Toyota entrust American research to develop its autonomous car

Toyota-Advanced-Automated-Safety-Research-Vehicle-(AASRV)Paradoxically, if the image of the first autonomous car of Google, the Toyota Prius, completely around the world, the world’s largest automaker (alternating with Volkswagen) was particularly quiet on the question of the robot car. At CES 2013, Japan unveiled a robot Lexus and then … and that’s all ready! Google, Daimler, Audi, Hyundai, PSA, Delphi, Valeo now actively testing autonomous vehicles on public roads and we still do not see anything coming from the side of number 1 world car.

It is the US that Toyota will go to develop its automated driving technology. A highlight for the No. 1 automaker in Japan, robot homeland if any.

Toyota unveiled its autonomous car at CES 2013, but since …

Dr. A. Gill Pratt, a former organizer of the DARPA Robotics Challenge, now runs the collaboration between Toyota and major US universities

Dr. A. Gill Pratt, a former organizer of the DARPA Robotics Challenge, now runs the collaboration between Toyota and major US universities

When, at CES 2013, Toyota unveiled its robotic Lexus, the Japanese gave a clear signal to the market: as part of its AASRV project (Advanced Automated Safety Research Vehicle), Japanese researchers were about to master technology automated driving. This prototype had a level of integration of systems and LIDAR Radar fairly comparable to that of the first Google Cars. As for the software … mystery as to the progress of Japanese. The images then broadcast by Toyota showed the car on a circuit, but not in urban traffic. No other vehicles, no pedestrians and no cyclists, which greatly simplifies the task of algorithms.

$ 50 million to fund research with Stanford and MIT

2 years later, Toyota showed nothing more, at least publicly. Worse, the Japanese just announced new partnerships with the Universities of Stanford and MIT. Toyota put $ 50 million on the table to boost its research in this area and regain the advantage on Google. A research program over 5 years with two of the most prestigious American universities in robotics. The objective is to improve the capabilities of the autonomous car to understand its environment, recognize the surrounding objects. CES-2013-AASRVThe American image recognition algorithms will help Toyota in this direction, as well as artificial intelligence algorithms that will allow to predict the behavior of other vehicles and pedestrians unpredictable.

At the head of this intense effort in R & amp; D an American: Dr. Gill Pratt. It was he who, when he was program director at the DARPA Robotics Challenge was organized which held spellbound global robotics community. Gill Pratt has now joined the Toyota Center InfoTechnology the manufacturer based in Mountain View.

Translation : Google Translate

Sources :

“Toyota Establishes Collaborative Research Centers with MIT and Stanford to Accelerate Artificial Intelligence Research”, Toyota press release, September 4, 2015

“Toyota Announces Major Push Into AI and Robotics, Wants Cars That Never Crash”, IEEEspectrum, September 4, 2015

“Toyota Brings Advanced Automated Vehicle Technology to U.S. Roads”, Toyota press release, September 4, 2014

“LIDAR, lasers, and logic: Anatomy of an autonomous vehicle”, Digital Trends, february 6, 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile, Robotique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Toyota mise sur la recherche américaine pour développer sa voiture autonome

Toyota-Advanced-Automated-Safety-Research-Vehicle-(AASRV)Paradoxalement, si l’image des premières voitures autonomes de Google, des Toyota Prius, à fait le tour du monde, le premier constructeur automobile mondial (en alternance avec Volkswagen) s’est montré particulièrement discret sur la question de la voiture robot. Lors du CES 2013, le japonais dévoilait une Lexus robotisée et puis… et c’est à peu prêt tout ! Google, Daimler, Audi, Hyundai, PSA, Delphi, Valeo testent aujourd’hui activement des véhicules autonomes sur route ouverte et on ne voit toujours rien venir du côté du numéro 1 mondial de l’automobile.

C’est aux Etats-Unis que Toyota va aller développer sa technologie de conduite automatisée. Un comble pour le constructeur automobile n°1 du Japon, patrie du robot s’il en est.

Toyota a dévoilé sa voiture autonome lors du CES 2013, mais depuis…

Le Dr. Gill A. Pratt, ancien organisation du DARPA Robotics Challenge, dirige aujourd'hui la collaboration entre Toyota et les grandes universités américaines.

Le Dr. Gill A. Pratt, ancien organisateur du DARPA Robotics Challenge, dirige aujourd’hui la collaboration entre Toyota et les grandes universités américaines.

Quand, lors du CES 2013, Toyota a dévoilé sa Lexus robotisée, le japonais donnait un signal clair au marché : dans le cadre de son projet AASRV (Advanced Automated Safety Research Vehicle), les chercheurs japonais étaient sur le point de maîtriser la technologie de la conduite automatisée. Ce prototype présentait un niveau d’intégration des systèmes LIDAR et Radar assez comparable à celui des toutes premières Google Cars. Quant au logiciel… mystère quant à l’avancement des japonais. Les images diffusées alors par Toyota montraient la voiture sur un circuit, mais pas dans la circulation urbaine. Pas d’autres véhicules, pas de piétons et pas de cyclistes, ce qui simplifie beaucoup la tâche des algorithmes.

50 millions de dollars pour financer des recherches menées avec Stanford et le MIT

2 ans plus tard, Toyota n’a rien montré de plus, tout du moins publiquement. Pire, le japonais vient d’annoncer de nouveaux partenariats avec les universités de Stanford et du MIT. Toyota met 50 millions de dollars sur la table pour booster sa recherche dans ce domaine et reprendre l’avantage sur Google. Un programme de recherche sur 5 ans avec deux des plus prestigieuses universités américaines en robotique. L’objectif est d’améliorer les capacités de la voiture autonome à appréhender son environnement, reconnaître les objets environnants. CES-2013-AASRVLes algorithmes de reconnaissance d’image américains vont aider Toyota dans ce sens, de même que les algorithmes d’intelligence artificielles qui vont permettre de prédire le comportement des autres véhicules et des imprévisibles piétons.

A la tête de cet intense effort en R&D un américain : le Docteur Gill Pratt. C’est lui qui, alors qu’il était directeur de programme à la DARPA, était chargé de l’organisation du Robotics Challenge qui a tenu en haleine la communauté robotique mondiale. Gill Pratt a désormais rejoint le Toyota InfoTechnology Center que le constructeur a installé à Mountain View.

Sources :
« Toyota Establishes Collaborative Research Centers with MIT and Stanford to Accelerate Artificial Intelligence Research », Communiqué de presse Toyota, 4 septembre 2015

« Toyota Announces Major Push Into AI and Robotics, Wants Cars That Never Crash », IEEEspectrum, 4 septembre 2015

« Toyota Brings Advanced Automated Vehicle Technology to U.S. Roads », Communiqué de presse Toyota, 4 septembre 2014

« LIDAR, lasers, and logic: Anatomy of an autonomous vehicle », Digital Trends, 6 février 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.