Velodyne breaks the price of its LiDAR for the autonomous car

The cost of on-board electronics will be a key element in the adoption speed of the autonomous car and one of the key points remains that of the very many sensors needed for the algorithms that will drive the car in the middle of the traffic. In this respect, however, the LiDAR (laser detection and ranging) with a cost of several thousand dollars per unit remains a brake on the appearance of autonomous cars at a cost compatible with what motorists are willing to put in a car. Velodyne, one of the main manufacturers of LiDAR has just announced that it will be able to halve the price of its VLP-16, a “small” LiDAR on board. One of the obstacles to the marketing of autonomous cars has just been overcome.

Industrialization of autonomous car components is underway

In 2016, Baidu and Ford were injecting $150 million into the U. S. -based Velodyne, a colossal amount of money that underscores the importance this OEM will take in the future. The role of this sensor is crucial in an autonomous car because it transforms the environment around the car into a 3D scene that can be understood by algorithms.

The Velodyne LiDAR VLP-16 Puck

In a short press release, David Hall, its founder, explains that the growing demand for these LiDARs and thus the growing production capacity, Velodyne can halve the volume prices of its VLP-16, an ultra-compact entry-level model that can be integrated into the “classic” design of a car without having to mount a sensor battery on the roof. he says that the “Megafactory” created by Velodyne in San José employs thousands of people and that the number of employees has just been doubled to meet the needs of car manufacturers.
This VLP-16 is not Velodyne’s flagship model, the Ultra Puck VLP-32C and the all-new VLS-128, but we’re still in the early stages of history.
Source : “Velodyne Slashes the Price in Half of Its Most Popular LiDAR Sensor”, Velodyne press release, 1st of january 2018

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Velodyne casse le prix de son LiDAR pour la voiture autonome

Le coût de l’électronique embarqué sera un élément clé dans la vitesse d’adoption de la voiture autonome et l’un des points clé reste celui des très nombreux capteurs nécessaires aux algorithmes qui vont conduire la voiture au milieu de la circulation. Or sur ce plan, le LiDAR (laser detection and ranging) avec un coût de plusieurs milliers de dollars l’unité reste un frein à l’apparition de voitures autonomes à un coût compatible avec ce que les automobilistes sont prêt à mettre dans une voiture. Velodyne, l’un des principaux constructeurs de LiDAR vient d’annoncer pouvoir diviser par 2 le prix de son VLP-16, un « petit » LiDAR embarqué. L’un des obstacles vers la commercialisation des voitures autonomes vient d’être franchi.

L’industrialisation des composants de la voiture autonome est en marche

En 2016, Baidu et Ford injectaient 150 millions de dollars dans l’américain Velodyne, une somme colossale soulignant l’importance que cet équipementier allait prendre dans le futur. Le rôle de ce capteur est capital dans une voiture autonome car c’est lui qui transforme l’environnement autour de la voiture en une scène 3D compréhensible par les algorithmes.

Le LiDAR VLP-16 Puck de Velodyne

Par un bref communiqué, David Hall, son fondateur explique que la demande croissante pour ces LiDAR et donc les capacités de production s’accroissant, Velodyne peut diviser par deux les prix au volume de son VLP-16, un modèle d’entrée de gamme ultra-compact pouvant être intégré au design « classique » d’une voiture sans avoir à monter une batterie de capteur sur le toit. il affirme que la « Megafactory » crée par Velodyne à San José emploie des milliers de personnes et que le nombre d’employé vient d’être doublé afin de répondre aux besoins des constructeurs automobiles.
Ce VLP-16 n’est pas le fleuron de Velodyne qui propose des modèles bien plus précis et puissants, les Ultra Puck VLP-32C et le tout nouveau VLS-128, mais nous n’en sommes encore qu’aux débuts de l’histoire.
Source : « Velodyne Slashes the Price in Half of Its Most Popular LiDAR Sensor », communiqué de presse Velodyne, 1er janvier 2018

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.