Korean flying a convertible drone to 500 km/h

Smart-UAVNew record for the drone “Smart UAV” of KARI (Korea Aerospace Research Institute), the research centre of South Korea. The image of the V-22 Osprey by Boeing-Bell, it has tilting propellers at the end of its wings. They allow him to take off vertically like a helicopter, then pane horizontally at the speed of a conventional aircraft. A concept, the Koreans have now mastered across the drone. Their TR-60 is seems – it able to hold air for 6 hours and perform peak speeds up to 500 km/h.

The Korea goal: become a major drone manufacturer by 2023

KARI will devote $ 91 million in the development of drones to 2023. The objective is clear: put South Korea into the Top 5 manufacturers of civilian and military drones. Currently, the country holds, according to figures provided by the Research Institute, world seventh, with an output of 90 million dollars of drones in 2013. The objective is ambitious because the market is expanding. The Korea hopes to produce drones in 2022 $ 522 million and enter in the top 5 in 2023, a year where the world market will be of the order of $ 12 billion.

 KARI presents the range of convertible drones working on Korean research centre. (Image: Arirang)

KARI presents the range of convertible drones working on Korean research centre. (Image: Arirang)

If the TR-60 convertible is spearheaded by the Korean research, Kari unveiled from multiple drones to journalists to Arirang. The convertible itself already seems to have declined in 3 versions of increasing sizes. Applications referred by the journalist are very broad and appears to be several drones presented in his report. It is more than doubtful that the TR-60 is able to go into the stratosphere, capable of achieving mission surveillance, rescue, reconnaissance and even transport and communications relay… It is all a range of different drones that South Korea is preparing to market. Korea, a future giant in the industry of the UAV? According to Jin Joo, Director, KARI, TR-60 studies will be completed in 2023 and mass production will begin in 2024.

 
Source : “Korea unveils its TR-60 UAV, the world’s fastest tiltrotor”, Arirang, April 20, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Les coréens font voler un drone convertible à 500 km/h

Smart-UAVRecord battu pour le drone Smart UAV du KARI (Korea Aerospace Research Institute), le centre de recherches aérospatiale de Corée du Sud. A l’image du V-22 Osprey de Boeing-Bell, celui-ci dispose d’hélices basculantes au bout de ses ailes. Elles lui permettent de décoller verticalement à la façon d’un hélicoptère, puis de volet horizontalement à la vitesse d’un avion classique. Un concept que les coréens maîtrisent désormais à l’échelle du drone. Leur TR-60 est semble-il capable de tenir l’air pendant 6 heures et effectuer des pointes de vitesse pouvant atteindre 500 km/h.

Objectif pour la Corée : devenir un constructeur de drone majeur d’ici 2023

Le KARI va consacrer 91 millions de dollars dans le développement de drones jusqu’en 2023. L’objectif est clair : placer la Corée du Sud dans le Top 5 des constructeurs de drones civils et militaires. Actuellement, le pays occupe, selon les chiffres fournis par l’institut de recherche, la septième place mondiale, avec une production de 90 million de dollars de drones en 2013. L’objectif est ambitieux puisque le marché est en expansion. La Corée espère produire pour 522 millions de dollars de drones en 2022 puis entrer dans le top 5 en 2023, une année où le marché mondial sera de l’ordre de 12 milliards de dollars.

Jin Joo, directeur du KARI présente la gamme de drones convertibles sur lequel travaille le centre de recherche coréen. (Image : Arirang)

Jin Joo, directeur du KARI présente la gamme de drones convertibles sur lequel travaille le centre de recherche coréen. (Image : Arirang)

Si le convertible TR-60 est le fer de lance de la recherche coréenne, le Kari a dévoilé de multiples drones aux journalistes d’Arirang. Le convertible lui-même semble déjà avoir été décliné en 3 versions de tailles croissantes. Les applications évoquées par la journaliste sont très larges et semble correspondre à plusieurs drones présentés dans son reportage. Il est plus que douteux que le TR-60 soit capable d’aller dans la stratosphère, capable de réaliser des mission de surveillance, de sauvetage, de reconnaissance et encore de transport et de relais de communication… C’est bien toute une palette de drones différents que la Corée du Sud se prépare à commercialiser. La Corée, un futur géant dans l’industrie du drone ? Selon Jin Joo, directeur du KARI, les études du TR-60 seront bouclée en 2023 et la production de masse pourra commencer en 2024.

 
Source : « Korea unveils its TR-60 UAV, the world’s fastest tiltrotor », Arirang, 20 avril 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.