Total to triple the power of its supercomputer Pangea

Total-PangeaWith a power of 2.3 petaflops, i.e. 2.3 million billion operations per second, the supercomputer Pangea was the most powerful supercomputer in the world operated by a private company. It is the Total french who offered this exceptional machine for its calculation of Pau. An exceptional machine who, 2 years only after its start-up, will know a serious booster shot. 2.3 petaflops, its power will pass to 6.7 petaflops.

The geophysical simulation, a computing power-hungry activity

Modeling of the basement is a numerical simulation activity that requires a lot of computing power. Lot of power actually. Large tankers are fighting petaflops suddenly because these gigantic machines need analysis data during the campaigns of seismic prospecting led exploration teams, whether at sea or in the most inhospitable regions of the globe. More than the available computing power is high, more analysis can be fine and fast.

3D-PropagatorIn its strategy compute-intensive, Total is a longtime IMS client. For 15 years, the french group bought a supercomputer at the prestigious American constructor. Its latest acquisition, Pangea, a calculator type SGI ICE X consisted of 6912 modules each including 2 Intel Xeon E5-2670 v3, and octo-core microprocessors water-cooled. An extremely powerful machine and which represented total an investment of 60 million euros over four years.

Total remains faithful to SGI and 100% x86

Yet the engineers of Total power requirement was far from be fulfilled. It took several days of calculation this Pangea v1 to analyze seismic data collected during a search on the ground. Pangea, in its current version had slipped from ninth to 20th place in the global ranking of supercomputers. CSTJFA ranking of course dominated by public research institutes, but in which the Italian oil Eni had ravished total its place as the fastest private machine, with its 4.6 petaflops HPC2. Total remains faithful to SGI and chose to extend Pangea with new ICE X, a 100% solution modules x 86 so that several manufacturers are now moving towards hybrid architectures (x 86 + GPU graphics chips). Total thus privileged software compatibility to the electric power consumption report.
The initial version of Pangea offered 110.592 hearts of calculation, 442 TB of RAM and 18.4 inches of storage. With this update, IMS adds 110.592 hearts worksheet, 589 To of RAM additional. The total power will pass to 6.7 teraflops, power consumption in… 4.5 MW.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“SGI Selected to Boost HPC System for Total – One of the World’s Largest Commercial Deployments”, SGI press release, March 31, 2015

“Total s’équipe du 9e plus puissant calculateur au monde”, Usine Nouvelle, March 21, 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Total va tripler la puissance de son supercalculateur Pangea

Total-PangeaAvec une puissance de 2,3 pétaflops, c’est à dire 2,3 millions de milliards d’opérations par seconde, le supercalculateur Pangea était le supercalculateur le plus puissant au monde exploité par une entreprise privée. C’est la français Total qui s’est offert cette machine exceptionnelle pour son centre de calcul de Pau. Une machine exceptionnelle qui, 2 ans seulement après sa mise en marche, va connaitre un sérieux coup de booster. De 2,3 pétaflops, sa puissance va passer à 6,7 pétaflops.

La simulation géophysique, une activité avide de puissance de calcul

La modélisation du sous-sol  est une activité de simulation numérique qui demande beaucoup de puissance informatique. Enormement de puissance en fait. Les grands pétroliers se battent à coup de petaflops car ces machines gigantesques doivent analyses les données lors des campagnes de prospection sismiques menée par les équipes d’exploration, que ce soit en mer ou dans les régions les plus inhospitalières du globe. Au plus la puissance de calcul disponible est haute, au plus l’analyse peut être fine et rapide.

3D-PropagatorDans sa stratégie calcul intensif, Total est un client SGI de longue date. Depuis 15 ans , le groupe français achète des supercalculateur au prestigieux constructeur américain. Sa dernière acquisition, Pangea, un calculateur de type SGI ICE X consistait en 6.912 modules chacun incluant 2 Intel Xeon E5-2670 v3, des micro-processeurs octo-coeur refroidis par eau. Une machine extrêmement puissante et qui a représenté pour Total un investissement de 60 millions d’euros sur 4 ans.

Total reste fidèle à SGI et au 100% x86

Pourtant le besoin de puissance des ingénieurs de Total était loin d’être assouvi. Il fallait plusieurs jours de calcul à ce Pangea v1 pour analyser les données sismiques amassées lors d’une campagne de recherche sur le terrain. Pangea, dans sa version actuelle avait glissé de la neuvième à la vingtième place du classement mondial des supercalculateurs. CSTJFUn classement bien évidemment dominé par les instituts de recherche publics, mais dans lequel le pétrolier italien Eni avait ravi à Total sa place de machine privée la plus rapide, avec son HPC2 de 4,6 pétaflops. Total reste fidèle à SGI et a choisi d’étendre Pangea avec de nouveaux modules ICE X, une solution 100% x86 alors que plusieurs constructeurs s’orientent aujourd’hui vers des architectures hybrides (x86 + puces graphiques GPU). Total a donc privilégié la compatibilité logicielle au rapport puissance/consommation électrique.

La version initiale de Pangea offrait 110.592 coeurs de calcul, 442 To de mémoire vive et 18,4 Po de stockage. Avec cette mise à jour, SGI ajoute 110.592 cœurs de calcul, 589 To de RAM supplémentaires. La puissance totale va passer à 6,7 téraflops, la consommation électrique à… 4,5 MW.

Sources :

« SGI Selected to Boost HPC System for Total – One of the World’s Largest Commercial Deployments », Communiqué de presse, 31 mars 2015

« Total s’équipe du 9e plus puissant calculateur au monde », Usine Nouvelle, 21 mars 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.