The connected car sign the end of the traffic lights?

Connected-vehiclesImagine two avenues that intersect at right angles, an endless stream of vehicles on each of them. Two streams which cross without that no car stops and especially without any suspension. Cars intersect without suddenly, as if by miracle. A miracle, not quite. The speed of each vehicle is governed by an algorithm on which work researchers at Oak Bridge, the great American Research Center. Andreas Malikopoulos, Director of the Urban Dynamics Institute considers that, via communications V2V (vehicle to vehicle) and V2I (vehicle to Infrastructure) will be able to indicate to drivers what speed RTR to pass red lights… without raising the foot.

Decentralized algorithms estimate the ideal speed of each vehicle

143 hours and 36 minutes, it is the time lost each year by a french motorist in traffic jams. A loss of time, petrol and wear for vehicles whose cost was estimated at 17 billion euros for the year 2013. In the United States, even finding. In 2011, the Americans reportedly lost 5.5 billion hours trapped in traffic, 121 billion dollars of gasoline flew.
The idea of Andreas Malikopoulos is to synchronize the traffic of the vehicles indicating to drivers what speed drive and what direction take to avoid traffic jams formed at any time. The first phase of this research project is the development of control algorithms. Indeed, the researcher considers impossible all vehicles of a city can for example be guided remotely by a central algorithm. Thus setting it on an architecture decentralized, with synchronized local algorithms. The approach will be validated by simulation, then tested on actual traffic data.

Autonomous cars could implement such an approach

ORNLThe approach is probably mathematically possible but nevertheless seems terribly theoretical. It suffices to note the insubordination of french motorists to measures of traffic on motorways to doubt the effectiveness of such tools. There is no doubt that if a significant proportion of motorists does not bend to the guidelines of the “great software”, the systems will quickly turn to disaster. As do turn such an algorithm in Cairo, in Shanghai or… Paris is for the less optimistic. May need to wait the generalization dess autonomous cars in traffic to expect ‘drivers’ sufficiently docile to obey blindly the instructions. Maybe then the traffic jams will decrease.

Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Computational framework for optimizing traffic flow could be the beginning of a road revolution”, Communiqué de les Oak Ridge Nationa Laboratories, April 2, 2015

“17 milliards d’euros perdus dans les embouteillages en France en 2013”, Science&Vie, October 15, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Automobile, Développement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

La voiture connectée signe-t-elle la fin des feux de signalisation ?

Connected-vehiclesImaginez deux avenues qui se croisent à angle droit, un flot ininterrompu de véhicules sur chacune d’elles. Deux flots qui se croisent sans qu’aucune voiture ne s’arrête et surtout sans aucun accrochage. Les voitures se croisent sans à coup, comme par miracle. Un miracle,pas tout à fait. La vitesse de chaque véhicule est régie par un algorithme sur lequel travailles les chercheurs d’Oak Bridge, le grand centre de recherche américain. Andreas Malikopoulos, directeur de l’Urban Dynamics Institute estime que, via les communications V2V (Véhicule à véhicule) et V2I (Véhicule à Infrastructure) on va pouvoir indiquer aux conducteurs a quelle vitesse rouler afin de passer les feux rouges… sans lever le pied.

Des algorithmes décentralisés pour estimer la vitesse idéale de chaque véhicule

143 heures et 36 minutes, c’est le temps perdu chaque année par un automobiliste français dans les embouteillages. Une perte de temps, d’essence et une usure pour les véhicules dont le coût a été estimé à 17 milliards d’euros pour l’année 2013. Aux Etats-Unis, même constat. En 2011, les Américains auraient perdu 5,5 milliards d’heures englués dans le trafic, 121 milliards dollars d’essence envolés.

L’idée de Andreas Malikopoulos est donc de synchroniser le trafic des véhicules en indiquant à tout moment aux conducteurs à quelle vitesse rouler et quelle voie prendre pour éviter que les embouteillages ne se forment. La première phase de ce projet de recherche vise la mise au point des algorithmes de contrôle. En effet, le chercheur estime impossible que l’ensemble des véhicule d’une ville par exemple puisse être guidé à distance par un algorithme central. Il mise donc sur une architecture décentralisé, avec des algorithmes locaux synchronisés. L’approche sera validée par simulation, puis testé sur des données de circulation réelles.

Les voitures autonomes pourraient mettre en application une telle approche

ORNLL’approche est sans doute mathématiquement possible mais semble néanmoins terriblement théorique. Il suffit de constater l’insoumission des automobilistes français aux mesures de régulation du trafic sur les autoroutes pour douter de l’efficacité de tels outils. Nul doute que si une part significative des automobilistes ne se plie pas aux directives du « grand logiciel », le systèmes va rapidement tourner à la catastrophe. Quant à faire tourner un tel algorithme au Caire, à Shanghai ou… Paris, c’est pour le moins optimiste. Peut-être faudra-il attendre la généralisation dess voitures autonomes dans le trafic pour espérer trouver des « conducteurs » suffisamment dociles pour obéir aveuglement aux consignes. Peut-être alors les embouteillages diminueront.

Sources :

« Computational framework for optimizing traffic flow could be the beginning of a road revolution », Communiqué de les Oak Ridge Nationa Laboratories, 2 avril 2015

« 17 milliards d’euros perdus dans les embouteillages en France en 2013 », Science&Vie, 15 octobre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Automobile, Développement, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.