The strange fascination of the Japanese for human robots

Android-ToshibaToshiba came to the attention of the media when these 2015 not for its technology to generate energy via hydrogen, its storage cards, or even its innovations on the market of e-health, but for a hostess rather out of the ordinary, an Android. Named Chihira Aico, this creature so stole the show on other innovations in Japanese industry. This robot of human appearance is one of the last examples of robots to human appearance to have been developed in Japan, a country where researchers appear to maintain a passion for these troubling bots.

‘Human’ Android, a specialty of Osaka University

Professor Hiroshi Ishiguro and his Telenoid, unless it's his Geminoid that took his place for the picture.

Professor Hiroshi Ishiguro and his Telenoid, unless it’s his Geminoid that took his place for the picture.

It is the speciality of Professor Hiroshi Ishiguro at the head of Osaka University robotics research. Since the beginning of the 2000s, it creates robots like no other. His Geminoid, Otonaroid, Kodomoroid, Telenoid and Elfoid have a trait in common, or rather common traits. Aside from two last, devoid of members, they imitate in all respects human beings humans in their appearance and especially the way they communicate. The idea is that a human appearance robot will be able to communicate more easily with humans if it looks like them and if he can reproduce the facial expressions and all their gestures.

The star of Osaka University researcher has gone up to create a Geminoid has his effigy. If visually the illusion is perfect, see his androids to the artwork leaves an impression of unease. These fairly quickly betray their synthetic nature despite appearances.

However, it is well to communicate that Toshiba in turn follows this path. Developed with aLab Inc., Osaka University, the Institute of technology of Shibauraet that of Shonan, Android presented by Toshiba on these 2015 is a preview of a robot or rather a ‘lifelike communication android”which should be operational from 2020. It was unveiled for the first time a few months at the large Japanese show CEATEC JAPAN 2014.

Androids ready in 2020, for the Olympic Games

Toshiba Android

Toshiba unveiled for the first time its Android in October 2014 at the CEATEC JAPAN exhibition.

For the CES, Toshiba has named its Android Chihira Aico, probably to strengthen the human side of the ‘thing ‘. But in addition to this human appearance which conveyed the paw of Hiroshi Ishiguro, the robot is able to analyze the words of his interlocutor and is capable, by speech synthesis, to respond. Toshiba has developed the algorithm which synchronizes 43 motion axes that must make realistic movement of the body and the face of Android.

As announced at the CEATEC, Toshiba was able to present his robot then of these to animate his stand. When its technology is finalized, its “social robot” will play the role of téléconseiller, robots for assistance for the sick and elderly. 5 years of work will still be needed to achieve this goal, Hitoshi Tokukda, the “creator” of Chihira Aico believes that Android will be ready for the 2020 Olympic Games which will be held in Tokyo.

Translation : Bing Translator

 

Sources :

 

“The ‘human’ side of robots at electronics show”, JapanToday, Janvier 10, 2015

“Toshiba’s android Chihira Aico is ready to work and play”, News.com.au, January 10, 2015

“Japanese professor creates uncanny human-like android robots”, NY Daily News, November 20, 2014

“Toshiba Corporation Develops Lifelike Communication Android”, Toshiba press release, October 6, 2014

“Human or Machine? Life-Like Android Robots from Japan Show Glimpses of the Future”, International Business Times, June 24, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

L’étrange fascination des japonais pour les robots humains

Android-ToshibaToshiba est arrivé à attirer l’attention des médias lors du CES 2015 non pas pour ses technologies de génération d’énergie via l’hydrogène, ses cartes de stockage, ou même ses innovations sur le marché de l’e-Santé, mais pour une hôtesse plutôt hors du commun, une androïde. Baptisée Chihira Aico, cette créature a ainsi volé la vedette aux autres innovations de l’industriel japonais. Ce robot d’apparence humaine est l’un des derniers exemples de robots d’apparence humaine à avoir été mis au point au Japon, un pays où les chercheurs semblent entretenir une passion pour ces troublants robots.

L’androïde « humain », une spécialité de l’université d’Osaka

Le professeur Hiroshi Ishiguro et son Telenoid, à moins qu'il s'agisse de son Geminoid qui ait pris sa place pour la photo.

Le professeur Hiroshi Ishiguro et son Telenoid, à moins qu’il s’agisse de son Geminoid qui ait pris sa place pour la photo.

C’est la grande spécialité du professeur Hiroshi Ishiguro, à la tête de la recherche en robotique de l’université d’Osaka. Depuis le début des années 2000, il crée des robots comme nul autre. Ses Geminoid, Otonaroid, Kodomoroid, Telenoid et Elfoid ont tous un trait en commun, ou plutôt des traits communs. Mis à part les deux derniers, dépourvus de membres, ceux-ci imitent en tous points les êtres humains dans leur apparence et surtout leur façon de communiquer. L’idée est qu’un robot d’apparence humaine pourra communiquer plus facilement avec les humains s’il leur ressemble et s’il peut en reproduire les mimiques et toute leur gestuelle.
Le chercheur star de l’université d’Osaka est allé jusqu’à créer un Geminoid a son effigie. Si, visuellement l’illusion est parfaite, voir ses androïdes à l’oeuvre laisse une impression de malaise. Ceux-ci trahissent assez rapidement leur nature synthétique en dépit des apparences.
Pourtant, c’est bien pour communiquer que Toshiba suit à son tour cette voie. Développé avec aLab Inc., l’université d’Osaka, l’institut de technologies de Shibauraet celui de Shonan, l’androïde présenté par Toshiba sur le CES 2015 est une préversion d’un robot ou plutôt d’un « lifelike communication android » qui devrait être opérationnel à partir de 2020. Celui-ci avait été dévoilé pour la première fois voici quelques mois lors du grand salon japonais CEATEC JAPAN 2014.

Des androïdes prêts en 2020

Toshiba Android

Toshiba a dévoilé pour la première fois son androïde en octobre 2014 lors du salon CEATEC JAPAN.

Pour le CES, Toshiba a baptisé son androïde Chihira Aico, sans doute pour renforcer le côté humain de la « chose ». Mais outre cet apparence humaine où transparaît la patte d’Hiroshi Ishiguro, le robot est capable d’analyser les propos de son interlocuteur et se montre capable, par synthèse de la parole, de lui répondre. Toshiba a développé l’algorithme qui synchronise les 43 axes de mouvement qui doivent rendre réalistes les mouvement du corps et du visage de l’androïde.

Comme annoncé lors du CEATEC, Toshiba a pu présenter son robot lors du CES pour animer son stand. Lorsque sa technologie sera finalisée, son « robot social » pourra jouer le rôle de téléconseiller, de robots d’assistance pour les malades et personnes âgées. 5 ans de travail seront encore nécessaires pour atteindre cet objectif, Hitoshi Tokukda, le « créateur » de Chihira Aico estime que l’androïde sera prêt pour les Jeux Olympiques de 2020 qui auront lieu à Tokyo.

 

Sources :

 

« The ‘human’ side of robots at electronics show », JapanToday, 10 janvier 2015
« Toshiba’s android Chihira Aico is ready to work and play », News.com.au, 10 janvier 2015
« Japanese professor creates uncanny human-like android robots », NY Daily News 20 novembre 2014
« Toshiba Corporation Develops Lifelike Communication Android », Communiqué de presse Toshiba, 6 octobre 2014
« Human or Machine? Life-Like Android Robots from Japan Show Glimpses of the Future », International Business Times, 24 juin 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.