Autonomous car: Google in negotiations with automakers

Prototype-Google-Self-Driving-CarChris Urmson, the Google car Funktion autonomous car project leader was interviewed by the Wall Street Journal that he did a few confidences on the future of the Google Car autonomous.
This expert in robotics and artificial intelligence has confirmed to the journalist that the U.S. has no ambition to build himself a car. Google is currently looking for partners who could add some autonomous “powered by Google” car to their lines.

Google wants to go fast. The goal of Google is to roll the first test as early as 2015 cars! For Chris Urmson, the hardware is no longer a problem. He estimated that the price of laser technology, the LIDAR, is now affordable. He said that the autonomous mode will be initially limited to 40 km/h (25 mph). If the automotive industry is marketing of fully autonomous vehicles by 2025, Chris Urmson maintains are objective of 2017-2020 without wanting to make a deadline. It will address manufacturers in January at the Automotive News World Congress in Detroit.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Google Seeks Partners for Self-Driving Car”, The Wall Street Journal, December 19, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Voiture autonome : Google en négociation avec les constructeurs automobiles

Prototype-Google-Self-Driving-CarChris Urmson, chef du projet de voiture autonome Google a été interviewé par le Wall Street Journal à qui il a fait quelques confidences sur le futur des Google Car autonomes.

Cet expert en robotique et en intelligence artificielle a confirmé au journaliste que l’américain n’a pas pour ambition de construire lui-même de voitures. Google cherche actuellement des partenaires qui pourraient ajouter des voiture autonomes « powered by Google » à leurs gammes.

Google veut aller vite. L’objectif de Google est de faire rouler les premières voitures test dès 2015 ! Pour Chris Urmson, le hardware n’est plus un problème. Il estime que le prix de la technologie laser, les LIDAR, est désormais abordable. Il a précisé que le mode autonome sera dans un premier temps limité à 40 km/h (25 miles/h). Si l’industrie automobile vise une commercialisation de véhicules totalement autonomes à l’horizon 2025, Chris Urmson maintient sont objectif de 2017-2020 sans vouloir en faire une deadline. Il s’adressera aux constructeurs en janvier prochain lors de l’Automotive News World Congress de Detroit.

Source : « Google Seeks Partners for Self-Driving Car », The Wall Street Journal, 19 décembre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.