The first turbojet engine completely printed in 3D unveiled in Australia

Turbine-3DIt is a small turbine such as those that power the helicopters or some missiles, and yet it marks a key step in industrial history. Presented at the Avalon Airshow, this turbine was conducted by Amaero Engineering, a spin-off of the Monash Australian University, in cooperation with the french Microturbo/Turbomeca of Safran subsidiary. If it still a turbine ‘ salon’, it shows that more and more high alloy performance are controlled in 3D printing and demonstrates that the level of quality of the metal pieces produced in additive manufacturing now reach standard aviation, standard among the highest in the industry.

A project by Amaero Engineering with the Safran

The stand of Amaero Engineering on the Avalon Airshow

The stand of Amaero Engineering on the Avalon Airshow

Australia, like many other developed countries, relies on 3D printing to bring into the country of foreign parts industries. This is particularly the case of the aviation industry where local manufacturers could make spare parts for lighter thanks to means of production purchased abroad devices. It is in any case will the Australia and particularly Dr. Robert Hobbs, CEO ofAmaero Engineering, a startup from Monash University and putting into practice this printing 3D and metallurgy University research. On its site Web, the startup Announces master 3D printing with of multiple high-performance alloys, both in printing SLS (Selective Laser Sintering) on a bed of powder in print by screening of powder and fusion laser (Blown Powder Laser Melting). The startup Announces master the production of parts in Hastelloy (nickel-based alloy), stainless steel 17-4 PH, aluminum 6061-T6 and AlSi10Mg, and titanium Ti 6Al 4V alloy and yet the 300 to 18% Nickel maraging steel (the Steelworkers will appreciate).

BLISK-and-Impellor-with-lattice-structure-coreA palette that has apparently convinced several industrialists of the aviation industry to work with the startup that evokes projects with Airbus, Boeing, Raytheon. On its stand, Dr. Robert Hobbs was a small turbojet engine completely printed in 3D, a project with saffron. This small and non-functional reactor is of the type produced by Turbomeca in Bordes, in the Pyrénées-Atlantiques. The Safran Group has already announced bet on 3D printing with investments made on its site in Bordes. A strategy which also involves the Australia.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“3D printing: Australian researchers create jet engine, breakthrough captures attention of Airbus and Boeing”, ABC News, February 26, 2015

“The world’s first printed jet engine”, Communiqué de presse de l’université de Monash, February 26, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Le premier turboréacteur entièrement imprimé en 3D dévoilé en Australie

Turbine-3DC’est une petite turbine telle que celles qui motorisent les hélicoptères ou certains missiles, et pourtant elle marque une étape clef dans l’histoire industrielle. Présentée lors de l’Avalon Airshow, cette turbine a été réalisée par Amaero Engineering, un spin-off de l’université australienne de Monash, en coopération avec le français Turbomeca/Microturbo, filiale de Safran. S’il ne s’agit encore que d’une turbine « de salon », celle-ci démontre que de plus en plus d’alliage haute performance sont maîtrisés en impression 3D et témoigne que le niveau de qualité des pièces métal produites en fabrication additive atteignent maintenant les standards aviation, des standard parmi les plus élevés dans l’industrie.

Un projet mené par Amaero Engineering avec le groupe Safran

Le stand d'Amaero Engineering sur l'Avalon Airshow

Le stand d’Amaero Engineering sur l’Avalon Airshow

L’Australie, comme bon nombre d’autres pays développés, mise sur l’impression 3D pour ramener dans le pays des industries parties à l’étranger. C’est notamment le cas de l’industrie aéronautique où les industriels locaux pourraient réaliser des pièces détachées pour les appareils achetés à l’étranger grâce à des moyens de production plus légers. C’est en tout cas la volonté de l’Australie et en particulier du docteur Robert Hobbs, PDG d’Amaero Engineering, une startup issue de l’université de Monash et qui met en pratique les recherches de cette université en matière d’impression 3D et de métallurgie. Sur son site Web, la startup annonce maîtriser l’impression 3D avec de multiples alliages haute-performance, tant en impression SLS ( Selective Laser Sintering) sur lit de poudre qu’en impression par projection de poudre et fusion laser (Blown Powder Laser Melting). La startup annonce maîtriser la production de pièces en Hastelloy (alliage à base de nickel), en alliage d’acier inoxydable 17-4 PH,  en aluminium 6061-T6 et AlSi10Mg et titanium Ti 6Al 4V et encore l’acier maraging 300 à 18% de Nickel (Les métallurgistes apprécieront).

BLISK-and-Impellor-with-lattice-structure-coreUne palette qui a semble-t-il convaincu plusieurs industriels de l’industrie aéronautique de travailler avec la startup qui évoque des projets avec Airbus, Boeing, Raytheon. Sur son stand, le docteur Robert Hobbs présentait un petit turboréacteur entièrement imprimé en 3D, un projet mené avec Safran. Ce petit réacteur, non fonctionnel, est du type de ceux que produit Turbomeca à Bordes, dans les Pyrénées-Atlantiques. Le groupe Safran a déjà annoncé miser sur l’impression 3D avec des investissements réalisé sur son site de Bordes. Une stratégie qui passe aussi par l’Australie.

Sources :

« 3D printing: Australian researchers create jet engine, breakthrough captures attention of Airbus and Boeing », ABC News, 26 février 2015

« The world’s first printed jet engine », Communiqué de presse de l’université de Monash, 26 février 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.