Internet of Things : Verizon bet on LTE Cat1 to connect objects

PrecisionHawkWhile the french like Sigfox and LoRa operators rely on UNB (Ultra Narrow Band) to meet the needs of the connected objects, Verizon has chosen another technical option. US Cellular operator put on the 4G for the market of the Internet of things. He has just launched the first LTE Cat 1 networks to meet the expectations of manufacturers who need to connect their products. First client driver this network specialized for the M2M, Precision Hawk, operator of drones for the agricultural market.

UNB, GSM and LTE networks will share a $ 10 billion cake of M2M communications

According to figures of the GSMA, the cell will be in 2020 974 million dollars on the market of networks of communication for connected objects that will then represent $ 10 billion. Verizon is already positioned in this segment by opening the world’s first LTE Cat 1 network. This version of the 4G is more limited in terms of speed (10 Mbit/s) theoretical against 300 Mbps for LTE but with power consumption more reduce and thus compatible to advantage of connected smartphones and Tablet objects. Verizon LTE Cat-1Verizon officially opened its network and offers the designer to connected object APIs on its Cloud ThingSpace platform to develop software that will be able to operate this network, while fleas LTE Cat 1 of Sequans and Altair have been certified for this new Verizon network. For its part still networks already obtained the certification of a LTE Cat 1 router.

Many cellular operators will certainly follow Verizon on this path, to started by Orange, the day of the announcement of the deployment of its network LoRa has also work with Ericsson for experimenting with Iot on GSM with the EC – GSM as well as LTE – MTC standard, optimized version of the 4 G developed by Qualcomm.

If Orange is planning to be present just as much on LoRa on EC – GSM and LTE, it is the characteristics in terms of flow, scope and consumption of low flow and cellular networks are quite different. If the UNB to create connected objects able to function without external power supply and cell coverage for years, the volumes of data it is possible to send are very low. EC – GSM and LTE will complement upwards this ultra low-speed network with solutions that require you a power supply that will allow the sending of larger amounts of data, including video streaming. What are the designers of objects connected that, depending on the constraints of autonomy and the volume of data that they will have to transmit will choose which meets their expectations.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Verizon announces availability of world’s first Cat1 LTE network features for IoT, expands its ThingSpace Platform”, Verizon press release, December 1st 2015

“Ericsson and Orange trial Internet of Things (IoT) over GSM and LTE”, Ericsson press release, November 25, 2015

“As LTE defends itself against LPWA, convergence is on the cards”, Wireless Watch, MAy 7, 2015

“Making LTE lighter, cheaper (and slower) for the Internet of Things”, FierceWireless, March 2, 2015

“New GSMA study highlights makor M2M market opportunity”, GMSA press release, September 22, 2014

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Non classé and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Internet des objets : Verizon mise sur la 4G de type LTE Cat 1

PrecisionHawkAlors que les opérateurs français comme Sigfox et les opérateurs LoRa misent sur l’UNB (Ultra Narrow Band) pour répondre aux besoins des objets connectés, Verizon a choisi une autre option technique. L’opérateur cellulaire américain mise en effet sur la 4G pour le marché de l’Internet des objets. Il vient de lancer le premier réseau LTE Cat 1 pour répondre aux attentes des industriels qui ont besoin de connecter leurs produits. Premier client pilote de ce réseaux spécialisé pour le M2M, Precision Hawk, opérateur de drones pour le marché agricole.

Les réseaux M2M UNB, GSM et LTE vont se partager un gâteau de 10 milliards de dollars

Selon les chiffres du GSMA, le cellulaire représentera en 2020 974 millions de dollars sur le marché des réseaux de communication pour les objets connectés  qui représentera alors 10 milliards de dollars. Verizon se positionne d’ores et déjà sur ce segment en ouvrant le premier réseau LTE Cat 1 au monde. Cette version de la 4G est plus limitée en termes de débit (10 Mbit/s théoriques contre 300 Mbit/s maximum pour LTE) mais avec une consommation électrique plus réduire, et donc compatible à d’avantage d’objets connectés que les smartphones et tablettes. Verizon LTE Cat-1Verizon a officiellement ouvert son réseau et propose aux concepteur d’objet connecté des API sur sa plateforme Cloud ThingSpace afin de développer les logiciels qui vont pouvoir exploiter ce réseau, tandis que les puces LTE Cat 1 de Sequans et Altair ont été certifiées pour ce nouveau réseau Verizon. Pour sa part Encore networks a d’ores et déjà obtenu la certification d’un routeur LTE Cat 1.

Beaucoup d’opérateurs cellulaires vont certainement suivre Verizon dans cette voie, à commencé par Orange qui, le jour de l’annonce du déploiement de son réseau LoRa a aussi travailler avec Ericsson pour expérimenter Iot sur le GSM avec la norme EC-GSM ainsi que LTE-MTC, version optimisée de la 4G développée par Qualcomm.

Si Orange prévoit d’être présent tout autant sur LoRa que sur EC-GSM et LTE, c’est que les caractéristiques en termes de débit, portée et consommation des réseaux très bas débit et réseaux cellulaires sont bien différentes. Si l’UNB permet de créer des objets connectés capable de fonctionner sans alimentation extérieure et sans couverture cellulaire pendant des années, les volumes de données qu’il est possible d’envoyer sont très faibles. EC-GSM et LTE viendra compléter par le haut ce réseau ultra bas-débit avec des solutions qui vous nécessiter une alimentation électrique mais qui permettra l’envoi de plus gros volumes de données, notamment le streaming vidéo. Ce sont les concepteurs d’objets connectés qui, en fonction des contraintes d’autonomie et du volume de données qu’ils vont devoir transmettre vont choisir lequel répond au mieux à leurs attentes.

Sources :

« Verizon announces availability of world’s first Cat1 LTE network features for IoT, expands its ThingSpace Platform », Communiqué de presse Verizon, 1 décembre 2015

« Ericsson and Orange trial Internet of Things (IoT) over GSM and LTE », Communiqué de presse Ericsson, 25 novembre 2015

« As LTE defends itself against LPWA, convergence is on the cards », Wireless Watch, 7 mai 2015

« Making LTE lighter, cheaper (and slower) for the Internet of Things », FierceWireless, 2 mars 2015

« New GSMA study highlights makor M2M market opportunity », Communiqué de presse GMSA, 22 septembre 2014

 

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Non classé, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.