V2V: 10.000 connected vehicules to run in the streets of New York

NYCMore than radar or hardening of the Highway Code, the United States rely on technology to reduce the number of road accidents. Among the tracks currently being studied, communication technology between vehicles (V2V) and vehicle to infrastructure (V2I). After an initial experiment conducted in Ann Harbor, Michigan, $ 42 million just been released to conduct a large-scale test in New York, Wyoming and Tampa, Florida.

The V2V could prevent 80% of collisions among vehicles

If every car, every truck and every bus can communicate with other vehicles when traffic congestion, accidents many of collision and congestion could be avoided. This is the position of the US Department of Transportation wants to eventually that every new vehicle is equipped with V2V communication equipment (Vehicle to Vehicle), as well as infrastructure such as traffic lights, stoppages buses will also be equipped to allow such exchanges V2I (Vehicle to Infrastructure).CV-PilotExperts estimate that 80% of collisions be avoided through this exchange of information widespread and significant effects are expected in the regulation of traffic and in reducing CO2 emissions.

The first large-scale test was conducted in 2012 near Chicago, in the small town of Ann Harbor. Almost 3000 vehicles were so equipped.

By unlocking $ 42 million, the US Department of Transportation now to the next level. Rural State, Wyoming will allow to validate the interest of V2V and V2I the approach to an important logistics corridor. East-West, Interstate 80 is used by vehicles 11000-16000 every day. The communications equipment will follow closely the intense traffic logistics.

NYC-V2VA Tampa, Florida, is in the city center that technology will be tested to protect pedestrians. Residents will be able to install an application on their smartphones that will allow to be geolocated by surrounding vehicles. A vehicle equipped V2V dampen automatically in an emergency if a pedestrian is likely to be hit.

Finally, it is in New York that the biggest deployment will take place. 10,000 vehicles in the city will be equipped for buses, limousines and cars. In parallel, the traffic lights located between 14th and 66th streets in Manhattan to Brooklyn will be equipped, as the expressway Franklin Roosevelt.

This deployment is part of a larger program “Smart Cities” initiated by the White House which has a budget of $ 160 million and covers 25 technology projects.

Translation : Google Translate
 

Sources :

“U.S. Department of Transportation Announces up to $42 Million in Next Generation Connected Vehicle Technologies”, U.S. Department of Transportation press release, September 14, 2015

“Administration Announces New “Smart Cities” Initiative to Help Communities Tackle Local Challenges and Improve City Services”, The White House press release, September 14, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Non classé and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

V2V : 10.000 voitures communicantes rouleront dans les rues de New-York

NYCPlus que sur les radars ou le durcissement du code de la route, les Etats-Unis misent sur la technologie pour réduire le nombre d’accidents de la route. Parmi les pistes actuellement à l’étude, les technologies de communication entre véhicules (V2V) et de véhicules à infrastructure (V2I). Après une première expérimentation menée à Ann Harbor, dans le Michigan, 42 millions de dollars viennent d’être débloqués afin de mener un test à grande échelle à New-York, dans le Wyoming et à Tampa, en Floride.

Le V2V pourrait éviter 80% des collisions entres véhicules

Si chaque voiture, chaque camion et chaque bus pouvait communiquer avec les autres véhicules en cas d’embouteillage, d’accident bon nombre des collision et d’embouteillages pourraient être évités. C’est la position du ministère des transports américain qui veut, à terme, que chaque nouveau véhicule soit équipé d’un équipement de communication V2V (Vehicule to Vehicule), de même que les infrastructure telles que les feux de signalisation, les arrêts de bus seront aussi équipé pour permettre des échanges de type V2I (Vehicule to Infrastructure). CV-PilotLes spécialistes estiment que 80% des collisions être évitées grâce à cet échange d’information généralisé et des effets notables sont espérés dans la régulation du trafic et dans la réduction des émissions de CO2.

Le premier test à grande échelle à été mené en 2012 près de Chicago, dans la petite ville d’Ann Harbor. Près de 3 000 véhicules ont été alors équipés.

En débloquant 42 millions de dollars, le département des transports américain passe maintenant à la vitesse supérieure. Etat rural, le Wyoming va permettre de valider l’intérêt de l’approche V2V et V2I sur un corridor logistique important. Axe Est-Ouest, l’Interstate 80 est emprunté par 11.000 à 16.000 véhicules chaque jour. Les équipements de communications permettront de suivre au plus près cet intense trafic logistique.

NYC-V2VA Tampa, en Floride, c’est en centre ville que la technologie va être testée afin de protéger les piétons. Les habitants vont pouvoir installer sur leurs smartphones une application qui va permettre d’être géolocalisé par les véhicules environnants. Un véhicules équipé V2V freinera automatiquement en cas d’urgence si un piéton risque d’être percuté.

Enfin,  c’est à New-York que le plus gros déploiement va avoir lieu. 10.000 véhicules de la ville vont être équipés, depuis les bus, les limousines et des voitures. En parallèle, les feux de signalisation situés entre les 14e et 66e rues de Manhattan jusqu’à Brooklyn vont être équipés, de même que la voie rapide Franklin Roosevelt.

Ce déploiement fait partie d’un vaste programme « Smart Cities » initié par la Maison Blanche qui bénéficie d’une enveloppe de 160 millions de dollars et porte sur 25 projets technologiques.

 

Sources :

« U.S. Department of Transportation Announces up to $42 Million in Next Generation Connected Vehicle Technologies », Communiqué de presse du U.S. Department of Transportation, 14 septembre 2015

« Administration Announces New “Smart Cities” Initiative to Help Communities Tackle Local Challenges and Improve City Services », Communiqué de presse de la Maison Blanche, 14 septembre 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Non classé, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.