Microsoft Windows 10 in the conquest of connected objects

Windows-10-menuIt is now official. Windows 10 will be officially launched this summer. An unprecedented for Microsoft marketing event that will launch its new OS in 190 countries, with a portage of latest Windows in 111 languages.
The initial target this this new Microsoft OS, these are the 1.5 billion users of previous versions of Windows, but most only. At a time where the decline of the PC is still not stemmed, Microsoft must find other outlets for its OS. The Internet of things and his billions of devices is a target of importance to Microsoft.

A Windows 10 variable geometry to meet the requirements of each

Windows 10 stop the decline of the PC? Not sure as the return of the ‘Start’ menu or even biometric authentication provided by Windows Hello grow the fansboys to make the tail before it stores the day of the release of the new Windows. The fact remains that this Windows 10 will mark the comeback of Microsoft in the area of the embedded.

Versions of Windows 10 for IoT presented by Microsoft at TechEd Europe 2014

Versions of Windows 10 for IoT presented by Microsoft at TechEd Europe 2014

Microsoft had already announced Windows 10 free for objects connected, a point important for many industrialists, but not enough to dislodge Linux or specialized OS in the embedded. We know now more about what will be what Windows 10 for connected objects, or rather these Windows 10. Microsoft will indeed offer a range Windows 10 fingerprint submissions and more or less extended features. There will be some mini-Windows 10 for objects the light, the more powerful Windows 10 for medical equipment, vending machines. When the last TechEd Europe, Microsoft has delivered a few details of this Windows 10 portfolio. The standard version is addressed to more powerful devices, including requiring an advanced user interface. It should replace Windows xp in vending machines, ATMs, terminals in restaurants. Version Windows 10 “Industry” will be equivalent to the 10 Windows in the PC, the Windows 10 ‘Mobile’ will, meanwhile, very close to Windows Phone.
 

Develop on Microsoft .NET from PC to the connected object

The Raspberry 2 card, but also Intel Galileo and Dragonboard Qualcomm 410c cards allow the makers to develop for Windows 10.

The Raspberry 2 card, but also Intel Galileo and Dragonboard Qualcomm 410c cards allow the makers to develop for Windows 10.

It is probably towards the lighter Windows 10 “Athens” version that industrialists will probably go more frequently. Via partnership with Raspberry Pi, Intel and Qualcomm, Microsoft Foundation is trying to bring its new OS on the Raspberry, Galileo, and last announced, maps map DragonBoard 410C. Announced at the same time as the launch date of Windows 10, it was designed by Qualcomm on the basis of its very powerful SoC 64-bit Snapdragon 410. Developing with Visual Studio 2013 for .NET Micro Framework present advantages for companies who already have vur the Microsoft platform developers. Editor promises including support for Universal Apps on its Windows 10 “Athens”. A technological challenge, but does it be enough to convince manufacturers to adopt Windows 10 in their products?

 
Translation : Bing Translator

Sources :

“Qualcomm Announces Support of Windows 10 for the DragonBoard 410c Development Platform and Mobile Device Reference Designs”, Qualcomm press release, March 18, 2015

“Windows 10 Launching This Summer in 190 Countries and 111 Languages”, Microsoft press release, March 17, 2015

“Day 2 at TechEd: Windows for IoT, Azure Stream Analytics and the Future of .NET”, Microsoft Developer Network (MSDN) Belux Team Blog, October 29, 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
This entry was posted in Développement, Logiciel embarqué, Objets connectés and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Microsoft Windows 10 à la conquête des objets connectés

Windows-10-menuC’est désormais officiel. Windows 10 sera officiellement lancé cet été. Un événement marketing sans précédent pour Microsoft qui va lancer son nouvel OS dans 190 pays, avec un portage du dernier Windows en 111 langues.

La cible initiale ce ce nouvel OS Microsoft, ce sont les 1,5 milliard d’utilisateurs des versions précédentes de Windows, mais plus seulement. A l’heure où le déclin du PC n’est toujours pas enrayé, Microsoft doit trouver d’autres débouchés pour son OS. L’Internet des objets et ses milliards de devices est une cible d’importance pour Microsoft.

Un Windows 10 à géométrie variable pour répondre aux exigences de chacun

Windows 10 enrayera-t-il le déclin du PC ? Pas sûr que le retour du menu ‘Démarrer’ ou encore l’authentification biométrique apportée par  Windows Hello poussent les fansboys à faire la queue devant les magasins informatiques le jour de la sortie du nouveau Windows. Toujours est-il que ce Windows 10 va marquer le grand retour de Microsoft dans le domaine de l’embarqué.

Les versions de Windows 10 for IoT présentées par Microsoft lors du TechEd Europe 2014.

Les versions de Windows 10 for IoT présentées par Microsoft lors du TechEd Europe 2014.

Microsoft avait déjà annoncé la gratuité de Windows 10 pour les objets connecté, un point important pour de nombreux industriels, mais pas suffisant pour déloger Linux ou les OS spécialisés dans l’embarqué. On en sait maintenant plus sur ce que sera ce Windows 10 pour les objets connectés, ou plutôt ces Windows 10. Microsoft va en effet proposer toute une gamme Windows 10 avec des empreintes mémoires et des fonctionnalités plus ou moins étendues. Il y aura des mini-Windows 10 pour les objets les léger, des Windows 10 plus puissants pour les équipements médicaux, les distributeurs automatiques. Lors du dernier TechEd Europe, Microsoft a livré quelques détails de ce portefeuille Windows 10. La version standard se destinera aux devices les plus puissants, nécessitant notamment une interface utilisateur évoluée. Il devrait remplacer Windows xp dans les distributeurs automatiques, les distributeurs de billets, les terminaux dans les restaurants. La version Windows 10 “Industry” sera équivalente au Windows 10 des PC, la Windows 10 “Mobile” sera, quant à elle, très proche de Windows Phone.

 

Développer sur Microsoft .NET du PC à l’objet connecté

La carte Raspberry 2, mais aussi les cartes Galileo d'Intel et Snapboard 410c de Qualcomm permettront aux makers de développer pour Windows 10.

La carte Raspberry 2, mais aussi les cartes Galileo d’Intel et Dragonboard 410c de Qualcomm permettront aux makers de développer pour Windows 10.

C’est sans doute vers la version Windows 10 “Athens”, la plus légère, que les industriels vont probablement aller le plus fréquemment. Via des partenariat avec la fondation Raspberry Pi, Intel et Qualcomm, Microsoft est en train de porter son nouvel OS sur les cartes Raspberry, Galileo et, dernière annoncée, la carte DragonBoard 410C. Annoncée en même temps que la date de lancement de Windows 10, celle-ci a été  conçue par Qualcomm sur la base de son très puissant SoC 64 bits Snapdragon 410. Développer avec Visual Studio 2013 pour le .NET Micro Framework présente des avantages pour les entreprises qui ont déjà des développeurs vur la plateforme Microsoft. L’éditeur promet notamment le support des Universal Apps sur son Windows 10 « Athens ». Un défi technologique, mais est-ce que ce sera suffisant pour convaincre les industriels à adopter Windows 10 dans leurs produits ?

 

Sources :

« Qualcomm Announces Support of Windows 10 for the DragonBoard 410c Development Platform and Mobile Device Reference Designs », Communiqué de presse Qualcomm, 18 mars 2015

« Windows 10 Launching This Summer in 190 Countries and 111 Languages », Communiqué de presse Microsoft, 17 mars 2015

« Day 2 at TechEd: Windows for IoT, Azure Stream Analytics and the Future of .NET », Microsoft Developer Network (MSDN) Belux Team Blog, 29 octobre 2014

Commentaires Facebook
Twitter Facebook Plusone Pinterest Linkedin
Ce contenu a été publié dans Développement, Logiciel embarqué, Objets connectés, avec comme mot(s)-clé(s) , , , . Vous pouvez le mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.