China: Combat robots are coming!

Terminator-SalvationNorinco, the Chinese military-industrial giant booked a little surprise during the Zhuhai airshow. While the new Chinese stealth fighter, the CF-31, drew all eyes, Norinco has unveiled several combat robots indifferently armed with a machine gun or a rifle. These UGV (Unmanned Ground Vehicle) are designed to replace soldiers in the most dangerous situations. For the first time these robots are available for export. This is the first time that these warrior robots are offered for sale on the world market.

The first armed robots are already in service in South Korea

Norinco-Sharp-Claw

The Sharp Claw 1 unveiled by Norinco in Zhuhai.

China launches its combat robots in the assault on the world market. Norinco, the flagship of China’s military industry has unveiled several robots armed during the Zhuhai airshow. Client countries of China will dare to deploy such machines in the ranks of their armies? For now, also the drones, robots are used for mine clearance or non-armed reconnaissance. Much talked first exercises conducted by the U.S. Army in Hawaii with transport LS3 Big Dog Boston Dynamics quadrupeds, but the US military have already tested robots armed to Fort Benning in 2013. Meanwhile, South Korea is one of the few armed to the step when installing defensive robots Samsung at its border with the North.

A global market of more than 8 billion dollars in 2020

The very aggressive MAARS of Anglo-American Qinetiq, tested by the US Army in 2013.

The very aggressive MAARS of Anglo-American Qinetiq, tested by the US Army in 2013.

The market of the UGV, be it civilian or military, is far from being anecdotal. According to MarketandMarkets, it will represent 1.51 billion in 2014. Analysts estimate that it should be multiplied by 5 by 2020 and $ 8.26 billion. Currently the United States and his English ally represent to them two 53 per cent of the global market, ahead of the Germany and the Japan. Major suppliers are iRobot, Northrop Grumman, QinetiQ, Cobham, Lockheed Martin and General Dynamics. Norinco therefore seeks to be a place in this ranking.

2 robots were unveiled by Norinco in Zhuhai. The lighter, baptized “Battle Robot” seems to be a copy of the 510 Packbot, a well known demining robot iRobot. Its Chinese version was presented armed with his remote control device. The second, the Sharp Claw 1 is heavier and more ambitious. Autonomous, it was presented with a 6 × 6, the Sharp Claw 2 autonomous transport vehicle. Armed, Sharp Claw 1 displays 120 kg on the scale and seems a replica to the MAARS of Qinetiq. Will he find takers with the allies of China on the world market?

Sources :

“Airshow China: Rise of the robots”, Shephard Media, November 13, 2014

“Airshow China 2014: Norinco debuts Battle Robot UGV”, IHS Jane’s 360, November 12, 2014

 “Global demand for unmanned ground vehicles (UGVs) to grow five-fold over next six years”, Military&Aerospace Electronics, September 5, 2014

“BigDog enjoys walkies with US Marines in Hawaii”, Wired, July 15, 2014

Armed Robots Demo at Fort Benning”, Military.com, October 18, 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Robotique and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Chine : Les robots de combat arrivent !

Terminator-SalvationNorinco, le géant militaro-industriel chinois a réservé une petite surprise lors du salon aéronautique de Zhuhai. Alors que le nouvel avion furtif chinois, le FC-31, attirait tous les regards, Norinco a dévoilé plusieurs robots de combat armés indifféremment d’une mitrailleuse ou d’un fusil. Ces UGV (Unmanned Ground Vehicle) ont pour but de remplacer les soldats dans les situations les plus dangereuses. Pour la première fois ces robots tueurs sont proposés à l’exportation. C’est la première fois que de tel robots guerriers sont proposés à la vente sur le marché mondial.

Les premiers robots armés sont déjà en service en Corée du Sud

Norinco-Sharp-Claw

Le Sharp Claw 1 dévoilé par Norinco à Zhuhai.

La Chine lance ses robots de combat à l’assaut du marché mondial. Norinco, le fleuron de l’industrie militaire chinoise a dévoilé plusieurs robots armés lors du salon aéronautique de Zhuhai. Les pays clients de la Chine oseront-ils déployer de telles machines dans les rangs de leurs armées ? Pour l’instant, outre les drones, les robots ne sont utilisés que pour le déminage ou la reconnaissance non armée. On a beaucoup parlé des premiers exercices menés par l’armée américaines à Hawaï avec les quadrupèdes de transport LS3 Big Dog de Boston Dynamics, mais les militaires américains ont déjà testé des robots armés à Fort Benning en 2013. De son côté, la Corée du Sud est l’une des rares armées à avoir franchi le pas en installant des robots défensifs Samsung à sa frontière avec le nord.

Un marché mondial de plus de 8 milliards de dollars en 2020

Le très agressif  MAARS de l'anglais Qinetiq.

Le très agressif MAARS de l’anglo-américain Qinetiq, testé par l’armée américaine en 2013.

Le marché des UGV, qu’il soit civil ou militaire, est loin d’être anecdotique. Selon MarketandMarkets, il représentera 1,51 milliard de dollars en 2014. Les analystes estiment que celui-ci devrait être multiplié par 5 d’ici à 2020 et atteindre 8,26 milliards de dollars. Actuellement les Etats-Unis et son allié anglais représentent à eux deux 53% du marché mondial, devant l’Allemagne et le Japon. Les grands fournisseurs sont iRobot, Northrop Grumman, QinetiQ, Cobham, Lockheed Martin et General Dynamics. Norinco cherche donc à se faire une place dans ce classement.

2 robots ont été dévoilés par Norinco à Zhuhai. Le plus léger, baptisé « Battle Robot » semble être une copie de l’iRobot 510 Packbot, un robot de déminage bien connu. Sa version chinoise était présentée armée, avec son dispositif de télécommande. Le second, le Sharp Claw 1 est plus lourd et plus ambitieux. Autonome, il était présenté avec un véhicule de transport autonome 6×6, le Sharp Claw 2. Armé, le Sharp Claw 1 affiche 120 kg sur la balance, et semble une réplique au MAARS de Qinetiq. Trouvera-t-il preneur auprès des alliés de la Chine sur le marché mondial ?

Sources :

« Airshow China: Rise of the robots », Shephard Media, 13 novembre 2014

« Airshow China 2014: Norinco debuts Battle Robot UGV », IHS Jane’s 360, 12 novembre 2014

 « Global demand for unmanned ground vehicles (UGVs) to grow five-fold over next six years », Military&Aerospace Electronics, 5 septembre 2014
« BigDog enjoys walkies with US Marines in Hawaii », Wired, 15 juillet 2014
« Armed Robots Demo at Fort Benning », Military.com, 18 octobre 2013

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Robotique, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.