2015, the year of the smart clothes, finally?

Ralph-Lauren---US-OpenIt’s been years that we talk about. Intelligent garment whose tissue is able to listen to the beating of your heart, detect your stress level or analyze your movements always faced with the costs of returns, to the complexity of implementation, but also the limits of the technique. On Wikipedia, there is even a nice term for this, the fibretronique. Not yet mature technology, lack of market, the nice idea has never really had success until today. With the rise of smartphones, the success of the ‘Quantified Self’ movement and technology which finally seems to go, things could change quickly. Ralph Lauren has market swimsuits connected by 2015 and the American could be followed by many other brands.

Wearable Computing in the strictest sense

Ralph-Lauren-app-2

The essential iOS application that will be delivered with the Tech’s Ralph Lauren Polo.

The famous clothing brand with a polo player as logo wanted a shot at the US Open. Ralph Lauren presented his Tech Polo, a connected T-Shirt. In fact, no tennis star will wear the T-Shirt connected during the competition but only a few collectors ball set a certain Marcos Giron, who must train with on a school… Not very glorious for the prestigious brand. However the announcement was made and the Tech Polo unveiled. These T-Shirt connected are in the final stage of development and will be commercialized in 2015.
Ralph Laurent has partnered with OMsignal a startup that is developing the biometric T-Shirt technology. Wiring and sensors are integrated into the fabric. They feed a small removable casing, the ‘module data’ that transmits data to your smartphone via Bluetooth the.
Technology is at the venue and on the side of smartphone, the arrival of the Apple Healthkit on iOS 8 will probably generate strong media coverage and bringing a large number of applications. Ralph Lauren will be by the only brand to offer a T-Shirt connected by 2015.

Multiple providers of technology in the competition

Cityzen-Science

LThe connected Jersey D-Shirt of the french Cityzen science.

A french is in this race, Cityzen Sciences. It is a consortium formed by an industrial electronics Eolane, group Payen, a manufacturer of wire, Telecom Bretagne and CycleLab, a network of distributor of cycles. The french chose to position itself on the market of professional sports and amateur with a nice skewer of partners, such as the Asvel, Saint-Etienne football team, Stade Toulousain and team basketball of the pays d’Aix.
Last pretender dated, the Israeli Drug Mart has also developed a rival textile technology of OMsignal. The Israeli that is positioned both on the market of sport, wellness but also the medical sector, book a little more details on its technology. 3-15 sensors can be incorporated into a garment data can be stored up to 72 hours.
Finally, last May the Intel research teams unveiled a draft T-Shirt connected when the Conference Ranco Code Palos Verdes in may 2014. Called Smart shirt, Jersey requires, just like the T-Shirt of OMSignal, a small box that stores and relays the data to the smartphone by Bluetooth or WiFi.
Rendez-vous in 2015 to try the first connected jerseys sold on a large scale.

Sources :

“Wearable Tech: This T-Shirt Will Monitor Your Heart And Read Your Vital Signs”, NoCamels, September 1st, 2014

“Is the Player Nervous? Just Ask His Shirt”, The New York Times, August 22, 2014

“Wearable ‘Smart’ Shirt Maker OMSignal Raises $10 Million”, Wall Street Journal, June 24, 2014

“iOS8 : Apple lance sa grande offensive dans la santé connectée”, JDN, June 3, 2014

“Making a Smart Shirt That’s More Than Dapper”, Intel IQ, May 31, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Objets connectés and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2015, enfin l’année du vêtement connecté ?

Ralph-Lauren---US-OpenCela fait des années qu’on en parle. Le vêtement intelligent dont le tissu est capable d’écouter les battements de votre cœur, détecter votre niveau de stress ou analyser vos mouvements s’est toujours heurté aux coûts de revient, à la complexité de mise en œuvre, mais aussi aux limites de la technique. Sur Wikipedia, on trouve même un joli terme pour cela, la fibretronique. Technologie pas encore mature, absence de marché, la belle idée n’a jamais véritablement connu le succès jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Avec l’essor des smartphones, le succès du mouvement ‘Quantified Self’ et la technologie qui semble enfin au rendez-vous, les choses pourraient changer rapidement. Ralph Lauren compte commercialiser des maillots connectés en 2015 et l’américain pourrait être suivi par de nombreuses autres marques.

Le Wearable Computing au sens le plus strict

Ralph-Lauren-app-2

L’indispensable application iOS qui sera livrée avec le Polo Tech de Ralph Lauren.

La célèbre marque de vêtements avec un joueur de polo comme logo a voulu faire un coup lors de l’US Open. Ralph Lauren y a présenté son Polo Tech, un T-Shirt connecté. En fait, aucune star du tennis ne va porter le T-Shirt connecté lors de la compétition mais seulement quelques ramasseurs de balle set un certain Marcos Giron qui doit s’entraîner avec sur un cours secondaire… Pas très glorieux pour la prestigieuse marque. Néanmoins l’annonce a été faite et le Polo Tech dévoilé. Ces T-Shirt connectés sont en phase finale de mise au point et seront commercialisés en 2015.

Ralph Laurent s’est allié à OMsignal une startup qui met au point la technologie du T-Shirt biométrique. Les capteurs et câblages sont intégrés au tissu. Ceux-ci alimentent un petit boitier amovible, le ‘data module’ ,qui transmet les données au smartphone via Bluetooth LE.
La technologie est au rendez-vous et côté smartphone, l’arrivée du Healthkit d’Apple sur iOS 8 va très probablement susciter une forte couverture médiatique et faire émerger un grand nombre d’applications. Ralph Lauren se sera donc par la seule marque à proposer un T-Shirt connecté en 2015.

De multiples fournisseurs de technologie en lice

Cityzen-Science

Le maillot connecté D-Shirt de Cityzen Sciences.

Un français est dans cette course, c’est Cityzen Sciences. Il s’agit d’un consortium formé par un industriel de l’électronique Eolane, groupe Payen, un fabricant de fil, Telecom Bretagne et CycleLab, un réseau de distributeur de cycles. Le français a choisi de se positionner sur le marché du sport professionnel et amateur avec une belle brochette de partenaires, comme l’Asvel, l’équipe de foot de Saint-Etienne, le Stade Toulousain et l’équipe de basket du pays d’Aix.
Dernier prétendant en date, l’israélien HealthWatch a lui aussi mis au point une technologie de textile rivale à celle d’OMsignal. L’israélien qui se positionne tant sur le marché du sport, bien-être mais aussi le secteur médical, livre un peu plus de détails sur sa technologie. De 3 à 15 capteurs peuvent être intégré à un vêtement Les données peuvent être conservées jusqu’à 72 heures.
Enfin, en mai dernier les équipes de recherche d’Intel ont dévoilé un projet de T-Shirt connecté lors de la Code Conférence de Ranco Palos Verdes en mai 2014. Baptisé Smart shirt, le maillot nécessite, tout comme le T-Shirt d’OMSignal, un petit boitier qui stocke et relaie les données vers le smartphone en Bluetooth ou WiFi.

Rendez-vous en 2015 pour essayer les premiers maillots connecté commercialisés à grande échelle.

Sources :

« Wearable Tech: This T-Shirt Will Monitor Your Heart And Read Your Vital Signs », NoCamels, 1er septembre 2014

« Is the Player Nervous? Just Ask His Shirt », The New York Times, 22 août 2014

« Wearable ‘Smart’ Shirt Maker OMSignal Raises $10 Million », Wall Street Journal, 24 juin 2014

« iOS8 : Apple lance sa grande offensive dans la santé connectée », JDN, 3 juin 2014

« Making a Smart Shirt That’s More Than Dapper », Intel IQ, 31 mai 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.