Wearables: The global market has not taken off in 2014

Moto-360Strong good year-end sales, the firm Canalys analysts published a year ago a study announcing the take-off of the market of the ‘ wearables ‘ for 2014. The American analysts felt while connected bracelets would become major products and leave the niche of geeks.
They then projected 8 million connected bracelets sold in 2014, then 23 million in 2015 and the final $ 45 million in 2017. 12 months later, it is far from the account. Apple has not marketed its Apple Watch and the first Android Wear watches did not take off the market alone.

Android Wear did not persuaded customers in 2014

According to the figures put forward by Canalys, 720,000 devices under Android Wear were sold in 2014. A figure that is not impressive since a year earlier, Samsung flowed to him only 800,000 Galaxy Gear. It is Motorola with its 360 motorcycle which is placed Chief leader of this market, before LG with its new G Watch R. Even though Apple has still not launched commercially his Watch Apple, Android Wear does not really emerged on the market.

With more than a million copies sold, of which 103,000 agenda for commercialization, the Mi Band of Xiaomi is one of the successes of 2014.

With more than a million copies sold, of which 103,000 agenda for commercialization, the Mi Band of Xiaomi is one of the successes of 2014.

Pebble is still there and there, with 1 million watches sold since its launch in 2013. This connected watches market is still largely immature and, says Chris Jones, Vice President and senior analyst of Canalys: ” Samsung has launched 6 devices in just 14 months on different platforms, but continues to dominate the market of intelligent bracelets. He however struggles to maintain the commitment of its clients and to much to do to attract developers while they put the emphasis on Tizen across its wearables. »
In total, it sold 4.6 million connected bracelets in 2014 (a category in which Canalys integrates Smart Watches). A rather distant figure of the expected 8 million.

Translation : Bing Translator

Source : “Over 720,000 Android Wear devices shipped in 2014”, Canalys, February 11, 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Objets connectés and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Wearables : Le marché mondial n’a pas décollé en 2014

Moto-360Forts des bonnes ventes de fin d’année, les analystes du cabinet Canalys publiaient il y a un an une étude annonçant le décollage du marché des « wearables » pour 2014. Les analystes américains estimaient alors que les bracelets connectés allaient devenir des produits grands public et quitter la niche des geeks.

Ils tablaient alors sur 8 millions de bracelets connectés vendus en 2014, puis 23 millions en 2015 et au final 45 millions en 2017. 12 mois plus tard, on est loin du compte. Apple n’a toujours pas commercialisé son Apple Watch et les premières montres Android Wear n’ont pas fait décoller le marché à elles-seules.

Les montres sous Android Wear n’ont pas convaincu

Selon les chiffres avancés par Canalys, 720.000 devices sous Android Wear ont été vendus en 2014. Un chiffre qui n’a rien d’impressionnant puisqu’un an auparavant, Samsung écoulait à lui seul 800.000 Galaxy Gear. C’est Motorola avec sa Moto 360 qui s’est placé en chef de file de ce marché, devant LG avec sa nouvelle G Watch R. Même si Apple n’a toujours pas lancé commercialement son Apple Watch, Android Wear ne s’est pas véritablement imposé sur le marché.

Avec plus d'un million d'exemplaires vendus, la Mi Band de Xiaomi est l'un des succès de 2014.

Avec plus d’un million d’exemplaires vendus, dont 103.000 le jour de sa commercialisation, la Mi Band de Xiaomi est l’un des succès de 2014.

Pebble est toujours là et bien là, avec 1 million de montres vendues depuis son lancement en 2013. Ce marché des montres connectées est encore très largement immature et, comme le souligne Chris Jones, vice-président et analyste principal de Canalys : « Samsung a lancé 6 devices en seulement 14 mois sur différentes plateformes, mais continue à dominer le marché des bracelets intelligents. Il lutte toutefois pour conserver l’engagement de ses clients et à beaucoup à faire pour attirer les développeurs alors qu’ils mettent la priorité sur Tizen pour l’ensemble de ses wearables. »

Au total, il s’est vendu 4,6 millions de bracelets connectés en 2014 (une catégorie dans laquelle Canalys intègre les montres intelligentes). Un chiffre plutôt éloigné des 8 millions espérés.

Source : « Over 720,000 Android Wear devices shipped in 2014 », Canalys, 11 février 2015

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.