu'imaginée par les chercheurs de l'université Carnegie Mellon.

Une Cloudlet de reconnaissance faciale telle qu’imaginée par les chercheurs de l’université Carnegie Mellon.

Ambitions qui ne s’arrêtent bien évidemment pas à la seule tactique. L’ARL avance la notion de Cloudlets, des applications Cloud à la dispositions des soldats sur le terrain. Ainsi, le soldat qui capture un insurgé va pouvoir envoyer une photo de son prisonnier dans le cloud ou un service de reconnaissance faciale va pouvoir lui retourner l’identité de la personne suspectée. Le Software Engineering Institute de l’Université de Carnegie Mellon a déjà travaillé sur cette architecture Cloud en proposant une infrastructure s’appuyant sur des serveurs Linux  Ubuntu et des machines virtuelles qui vont entrer en communications avec les terminaux portables des soldats pour échanger des données.
Outre ces projets en cours de développement, le rapport de l’ARL évoque des pistes de recherche à moyen et long terme. Ainsi, son évoqué des moyens de générer du carburant  directement sur le théâtre d’opération via des  méthodes alternatives, la recherche de nouveaux matériaux que ce soit en matière d’électronique, de stockage de l’énergie ou encore faciliter la manipulation d’agents chimiques, biologiques, nucléaires ou explosifs, l’utilisation de microbes pour générer des composants chimiques, et bien évidemment l’informatique quantique. On connait l’intérêt de la NSA pour les processeurs quantiques qui lui permettait de briser n’importe quel code instantanément, l’armée voit dans cette technologie d’autres applications. La capacité de téléporter des données instantanément et de manière sure l’intéresse, de même que la capacité de calcul des processeur quantique pourrait décupler ses capacités de fusion en temps réel l’ensemble des données collectées par les capteurs sur le champ de bataille.
Sources :

« Army Research Laboratory Technical Implementation Plan 2015 – 2019 »

« Tactical Cloudlets: Moving Cloud Computing to the Edge« , SEI Blog, 10 novembre 2014

« Cloud Computing for the Battlefield« , SEI Blog, 20 juin 2011

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.