The Navy waives its ucav and transforms it into a tanker

X-47B (U.S. Navy-photo-by-Liz Wolter)Coup de théâtre. The Pentagon has published its draft budget 2017 and it appears that UCLASS ucav programme is abandoned in favour of a drone of in-flight refuelling. It is therefore a surprise while the X-47B, put drone developed by Northrop Grumman under this program, had marked the spirits by being the first UAV to be catapulted from an aircraft carrier at sea on May 14, 2014. He had then made the first landing in the history of combat drones a few months later. Desire to protect the F-35 including the derivative program is still not jammed or immaturity of the drone to attack, the Pentagon gave no explanation. The AviationWeek interview by Web Bush, CEO of Northrop Grumman book sound analysis of the maturity of the X-47B.

The Pentagon ruled: more drone to attack for the Navy

The Cleaver fell. The UCLASS (Carrier-Launched Unmanned Airborne Surveillance and Strike), stealth drone able to take off from an aircraft carrier to hit an enemy in an autonomous way, joined forgotten resting already so many non successful prototypes. The Navy waives its drone and transforms the program UCLASS in CBARS for Carrier – Based Aerial – Refueling System.

Appontage X-47B (Photo U.S. Navy photo by Mass-Communication-Specialist-Seaman-Apprentice Alex Millar)

August 17, 2014, the X-47B landing on the USS Theodore Roosevelt. (Photo: U.S. Navy)


An aircraft that will be so totally dedicated to the refuelling of the F/A-18 aircraft and no doubt one day the F-35. The future CBARS will be so very different from the small X-47B the carrying capacity, 2 tons only, seems to be very modest if compared to that of an F/A-18 Super Hornet, which can take more than 7 tonnes of additional fuel tanks. Boeing, General Atomics Aeronautical Systems, Lockheed Martin and Northrop Grumman will have to review their copies and create a tanker drone.

In his interview with AviationWeek, CEO of Northrop Grumman highlights the challenge posed by the development of a drone, a device that moves in 3 dimensions to hundreds of mph, in all weathers and in an environment of war electronic and, although obviously, locate and attack targets assigned.

The CEO of Northrop Grumman acknowledges that much code remains to develop

The first challenge was landing and operations aboard an aircraft carrier. In appearance, the X – 47 B has successfully passed this stage, earning Northrop Grumman “Collier Trophy”. The story delivered by Wes Bush wants to landing, the drone strikes very exactly the bridge of the aircraft carrier in the same place, what a human driver would be unable to make.

X47-B (Photo U.S. Navy)

April 22, 2015, the X-47B successfully a first refuelling, off the coast of Maryland and Virginia. (U.S. Navy photo)


The Navy even had to ask the manufacturer to allow some differences of trajectory to the X-47B so as not to damage the aircraft carrier deck.
The second stage of development, making the supply drone in flight was passed last April. However, the X – 47B is far from being a weapon system. Wes Bush, the next challenge is to fly the drone in a context of electronic warfare, it means an environment where bindings radios and sensors of the drones will be scrambled. The drone will have to learn to fly without GPS.

The CEO of Northrop Grumman stressed that the development of these technologies is far from linear. Thus, in 1974 the firmware of the first F-16 had only 135,000 lines of code. The F-35 had 7 million at the beginning of its development, in 2006 against 24 million today. The message is cryptic: still much code to write before the descendant of the X-47B a true weapon of war. That is probably why the Navy is going to be satisfied with a tanker drone in a first time before of wanting to have a combat-ready ucav.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Opinion: Wes Bush is the CEO of Northrop Grumman : Enormous Challenges For Autonomous Aircraft”, AviationWeek, February 5, 2016

“Pentagon budget 2017: USN changes course on UCLASS, will add F-35Cs to 2017 budget”, IHS Jane’s 360, February 4, 2016

“Navy’s UCLASS Competition Delayed Until Next Year”, DefenseTech, February 4, 2015

“U.S. Navy delays competition for carrier-based drone to FY16”, Reuters, February 2, 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Aéronautique and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

La Navy renonce à son drone de combat et le transforme en ravitailleur

X-47B (U.S. Navy-photo-by-Liz Wolter)Coup de théâtre. Le Pentagone vient de publier son projet de budget 2017 et il apparaît que le programme de drone de combat UCLASS est abandonné au profit d’un drone de ravitaillement en vol. C’est donc une surprise alors que le X-47B, drone mis au point par Northrop Grumman dans le cadre de ce programme, avait marqué les esprits en étant le premier drone à être catapulté d’un porte-avion en mer le 14 mai 2014. Il avait ensuite réalisé le premier appontage de l’histoire des drones de combat quelques mois plus tard. Volonté de protéger le programme du F-35 dont la dérive n’est toujours pas enrayée ou immaturité du drone d’attaque, le Pentagone n’a pas donné d’explication. L’interview accordée à AviationWeek par Web Bush, le PDG de Northrop Grumman  livre son analyse de la maturité du X-47B.

Le Pentagone a tranché : Plus de drone d’attaque pour la Navy

Le couperet est tombé. Le UCLASS (Unmanned Carrier-Launched Airborne Surveillance and Strike), drone furtif capable de décoller d’un porte-avions pour aller frapper un ennemi de manière autonome, rejoint les oubliettes où reposent déjà tant de prototypes non aboutis. La Navy renonce à son drone et transforme le programme UCLASS en CBARS pour Carrier-Based Aerial-Refueling System.

Appontage X-47B (Photo U.S. Navy photo by Mass-Communication-Specialist-Seaman-Apprentice Alex Millar)

Le 17 août 2014, le X-47B apponte sur le USS Theodore Roosevelt. (Photo: U.S. Navy)

Un avion qui sera donc totalement dédié au ravitaillement en vol des appareils F/A-18 et sans doute un jour le F-35. Le futur CBARS sera donc fort différent du petit X-47B dont la capacité d’emport, 2 tonnes seulement, paraît bien modeste si on la compare à celle d’un F/A-18 Super Hornet qui peut emporter plus de 7 tonnes de réservoirs supplémentaires. Boeing, General Atomics Aeronautical Systems, Lockheed Martin et Northrop Grumman vont devoir revoir leurs copies et créer un drone ravitailleur.

Dans son interview à AviationWeek, le PDG de Northrop Grumman souligne le défit que constitue la mise au point d’un drone embarqué, un appareil qui se déplace dans les 3 dimensions à plusieurs centaines de km/h, par tous les temps et dans un environnement de guerre électronique et, bien évidemment, repérer et attaquer les cibles qui lui sont assignées.

Le PDG de Northrop Grumman reconnaît que beaucoup de code reste à développer

Le premier défi fut l’appontage et les opérations à bord d’une porte avion. En apparence, le X-47B a passé avec succès cette étape, ce qui a valu à Northrop Grumman  le « Collier Trophy ». L’anecdote livrée par Wes Bush veut qu’à l’appontage, le drone frappe très exactement le pont du porte-avion au même endroit, ce qu’un pilote humain serait bien incapable de faire.

X47-B (Photo U.S. Navy)

Le 22 avril 2015, le X-47B réussissait un premier ravitaillement en vol, au large des côtes du Maryland et de Virginie. (Photo U.S. Navy)

La Navy a même dû demander au constructeur de permettre quelques écarts de trajectoire au X-47B de manière à ne pas endommager le pont de porte-avion.

La seconde étape du développement, rendre le drone ravitailleur en vol a été passée en avril dernier. Pour autant, le X-47B est loin d’être un système d’arme. Pour Wes Bush, le prochain défi sera de faire voler le drone dans un contexte de guerre électronique, c’est à dire un environnement où les liaisons radios et capteurs du drones vont être brouillés. Le drone va devoir apprendre à voler sans GPS.

Le PDG de Northrop Grumman souligne que le développement de ces technologies est loin d’être linéaire. Ainsi, en 1974 le logiciel embarqué du premier F-16 ne comptait que 135.000 lignes de code. Le F-35 en comptait 7 million au début de son développement, en 2006  contre 24 millions aujourd’hui. Le message est sibyllin : Beaucoup de code reste à écrire avant de faire du descendant du X-47B une véritable arme de guerre. C’est sans doute pour cela que la Navy va se contenter d’un drone ravitailleur dans un premier temps avant que de vouloir disposer d’un drone de combat prêt au combat.

Sources :

« Opinion: Wes Bush is the CEO of Northrop Grumman : Enormous Challenges For Autonomous Aircraft », AviationWeek, 5 février 2016

« Pentagon budget 2017: USN changes course on UCLASS, will add F-35Cs to 2017 budget », IHS Jane’s 360, 4 février 2016

« Navy’s UCLASS Competition Delayed Until Next Year », DefenseTech, 4 février 2015

« U.S. Navy delays competition for carrier-based drone to FY16 », Reuters, 2 février 2015

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Aéronautique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.