Autonomous car: General Motors took control of Cruise Automation

Audi-Cruise Dramatic turn in the race towards the autonomous car. General Motors has just announced the acquisition of Cruise Automation, US startup that conceived an autonomous driving system. According to the website re / code, the US auto giant reportedly paid more than $ 1 billion to get their hands on this nugget … and get back into the race to commercialization of the first autonomous cars.

Cruise Automation had pre-sold 250 copies of its autonomous control system

General Motors President Dan Ammann (right) with Cruise Automation co-founders Kyle Vogt (center) and Daniel Kan (left).

Dan Ammann (right), president of General Motors with the two co-founders of Cruise Automation Kyle Vogt (center) and Daniel Kan (left).

Paradoxically, Cruise Automation became known in January 2016 when a Nissan Leaf equipped with autonomous driving system automation Cruise went hit a Toyota Prius on a street in San Francisco. The honor of the engineers was safe because the control system was disabled. Established in 2013, Cruise Automation has a unique positioning in the “marketplace of autonomous cars. Its designers have designed a system independent of the vehicle itself, means that it is theoretically possible to install on any vehicle modern.

If the amount of the transaction has not been officially unveiled by General Motors, several sources told Re / code evoke an amount exceeding the billion. The algorithms developed by Cruise Automation seem worth more than gold. The company should continue to operate in startup mode within the GM group.

Target set to the founders of Cruise Automation: integrate their devices to GM vehicles

The device 1 PR Cruise Automation has already sold 250 copies.

The RP-1 Cruise Automation device has already sold 250 copies.

The official press release does not mention, however, what happens to the RP-1, the device developed by the Cruise Automation team. Priced at $ 10 000 it has already been pre-sold 250 copies. The target set in the founder is no longer marketing this aftermarket equipment but to integrate this technology more quickly to the different models sold by the group. Dan Ammann probably not accept that Tesla Motors trumps its engineers and launched a fashion autonomous driving in the US before one of the many brands of the group. With Cruise Automation, GM wants to catch up as quickly as possible and rival Dan Ammann will set the price.

Translation : Google Traduction

Sources:

“GM Spent Over $ 1 Billion on Self-Driving Startup to Keep Up With Google, Apple “, recode, March 11, 2016

“GM to Acquire Cruise Automation to Accelerate Autonomous Vehicle Development” Press Release General Motors, March 11, 2016

“Startup’s test self-driving car crashes after-driver takes control “ TheVerge, January 21, 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Voiture autonome : General Motors prend le contrôle de Cruise Automation

Audi-CruiseCoup de théâtre dans la course vers la voiture autonome. General Motors vient d’annoncer l’acquisition de Cruise Automation, startup américaine qui concevait un système de conduite autonome. Selon le site re/code, le géant automobile américain aurait déboursé plus de 1 milliard de dollars pour mettre la main sur cette pépite… et se replacer dans la course vers la commercialisation des premières voitures autonomes.

Cruise Automation avait pré-vendu 250 exemplaires de son système de conduite autonome

General Motors President Dan Ammann (right) with Cruise Automation co-founders Kyle Vogt (center) and Daniel Kan (left).

Dan Ammann (à droite), le président de General Motors avec les deux co-fondateurs de Cruise Automation Kyle Vogt (au centre) et Daniel Kan (à gauche).

Paradoxalement, Cruise Automation s’est fait connaître en janvier 2016 lors qu’une Nissan Leaf équipée du  système de conduite autonome de Cruise automation est allé percuter une Toyota Prius dans une rue de San Francisco. L’honneur des ingénieurs était sauf car le système de conduite était désactivé. Créé en 2013, Cruise Automation avait un positionnement original sur le « marché des voitures autonomes. Ses concepteurs ont en effet conçu un système indépendant du véhicule lui-même, un dispositif qu’il est théoriquement possible d’installer sur n’importe quel véhicule moderne.

Si le montant de la transaction n’a pas été officiellement dévoilé par General Motors, plusieurs sources interrogées par re/code évoquent un montant supérieur au milliard de dollars. Les algorithmes développés par Cruise Automation semblent valoir plus que de l’or. L’entreprise devrait continuer à fonctionner en mode startup au sein du groupe GM.

Objectif fixé aux fondateurs de Cruise Automation : intégrer leur dispositifs aux véhicules GM

Le dispositif PR 1 de Cruise Automation aurait déjà été vendu à 250 exemplaires.

Le dispositif RP-1 de Cruise Automation aurait déjà été vendu à 250 exemplaires.

Le communiqué officiel ne mentionne toutefois pas ce qu’il adviendra du RP-1, le dispositif mis au point par l’équipe de Cruise Automation. Commercialisé au prix de 10 000 dollars celui-ci aurait déjà été pré-vendu à 250 exemplaires. L’objectif fixé au fondateur n’est plus la commercialisation de cette équipement de deuxième monte mais bien intégrer au plus vite cette technologie aux différents modèles commercialisés par le groupe. Dan Ammann a sans doute pas accepté que Tesla Motors dame le pion à ses ingénieurs et lance un mode de conduite autonome sur le marché américain avant l’une des nombreuses marques de son groupe. Avec Cruise Automation, GM veut rattraper son rival le plus vite possible et Dan Ammann y aura mis le prix.

Sources :

« GM Spent Over $1 Billion on Self-Driving Startup to Keep Up With Google, Apple », recode, 11 mars 2016

« GM to Acquire Cruise Automation to Accelerate Autonomous Vehicle Development », Communiqué de presse General Motors, 11 mars 2016

« Startup’s self-driving test car crashes after driver takes control », TheVerge, 21 janvier 2016

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.