Toyota tries removable digital tablet on the dashboard

Toyota TISToyota has just made the official announcement. The manufacturer will fit its Toyota Vios and Yaris sold in Taiwan digital shelves. A tablet on a dashboard, nothing exceptional in this, except that it is a Nexus 7 Android tablet, and it is removable. Called Toyota Intelligent System, this entertainment system onboard a new type is based on a Nexus 7 tablet created by Asus and its subsidiary Unimax created specifically for Toyota. It is therefore not an Android tablet any, but if the initiative meets success with Taiwanese drivers, cars will have made a significant step towards the “consumerization”.

The removable shelf, really good idea or gimmick?

First Nexus 7 tablet integrated in the Toyota IQ dashboard in 2013.

First Nexus 7 tablet integrated in the Toyota IQ dashboard in 2013.

In the 70s, drivers went to the restaurant with their removable car radio in one hand, their leather bag in the other. His alter-ego of the twenty-first century may be the digitizer will of his car with him. Toyota is going to launch the concept in Taiwan, the removable tablet computer acting as the interface of the vehicle entertainment system. The approach was tested in 2013 when a fleet of Toyota IQ electric dedicated to the visit of the Sun-Moon Lake had been fitted with the tablet. Apparently the Japanese manufacturer has tried this test conclusive enough to start marketing the island.

Toyota Vios and Yaris to be equipped, but only in Taiwan

The official presentation of the system Toyota Intelligent System ...

The official presentation of the system Toyota Intelligent System … in the purest tradition of car launches.

The tablet is produced by Unimax, a subsidiary of Asustek, it is a classic Android tablet, a Nexus 7, with its screen 7 ‘, a quad-core NVidia Tegra 3 processor and a handy 4G connection. It has navigation application, music streaming, a user interface that allows it to be manipulated by the driver or passenger. Finally, the user can connect their smartphone to the system board via NFC. Toyota unveiled a Vios equipped with a removable shelf at the official launch, a Yaris should follow. This market is for the moment limited to 2 models and the island of Taiwan only. A launch so relatively small for the world’s leading manufacturer. The Japanese will go there later on success and he will extend this new approach to the world?

Translation : Google Translate

 Sources : “首創可插拔專屬平板電腦之車用音響 結合Car Mode全方位服務App”, Toyota press release, August 20, 2014 “UniMax | ASUS Group Launches An Intelligent Navigation System for Toyota”, UniMAx/Asus press release, April 23, 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile, Logiciel embarqué, Mobile, Objets connectés and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Toyota tente la tablette numérique amovible sur le tableau de bord

Toyota TISToyota vient de faire l’annonce officielle. Le constructeur équipera ses Toyota Vios et Yaris vendues à Taïwan de tablettes numériques. Une tablette sur un tableau de bord, rien d’exceptionnel à cela, si ce n’est que celle-ci est une tablette Android Nexus 7, et qu’elle est amovible. Baptisé Toyota Intelligent System, ce système d’infotainment embarqué d’un nouveau type se base sur une tablette Nexus 7 créée par Asus et sa filiale Unimax créée spécifiquement pour Toyota. Il ne s’agit donc pas d’une tablette Android quelconque, mais si l’initiative rencontre le succès auprès des automobilistes taïwanais, l’automobile aura fait un pas significatif vers la « consumérisation ».

La tablette amovible, vraie bonne idée ou gadget ?

La tablette Nexus 7 intégrée au tableau de bord à la Toyota IQ en 2013.

La tablette Nexus 7 intégrée au tableau de bord à la Toyota IQ en 2013.

Dans les années 70, les automobilistes se rendait au restaurant avec leur autoradio extractible dans une main, leur sacoche cuir dans l’autre. Son alter-ego du XXIe siècle aura peut être la tablette numérique de sa voiture avec lui. Toyota va donc lancer le concept à Taïwan, la tablette numérique amovible jouant le rôle d’interface du système d’infotainment du véhicule. L’approche avait été essayée en 2013 lorsqu’un parc de Toyota IQ électrique dédié à la visite du lac Sun-Moon avait été équipé de la tablette. Visiblement le constructeur japonais a jugé ce test suffisamment concluant pour lancer une commercialisation dans l’île.

Les Toyota Yaris et Vios équipées, mais à Taïwan seulement

Le lancement officiel du système Toyota Intelligent System...

La présentation officielle du système Toyota Intelligent System… dans la plus pure tradition des lancements automobiles.

La tablette est produite par UniMax, filiale d’Asustek, c’est une tablette Android classique, une Nexus 7, avec son écran 7’, un processeur quad-core NVidia Tegra 3 et une bien utile connexion 4G. Celle-ci dispose d’application  de navigation, de streaming musical, une interface utilisateur qui lui permet d’être manipulée par le conducteur ou le passager. Enfin, l’utilisateur peut connecter son smartphone au système de bord via NFC. Toyota a dévoilé une Vios équipée de sa tablette amovible lors du lancement officiel, une Yaris devrait suivre. Cette commercialisation reste pour l’instant limitée à 2 modèles et à l’île de Taïwan seulement. Un lancement donc plutôt restreint pour le premier constructeur mondial. Le japonais ira-t-il plus loin en cas de succès et étendra-t-il cette nouvelle approche au reste du monde ?

 

Sources : « 首創可插拔專屬平板電腦之車用音響 結合Car Mode全方位服務App », Communiqué Toyota, 20 août 2014

« UniMax | ASUS Group Launches An Intelligent Navigation System for Toyota », Communiqué UniMAx/Asus, 23 avril 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, Logiciel embarqué, Mobile, Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.