Video of the week: The Next Rembrandt

Will artificial intelligence be the ultimate forger? A new array of the Dutch master appeared on the Net, it was created by algorithms and a 3D printer.
346 artworks were scanned, 50 GB of data analysed by Machine Learning algorithms to create “The Next Rembrandt”, a chart that the painter has never painted but which incorporates the style in a purely scientific manner. This is as much the art?
Unlike the psychedelic rantings of the algorithms of machine learning of Google, the portrait generated by algorithms of Dutch researchers is rather convincing. The generated table “weighs” 148 million pixels and took more than 500 hours of calculation. Researchers have implemented Microsoft Azure computing power to perform these calculations.

The Next Rembrandt

“The Next Rembrandt”, a paint generated by the algorithms from “data” by Rembrandt.

In the preamble to this project, researchers conducted a detailed statistical study of the works of the artist over a period of 10 years, from 1632 to 1642. This study showed a predominance of portraits of men Caucasian, bearded, aged 30 to 40 years, dressed in dark color and coated a flange and a hat. On average, the majority of the characters painted by Rembrandt are face and look on their right. The study went further still by measuring the size of the eyes, nose, ears, medium on portraits positions but also the thickness of the strokes of the master of the dark light. 2 algorithms have allowed researchers to generate the textures 3D painting, texture that was produced in 3D printing and go up to 30 print layer to find the brush stroke.
The result is rather convincing. Found well du clair obscur characteristic of the Dutch painter and the composition, a simple portrait, is plausible, even though the character seems devoid of any sense.

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Impression 3D, Intelligence artificiellle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Vidéo de la semaine : The Next Rembrandt

L’intelligence artificielle sera-t-elle le faussaire ultime ? Un nouveau tableau du maître hollandais est apparu sur le Net, il a été créé par des algorithmes et une imprimante 3D. 346 tableaux ont été scannés, 50 Go de données analysés par des algorithmes de Machine Learning pour créer « The Next Rembrandt », un tableau que le peintre n’a jamais peint mais qui en reprend le style de manière purement scientifique. Est-ce pour autant de l’art ?

Contrairement aux élucubrations psychédéliques des algorithmes de machine learning de Google, le portrait généré par les algorithmes des chercheurs hollandais est plutôt convaincant. Le tableau généré « pèse » 148 millions de pixels et a nécessité plus de 500 heures de calcul. Les chercheurs ont mis en oeuvre la puissance de calcul de Microsoft Azure pour réaliser ces calculs.

The Next Rembrandt

« The Next Rembrandt », le tableau généré par les algorithmes à partir des « data » de Rembrandt.

En préambule à ce projet, les chercheurs ont réalisé une étude statistique détaillée des œuvres du peintre sur une période de 10 ans, de 1632 à 1642. Cette étude a montré une prédominance de portraits d’hommes caucasiens, barbus, âgés de 30 à 40 ans, habillé de couleur sombre et revêtus d’une collerette et d’un chapeau. En moyenne, la majorité des personnages peints par Rembrandt sont de face et regardent sur leur droite. L’étude est allé plus loin encore en mesurant la taille des yeux, nez, oreilles, les positions moyennes sur les portraits mais aussi l’épaisseur des coups de pinceau du maître du clair obscur. 2 algorithmes ont permis aux chercheurs de générer la textures 3D du tableau, texture qui a été produite en impression 3D et aller jusqu’à 30 couche d’impression pour retrouver les coup de pinceau.
Le résultat est plutôt convaincant. On retrouve bien le clair obscur caractéristique du peintre hollandais et la composition, un simple portrait, est plausible, même si le personnage semble dénué du moindre sentiment.

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Impression 3D, Intelligence artificielle, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.